×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Ford County
     

Ford County

3.4 631
by John Grisham
 

See All Formats & Editions

In his first collection of short stories, John Grisham takes us back to Ford County, Mississippi, the setting of his first novel, A Time to Kill.

Inez and her two older sons take a road trip to visit the youngest brother, who's locked away on death row

Mack, a low-grossing divorce lawyer, gets a phone call with an offer to settle some old cases for more money

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Ford County 3.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 631 reviews.
KenCady More than 1 year ago
First of all, I HAVE read the book, ALL of it, and enjoyed the stories immensely. Ford County seems to be full of interesting people, and Grisham has a smart eye for what makes them interesting. My favorite story is the comeuppance of the lawyer Stanley, but the last story touched my heart. It was a great way to end a fine book.
lemme14 More than 1 year ago
When you write a book of short stories, you'll nail a few and swing and miss on some others. I think John Grisham showed he's not afraid to venture into unknown territory: short stories. This is something Stephen King has nailed. Some stories in Ford County were real page turners that were very exciting and over before I knew it. Others were only 50 pages and each page turn was painstaking. Not a bad product, but I'd prefer he sticks with his legal thrillers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love books by John Grisham, so I expect all of them to be great. And this one did not disappoint me. It's a book of short stories and I didn't care for the people in the first two stories but that certainly doesn't mean that they don't exist and are like some of the people that I know. But the last story was so enduring and heart felt that it stays with me even now. It was about an older black woman taking care of a younger white man with AIDS. And their short journey together is heart warming and strong.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This 'book' is a collection of short stories. I'm not really enjoying them and would not purchase this book again. I like Grisham's novels, so this book was a disappointment for me.
jcrubicon More than 1 year ago
Now I don't tend to read short story collections or anthologies, but in the last month I have enjoyed two very different collections: "Say Your One of Them" and "Ford County." As I wrote earlier "Say..." is a haunting and intense study of life in Africa from that continents children's perspective. I really liked John Grisham's collection of stories, "Ford County". Starting w "Playing for Pizza," Grisham has become a great storyteller! He still displays his love-hate for the legal profession, which we have grown accustomed to in his legal thrillers. Here, however, his characters are more poignant and richly compelling then the leads of his books/movies. Now none of these vignettes could expand to a full length novel ... but that in part is their strength. If the goal is rich flavor and a pleasant aftertaste, a tort is often better than the pie.
EddyAL More than 1 year ago
These stories go down effortlessly. More than the stories, the characters stand out as rich images appearing in front of the pages. While reading, I felt I was living there, somewhere in Ford County. These are short "short stories". I can't decide if I wanted more stories or longer ones. I have read Grisham's early books but not so much the more recent ones. I recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I throughly enjoy all of John Grishams books, but this read was tooo short but enjoyable. I felt as if I was in Ford County....the stories keep you laughing and crying for some of the characters! He saved the best for last! Can't wait to see if he takes one of the short stories and make it an complete book with court room drama and all! Its possible....because many of the stories left you hanging with just your imagination....
Joncox-Maximus More than 1 year ago
This book being Grisham's first short story work it immediately skipped all of his novels to take its place at the top of my list. The small town portrait he paints, the characters full of color, life, humor and uniqueness... I would recommend this book to anyone who has lived in the south. Even if you don't this book is an easy, quick read with original stories that still have a hint of Grishams love for law in it. You really get to bond with the characters and pull for them when they get to a speed bump. My favorite story in this book is Blood Drive.
Helen78 More than 1 year ago
I love the voice of John Grisham, but it's a truism that authors should not read their own words. With the exception of his telling about the lawyer who is abducted and made to witness the results of his defense of the medical profession [outstanding in it's starkness] the other stories sound 'read' instead of being told. Worthy and worthwhile work by a respected author.
NanceeMN More than 1 year ago
While I don't normally like short stories, this one is OK. I love John Grisham's books so I would have preferred a novel from him. But the stories reflect his normal writing style and it was easy to get into the stories. However, they all seemed to have a very sad ending. All of the characters were down on their luck sort of folks. I don't recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a mental or emotional pick-me-up, as the stories all left me feeling rather sad. But again, if you're a Grisham fan and like his writing style, you'll want to add this book to your library.
SD83 More than 1 year ago
I just got this book on Nov 4th and I have read 2 of the 7 stories, I have a 5 month old son and don't have a lot of time to read or I would already be done with it! I love how Grisham books will just suck you right into them, & this one is no different. It is kind of strange to have a story that takes you 1 hour to read instead of a couple days but it is still a good book, and I would not hesitate to buy it again. I can't wait to finish all stories but then I will have to wait a year for a new book :(
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
zips4 More than 1 year ago
Grisham leads you from beginning to end and you don't want to put it down. Great book for a long flight or a weekend relaxing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
memeCT More than 1 year ago
great story and read by one of the best
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Gender female rank dicuplus clan the kill
booknutCS More than 1 year ago
John Grisham is my favorite writer, I have read most of his book. Ford County was great. I have read it twice already. Once in hard cover and now in my Nook. I recommend it to anyone who enjoys reading great books, just for the joy of reading. Looking forward to John's next winner.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As usual John Grisham has written an outstanding book.  Hopefully he will give us more from Ford County in the short story format. 
lorrdel More than 1 year ago
This book contains some short stories that are easy to read, and very enjoyable. John Grisham is an excellent author, and this book of stories will not disappoint.