×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Forever Odd (Odd Thomas Series #2)
     

Forever Odd (Odd Thomas Series #2)

4.1 462
by Dean Koontz
 

See All Formats & Editions

Every so often a character so captures the hearts and imaginations of readers that he seems to take on a life of his own long after the final page is turned. For such a character, one book is not enough-readers must know what happens next. Now Dean Koontz returns with the novel his fans have been demanding. With the emotional power and sheer storytelling artistry that

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Forever Odd (Odd Thomas Series #2) 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 462 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Koontz's novel "Odd Thomas" was clearly a bigger hit than anticipated, because his publishers have urged him to continue the story of the twenty-something fry cook who sees dead people. The result is "Forever Odd", which sees Odd left deflated and dispirited (not literally - he still communicates with ghosts) after the soul-shattering conclusion to his previous misadventure. Now that his desert town of Pico Mundo has returned to its state of relative calm, Odd wonders if he'll have time to rest and repair himself. Unfortunately, fate has something else in store for him. A young and very twisted lady has taken interest in the man with the unwanted gift, and has abducted a young and vulnerable friend of Odd's in order to get his attention.
Through his character, Koontz made it clear in the first novel that he intended to keep the tone light and the story swift-paced. He kept his promise for "Odd Thomas", and has done the same for the sequel. Every page in this novel feels relevant and un-belaboured, making this every bit the page-turner that the cover says.
The light tone occasionally feels forced, however, with Odd spinning out weak jokes and sometimes excruciatingly unfunny extended similes. Odd's young friend Danny, who Odd claims has a rapier wit and unparalleled sense of self-deprecating humour, is even worse, making the reader wish that Koontz just hadn't bothered.
Aside from that, the story is solid and still often amusing, and very occasionally emotional and chilling when intended. The conclusion and its admittedly minor revelation about the villains of the piece manages to shed a whole new layer to the narrative the reader has just finished, making up for minor niggles with a suitably uneasy conclusion.
XXXOOOBookwormOOOXXX More than 1 year ago
Such an unusual premise and it's a totally absorbing story line (to me, anyway.) There's something great about a character who trusts his inner self and instincts, even in strange circumstances. Odd Thomas is such a likeable character, with great "humanity" about himself ! An easy read, but can give you pause for thoughtful reflection, as well as a good hair raising scare without tons of gore or gratuitous sex that so many average authors rely on to tell their average stories! (If Odd were real, I'd vote to send him to Washington where he could rid us all of the evil ones currently in power!) The "Odds" are a great escape into mystery and mayhem. I'm enjoying all the books I've read in the series (so far,) can't wait to see how it all ends as he returns to Stormy! Odd Thomas Rules!
Syntcha More than 1 year ago
All I can say is that I was hesistant about the Odd Thomas series because I am not into ghosts, but the books are amazing! The depth of the characters, and Odd's personality and conversations are beyond inspiring, and draw you right into his heart and very offbeat and challenging life.
GardaKat More than 1 year ago
I have a small library of books that adds up to 100+ books, and I think that of all the characters that I've become attached to, Odd is my favorite. Other than being able to see ghosts, he is about as down-to-earth as a character you can get. With Odd, what you see is what you get. Koontz has done a wonderful job creating a character that you can relate to, other than seeing the ghosts. Lol. This is a set that is worth your time to read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Odd Thomas is one of those characters that the reader loves and the bad guys stalk. Yet despite their stalking, Odd prevails and makes everything right again. A blend of imagination, a snippit of humor and a cast of unique characters keeps the reader on the edge of his seat...reading into the wee hours of the night. IMHO this would make a great movie, mini series or even a series. It has a uniqueness like non other and Odd is simply perfect in these books!
Ian Wise More than 1 year ago
One of the best books ive read in a long time!
Arlene Neal More than 1 year ago
THIS BOOK WAS VERY INTERESTING, IF YOU ARE NOT AFRAID TO BE OPEN TO DIFFERENT THINGS, THEN YOU WOULD ENJOY THIS BOOK!!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Forever Odd doesn't disappoint, in fact I enjoyed it even more than it's prequel. The character Odd Thomas is superb and his unique talents wonderfully described. The story is a delight and unforgettable from the revelation to the terror. I became so absorbed I almost believed Odd Thomas was real. Dean Koonz's FOREVER ODD and another recent read, Bruce Huntly's FUSION, are two of the most entertaining books I have read for a while. Such a pleasure to offset so many other mediocre new offerings.
