×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Forbidden (World of Nightwalkers Series #1)
     

Forbidden (World of Nightwalkers Series #1)

3.8 60
by Jacquelyn Frank
 

See All Formats & Editions

From New York Times bestselling author Jacquelyn Frank comes this first book in The World of the Nightwalkers—an exciting and sensual new spin-off series in which the Bodywalkers, an ancient race of the night, battles the evil forces who prey on them.
 
The unexpected happens in an instant. On her way to work, secretary Docia

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Forbidden: The World of Nightwalkers 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 60 reviews.
DComfort More than 1 year ago
ABOUT THE BOOK: From New York Times bestselling author Jacquelyn Frank comes this first book in The World of the Nightwalkers—an exciting and sensual new spin-off series in which the Bodywalkers, an ancient race of the night, battles the evil forces who prey on them. The unexpected happens in an instant. On her way to work, secretary Docia Waverley hurtles into a crashing crossroads, and she quickly begins to suspect that things will never be the same. Then, when a tall, blond, muscular stranger intervenes on her behalf, telling her it is his duty to protect her at all cost, what is just a feeling turns to proof positive. That is, as long as Docia’s savior doesn’t turn out to be a crazed kidnapper. When Ram finds Docia, he has no doubt that she is his queen. But as this golden warrior sweeps in to protect her, he feels something more than body heat every time they touch. He is overwhelmed by a searing connection that goes deep into the twin souls inside him. A desire rises in him that is forbidden—this woman is his queen, the mate of his king, his leader, his best friend. And yet Docia is so vulnerable and attractive that she awakens a hunger in Ram that is undeniable, a carnal craving he cannot yield to . . . not without risking the very survival of the Bodywalkers. REVIEW: This was a pretty intense piece as far as the action and sensuality of the book goes. The author’s writing is done very well, and she has a way of drawing you into her scenes like no other. I did feel a bit frustrated with this piece, though. The character development seemed to be lacking a bit and I never really felt as if I connected with them. I almost felt lost about half-way through the book, simply because the story jumped quite a bit without a lead in. Almost as if a huge chunk had been taken out. I did give it three stars, when I wanted to give it so much more, but the lack of connection really bothered me with this piece. I won’t say it bombed entirely, because it didn’t, but with me, when I read, I want that connection. The action and sensual scenes were great though and it does keep you on the edge of your seat and turning the pages as you go. For a thrilling package that boasts pieces of a completely new world, pick this one up today and dive in.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
However, she kept ending each chapter right in the middle of a good part and the start of the next chapter would involve different characters. I guess she was trying to draw out the suspense with the mini cliffhangers but the actual result was less that and more like lots of annoying interuptions. I usually love her work. This one I just liked. The series has promise. I just hope she stops the disjointed interuptions in the next books.
Mich_Mc More than 1 year ago
In Forbidden Jacquelyn has expanded the myth involved in the popular Nightwalker series by introducing the possibility of a further six nations onto the existing six, previous knowlege of the Nightwalker books is not needed to enjoy this but I highly recomend reading them. The Bodywalkers have their mythology based in ancient Egypt, when their mortal body dies their soul returns to the Ether, which is the place between life and death. Once they have recovered from their "death" they are able to hitch-hike back to Earth and into a new body by possesing a human at the moment of their death. Both parties have to be in agreement though, and over a period of time the two souls will merge allowing them to share a body. Following an attempted murder, Docia is introduced to a world she never expected existed. Raised by her brother, Jackson, and his friend Leo after the death of her parents, Docia has led a pretty uneventful life so why are people suddenly trying to kill her? The melding of Docia with a Bodywalker occurs after the first attempt to kill her, this invites even more bad guys to try and kill her, luckily for her it also introduces a protector in the form of Ram/Vincent who believes her to be hosting his Queen. Along the way we meet new foes and allies, the plot has many twists and a forbidden romance that raises the heat level. It's a promising beginning to the series, like all first in series books with such a huge mythology there is a large amount of info thrown at you in this book, it was a little hard to get my head around at times. I was greatful for the distraction that Jackson provided and I'm looking forward to getting to know him better. Jacquelyn has proved once again why she is a master (or should that be mistress?) of what I like to term "fantasy paranormal". The worlds she creates are so indepth and different that you can't help but believe they may actually exist. 4 Stars Reviewed for Literal Addiction, ARC provided by Netgalley.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was left feeling mixed abut this book. Parts of the book were slow, others interesting. The romance kind of got lost in all of the information about the Nightwalker world. The chracters are strong yet vulnerable and grow on you. Will continue with the series and see where it goes.
