×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Foreign Correspondent
  • Alternative view 1 of The Foreign Correspondent
  • Alternative view 2 of The Foreign Correspondent
     

The Foreign Correspondent

3.1 14
by Alan Furst
 

See All Formats & Editions

From Alan Furst, whom The New York Times calls “America’s preeminent spy novelist,” comes an epic story of romantic love, love of country, and love of freedom–the story of a secret war fought in elegant hotel bars and first-class railway cars, in the mountains of Spain and the backstreets of Berlin. It is an inspiring, thrilling saga of

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

3.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 15 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you have not read Furst's previous books, especially The Polish Officer, The World at Night, Red Gold and Kingdom of Shadows you probably will not care much for The Foreign Correspondant. Why? Because The Foregign Correspondant revists the lives of many of the characters who appeared in those stories, albiet in brief snippits. I suspect this is why, in part, many readers did not like this story. Granted, the storyline is short on action. However, I enjoyed the dialogue between the characters. I also enjoyed learning more about the characters lives that Furst introduced in his previous stories. I also found the story suspenseful. Furst's talent, in my opinion, lies in his ability to transport the reader back in time. He excells at creating atmosphere and mood. Reading his stories, I always feel like a voyeur, getting brief glimpses into the lives of other interesting people.
Guest More than 1 year ago
As ever, I enjoyed the easy read - however this time I felt suspiciously set up for a sequel. Most of Furst 's previous novels went full circle. I usually felt somewhat satisfied at the conclusion. I felt this one left too many loose ends. Still enjoyable.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I agree with Vance--what was the point of this book? There's no tension, you never really felt anyone was in danger, and it's hard to get excited about someone buying printing presses on the black market. Call this one 'The Spy Who Bored Me.'
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is one of the most boring, plotless pieces of fluff I've ever read. If it were intended to be a sort of tongue-in-cheek, cheesy kind of homage to pulp fiction, it might have worked on some level. Instead, publishers hail Furst as *the* master of the historical spy novel. Well, you might think that if you've never read LeCarre, Ludlum, etc. This book is all stereotypical atmosphere. 'Ze Freench! Zey are so, how shall I say, Romanteeec! Pass me a Gitanne!' Oh, brother. It's just silly. You could write a summary of this novel on the back of a cocktail napkin. Finally, I wish someone would tell Furst that sentence fragments and comma splices are fine if you use them for effect or to reflect some character's thought process. Using them randomly within plot narrative is distracting and causes one to wonder whether the author even understands the purpose of proper punctuation.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
all furst novels are the same:great atmosphere, excellent prose, way too many characters, the story is all over the place, and the ending falls apart. i believe he tries to offer his stories as they would happen in real life: the hero meets many people, and many things happen. but this is not drama, and it would take genius to pull it off. alan furst: condense your characters--the female journalist, mccarthy, and elena, from the underground paper, become one character. lose the paris girlfriend, expand the berlin girlfriend. lose the guy in the park in berlin--it goes nowhere. lose the rebel writing the book. bring the bad guy you open the story with back for more than just one paragraph. in short--find a narrative drive and stay on spine. and cut the majority of your characters so the reader can become familiar with the people on the page. in this short novel, there's probably 70 speaking parts, and half the scenes don't work or aren't necessary. but still, furst is such a good writer, and can conjure europe before the second world war, that i somewhat like and finish his books. i just wish i could edit them.