Bookman6977 More than 1 year ago
All I cam say is stick with you will be rewarded; truly
Oscar Campbell More than 1 year ago
I mean how original is that! I would want to talk to the dead who hang around the 'power ball' offices myself! So anyway, its a heck of a haunt following Odd around!
Ryan Martens More than 1 year ago
really enjoyed this book
Jocelyn Buczek More than 1 year ago
loved this series so much
Shawna Hardman More than 1 year ago
I love odd thomas. have read them all. wish there were more.
Sarah Politowski More than 1 year ago
I loved the first book. I adore Odd's character, who makes you fall in love with him with his slight nerdiness and sweet manner. I thought the story line was very original even though there are plenty of medium or 'ghost whisperer' type stories out there and even more ghost stories in general. I eagerly jumped into the second book and found it to be a little lackluster. It's not a bad book, it's just that compared to the first book 'Odd Thomas,' it falls suprisingly short. I'm about to start the third book and hope it follows way of the first book, not the second.
Lucidreader More than 1 year ago
If you have already began the Odd Thomas series, then you'll love this next installment. Odds' Pico Mundo family all play a bit of a role. Even the lovable "Terrible Chester" pops up. It is a bit different than the first Odd Thomas novel, but nonetheless captivating. I loved it. I hope you will too.
Suev59 More than 1 year ago
coould not put it down read it in a couple days
SydVicious More than 1 year ago
This book tied into Odd Thomas perfectly. The description of everything was amazing and I couldn't help but laugh at Koontz's clever comedy.
ducklvr More than 1 year ago
Every single Odd book sucks me in and won't let me put it down until I've read every last page. Wonderful books!
CK84 More than 1 year ago
I was not a huge fan of this piece of the Odd Thomas series. When I look back on the series as a whole this book definatly seems to be a "filler" in the timeline of the main character. If you are a fan of the first novel read this one to keep pace with the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This story not only is Odd faced with dealing with spirits, he is faced with being a target. Koontz is very good at leading Odd into the oddest of prediciments.
Veronica_ More than 1 year ago
If you have already read the first installment in the series, then you already have a vested interest in Odd (and his loved ones) but you get to see a real "life lesson induced"- growth in his confidence,understanding, and his forgiveness of other's short comings in this book. If only we could be so humane and compassionate in the real world. An excellent read for anyone who enjoys Mr. Koontz's style (and who doesn't,right?) of story-telling.
xoxo_leigh More than 1 year ago
Loved Odd Thomas (book 1) and figured Forever Odd (book 2) would follow the same general storyline and character plot from the first book, unfortunately it did not. Yes, book 2 did have the same characters and story background, however it quickly, (without much explanation/closure that I was expecting from the book 1) went into a completely unrelated plot with unknown characters we weren't previously introduced to. Since we were being introduced to these few new characters I had hoped Koontz would expand the overall storyline, however, I'm not sure why we met these few characters and what they're role was in the overall story line. I kept expecting an "ah ha" moment where the plot would double back to book 1 and the storyline would make more sense, no such luck. However, I love Odd's quirky personality, sense of humor and his view of the living and the dead is quite fun/silly. Overall a good read - I can't wait to find out who, where and what Odd Thomas will face next! xoxo_leigh
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This second installment in Koontz's Odd Thomas Series lacks the pace and plot of his first. Odd Thomas is a one of a kind character with a unique outlook on life due primarily to his connection to the dead. Odd's observations are insightful and at times even philosophical and his heart is always in the right place, which makes the story very readable. The journey on which he embarks in "Forever Odd," however feels flat and contrived. A one-dimensional villain and the unbelievable twists and turns in this tale tend to take away from the interactions Odd has with the tortured souls only he is privileged to see - a highlight in this series for me. I missed the quick pace and the creepy villain from the first installment.
Koontzfan45 More than 1 year ago
I have so enjoyed this series. I have read every one of these so far and it is such a refreshing change from the norm. I love the touch of humor in the story and ODD is just a great character. I hope the author can come up with more story lines for Odd, I would hate to see this character just fade away.
BER1 More than 1 year ago
I absolutely love the Odd series by Dean Koontz; once I started first one I could not put them down.