mammy4423 More than 1 year ago
Forbidden (The World of Nightwalkers #1) by Jacquelyn Frank My Thoughts: I for one, loved all the explanations that were throughout this book. I am a new reader of Jacquelyn Frank and soon discovered that this is a continuation of another series. Needless to say, I will be getting the Nightwalker, Shadowdwellers and the Gatherers. I am not sure if The Gatherers is of the same world but, I still want the series. I loved this first book and am looking forward to the next one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I adore the authors other books. Drink of Me is my fav and Ive read it 4 or 5 times, her other Nightwalker books Ive read at least twice. Normally I love her style, but here it didnt come across very well. An additional 100 pages would have done wonders for the story. I felt like the author was trying to give so much information in this new world within the Nightwalkers that there wasnt much room for the love story. The dual souls deal was hard to open myself up to, as Dosha says "Its a menage a everybody" While the hero/hero and heroine/heroine eventually grew on me I found I loved the side characters more. This series has great promise if the stories can be lengthed enough that the primary romance doesnt become overshadowed. I will continue with it. I want to read Jacksons story and lean about the other Nightwalker races she teased us with.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am totally hooked and cannot wait for the next book. I love how the author created a whole new world to become immersed in, but kept it connected to her earlier, much enjoyed, books. As to the many cliff hanging chapters, well that just meant that I couldn't put this book down and finished it in a day.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this new series by this author. I like her work and this series looks very promising. I can't wait to read the next.
mayrama More than 1 year ago
I have read many of her book an find her to deliver on her books. If you are looking to read something good this is the book for you.
LadyHighlander More than 1 year ago
This series reminds me of the author's first series I read "Night Walkers". I didn't care for the Shadowdwellers series,but this one I just read shows me the author's talents of thinking out of the box. I found the characters interesting & with depth. There was mystery & surprise & of course romance. Way to go Miss Frank keep it up. Also loved her book "Adam" & am looking forward to the next book "Forever"
MyUrbanFantasies More than 1 year ago
Originally published on my blog, My Urban Fantasies. (myurbanfantasies.blogspot) I was a Jacquelyn Frank virgin before this book. I've never read any of her books and barley recognized her name when I saw it on LibraryThing Early Reviewer. To be completely honest the hot piece of man candy on the cover is what grabbed my attention. Unfortunately that's all he grabbed. *sigh* Where do they find these guys? I'm thinking I need 2 or 3 of my very own. After I read this book the only thing I could think is that I've been living under a rock for 6 years. Frank is an amazing writer. I have no idea how she missed my radar, but she's definitely on it now. Forbidden is supposed to be a paranormal romance. To me, it reads more like an urban fantasy. If you're expecting a hot romance with a side story of who's trying to kill Docia, expect to be disappointed. I'm not saying there is no romance in the book, because there is, it's just not the main story. Relax about the Docia bit, that was not a spoiler. You find that out on page 9. I refuse to believe that anything before page 10 can be considered a spoiler. As I said before, I've never read The Nightwalkers. Other than having no idea who the characters were in the prologue, it did not seem to be a problem. The Bodywalkers are a new species, or according to the prologue a new nation, and with that comes a new set of characters. If you're into Egyptian history you're going to love the Bodywalkers. There few heavy hitters mentioned: Menes, Hatshepsut, Ramses II and Cleopatra. How the Bodywalkers came to be is such an original concept. I do not know how Jacquelyn Frank came up with it, but it's brilliant. The Bodywalkers are as old as Ancient Egypt. Instead of bringing the mortal world and their earthly possessions with them; the mummification process actually prevented the Ancient Egyptians from entering the afterlife. Mummification instead tethered the Ancient Egyptians to the mortal world and a between place called the Ether. The Ether is essentially where the Ancient Egyptians' souls stay until they can blend with a human, becoming Bodywalkers. When a human is on the brink of death, specifically near a Nexuses point, they are sometimes temporarily pulled into the Ether. The human is then given a chance to share their mortality with a Bodywalker. If the human says no their soul moves on to the afterlife. If they say yes it's a second chance at life for the host human, also known as the original, and the Bodywalker, also called a carbon. There are perks for accepting the Blending. The shared human body is now stronger, heals faster and their life span is significantly longer. When the human body dies the human spirit moves to the afterlife and the Bodywalker is returned to the Ether for 100 years. Docia is my favorite character. She's spunky and a little weird, but in a good way. Unfortunately as the blending process continues you get less of Docia. She's basically sharing her body with another person and that person also has to make an appearance. Asikri, Leo and Vincent deserve an honorable mention. They have this whole wise-ass bad boy thing going on, it's really hot. I would have given this book more stars but there were a few spots that were slow and the mummification history was a little repetitive. Would I read the next book in the series? Absolutely.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love how Jacquelyn Frank writes. It is a wonderful journey. I can hardly wait for the next one. And when she brings the different nightwalker worlds together in the future, I hope. I love when you have the continuation of other characters in the series its like saying hi to an old friend.
liams_mom More than 1 year ago
Been waiting on a new nightwalker novel for a while. This was a great addition to the nightwalker universe
CarolIL More than 1 year ago
Thrilling, sexy and funny! I found the Nightwalker series addictive and I am so glad Jacquelyn Frank chose to continue with the World of the Nightwalkers series. I am looking forward to reading each and every one.
LizChapman More than 1 year ago
I was very disappointed in this book. I love all of her previous book, especially the Nightwalkers. I wish the overview had mentioned it was about egyptian reincarnation. I was bored with all the information and thoughts she kept giving. I had a hard time finishing the book and skipped over pages at at time. I wish Ms. Frank would go back to her Nightwalker& Shadowdweller character writing... They were excellent and I read most of them second time.
katsindiebookblog More than 1 year ago
*** Gifted via Netgalley by the publisher in exchange for an honest review*** Well I have thoroughly enjoyed this book, and in fact I am 80% through book 2 Forever: The World of Nightwalkers after this book finished I just had to carry on reading. This is the first book in the series and we are introduced to Docia. Docia is an interesting character, and I can see that she is a bit of a timid mouse on the outside to start with but I love her attitude, fashion style - I love op shops - I think I will call them regeneration shops now too - such a cool word for them. Docia is the sister of K9 Cop Jackson, and when Docia is reported dead after a hit and run he is distraught, I think Jackson although he isn't the main character in this book, caught my interest the most. But miraculously Docia survives, but her life is far from safe, and when she is attacked again Docia ends up catching the attention of 'Ram' and the adventure kicks into high gear. I don't want to give too much away, but I love how the world is based on Egyptian Myths and Gods, I also love Jacquelyn Frank's idea of how Egyptian burial rituals come into play with the Bodywalkers creation. no spoilers though, you need to read this book to find out how they come into being. With bodywalkers, gargoyles and who knows what else could make an appearance you will be glued to this book. Right back to finishing book 2...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kind of interesting but could not hold my attention. I feel as though I'll not be able to finish this book. Really want to but just moves too slow and jumps from one characters pov to another.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
WolfFaerie17 More than 1 year ago
Docia Waverley is a secretary in a small business. She has brother named Jackson whose a K-9 Cop who recently lost his canine partner Chico. Docia and Jackson are also looked after by Leo as well. Docia is thrown from bridge and dying when she's offered a choice to take on a Bodywalker. Docia agrees and the world she knows will never be the same again. Ram aka Vincent Markaz is a Bodywalker and second in command to Menes The Politic King. Ram is searching for the queen only to find Docia's amazing recovery from death. Ram tries to slowly explain about Bodywalkers and The Blending that takes place in the originals body. Ram also has another problem Docia creates an electric sensation in him that he can't explain or his attraction either. The Templars are fanatical group that are lead by Odjit or Selena who wants to be come queen or Pharaoh of all Bodywalkers. Is Docia really the queen reborn or someone else? Will Ram let his body rule him or do his duty to Pharaoh? Can Odjit be stopped? Will Jackson accept Docia's changes? Your answers await you in Forbidden. Wow another addition into Nightwalker World. I really like the Egyptian aspect of this part of Nightwalker World. Docia very much reminds me of Isabella from Jacob. Jackson is much like Elijah in his protectiveness towards Docia. I'm looking forward to more stories added to Nightwalker World.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
RtBBlog More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by Jen Book provided by NetGalley for review Review originally posted at Romancing the Book When I heard that Jacquelyn Frank was doing a spin off of her popular Nightwalker series, I was excited. I’ve been a longtime fan of the series and the other spin-off, Shadowdwellers. In this series, the Bodywalkers (along with a few other Nightwalker species) are introduced. I think this book falls into the category that many “first in a series” books end up. While I liked the book, so much world building occurred that often times I felt it very hard to keep up. There were also a lot of characters to keep track of and I’ll come back to this point in a moment.  Then there is the whole idea behind the Bodywalkers. The ancient Egyptians, in their bid for afterlife, did mummifying and embalming. But in Ms. Frank’s spin, this practice actually angers their gods and their spirits never rest, causing them to share a body with humans. Their personalities and consciousness’s merge and in return the host lives a longer life and is enhanced… but they’re also relegated to living at night. Docia is the heroine of the book. In the first chapter, she’s killed and then resurrected as a Bodywalker. As the story progresses, she learns about the spirit now merging with her own.   Ram, our hero, is her guide into this new world. I ended the book without strong feelings for either of them. I rooted for them to get together and overcome the odds, but in the end, I think the plot and world building tended to overshadow them. I think what bothered or perhaps confused me the most is the idea of Bodywalkers. Two spirits joining together in one body. Add in a romance between two Bodywalkers, and there are now four “people” in the relationship. Throughout the book, the characters (Ram and Docia) are sometimes called by their host names and sometimes their spirit names and it was just odd. I suppose in my confusion, I could totally relate with Docia as she’s suddenly plunged into this world and actually has to live in it. It sounds like I hated the book, but that’s not true. In the end, I laughed and cried and wanted to know more. Yes, I was confused through most of the book, but it was mostly cleared up in the end and there’s enough of a cliffhanger that I’m looking forward to the next book.
ValerieStuckInBooks More than 1 year ago
4 stars - Such an utterly brilliant world these Bodywalkers! First Impression...That cover! That definitely got my attention. I haven't read a lot of paranormal lately and I love PNR so this one had my interest for sure. I was, also, trying to figure out who this "ancient race of the night" could be. That had my wanting to read it. The Story...I've never read this author before. Since this was a spin-off, I was worried that I would be lost in a complex world but except for the prologue I was perfectly fine. The prologue is full of clues and a world I don't know. I did go back and read it after the fact and wasn't as lost. This story is so unique. A world that I haven't seen in any other paranormal series before. Not vampires or shifters though they are part of this world, the Bodywalkers are something different. I enjoyed learning the lore and having it fall in to place for me. I will say that this series feels more Urban Fantasy than Paranormal Romance. The romance is a central issue in the story but it's not a romance book. This is clearly a first book of a series kinda book. It builds a great world and sets up for more the story to come. The Characters...I loved Docia. From her name to her personality, she is totally quirky. I really enjoyed that. Her strength and her love for her brother are put to the test as she is asked to join this world in a very personal way. The blending had me kinda sad. I wasn't really excited to "lose" Docia so much but, thankfully, she is still there. As for Ram, I loved him. He's a fierce warrior and loyal servant of his king. He is so not allowed to feel the way he does about Docia and the fact that all his years of devotion were put to the test to resist it was fun to watch. The Writing...is excellent. The style is one that I normally struggle to read. It's from multiple points of view and that changes frequently. It's third person but we do get to hear what they are thinking. It takes a lot of writing talent to pull this style off and I really think the author did it. Could I Put It Down...Mostly, I didn't want to put it down. I rarely get to read straight through, such is the life a working adult. There were a few slow spots but mostly, I kept turning the pages. In The End...The ending was a bit of a twist. I'm very interested to read the next one and see how that plays out. Having not read the original series, I'm definitely interested in picking it up. I think that people who enjoy Urban Fantasy with a side of yummy will enjoy this the most.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago