×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Forge (Seeds of America Trilogy Series #2)
  • Alternative view 1 of Forge (Seeds of America Trilogy Series #2)
  • Alternative view 2 of Forge (Seeds of America Trilogy Series #2)
     

Forge (Seeds of America Trilogy Series #2)

4.6 116
by Laurie Halse Anderson
 

See All Formats & Editions

For many readers, Forge “will be one of the best novels they have ever read” (starred review from Kirkus Reviews)!

Blistering winds. Bitter cold. And the hope of a new future. In this compelling sequel to Chains, a National Book Award Finalist and winner of the Scott O’Dell Award for Historical Fiction, acclaimed

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Forge 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 116 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book and Chains. They are remarkably thrilling and interesting. I can't wait for Laurie to finish writing "Ashes" the third book in the Chains series. I am going to buy that book as soon as it comes out. I loved Chains and Forge and anyone who loves history, the Revoutionary War, African enslavement novels, or colonial times should buy this book! I would recommend this book to all my friends. After I read Chains I knew that Laurie Halse Anderson was going to be my favorite author!
SuperLibrarianBlog More than 1 year ago
A great book for young readers This story continues the adventures of Isabel and Curzon, this time from Curzon's point of view. For some reason, I just didn't connect as much to Curzon as I did to Isabel in the first book. For a large chunk at the beginning of the book I kept wondering what had happened to Isabel! But Curzon himself was wondering the same thing, and he eventually found out. The circumstances that brought them back together seemed a little coincidental to me, but I can see how it was necessary for the storyline.  Anderson clearly did her research as she inserted her characters into real events in history. I love how each chapter began with a historical quote from a primary source, and I appreciated that the characters spoke with authentic dialogue for the time period. Listening to the audiobook version of Forge was interesting because the narrator did an excellent job of portraying a young soldier's experience.  This is a great book for young readers who are want to learn what it might have been like to live during the Revolutionary War. It brings history alive with strong characters and accurate historical details. The only downside of the audiobook is that it doesn't include the appendix that the print version has which helps readers distinguish fact from fiction, find further resources for research, and learn the meaning of the colloquial phrases used in the novel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found Forge an extremely satisfying seqel to the first masterpiece of this series, Chains. The story picks up several months after the escape of Isabel and Curzon and is told from the perspective of Curzon instead of Isabel, which I personally enjoyed. What seems to be a spontaneous encounter snowballs into a rich, enthralling plot laced with danger, action and even love. Anderson even manages to intertwine the story of Matilda Cook from Fever 1793 (another masterful book by Laurie Halse Anderson) into Isabel and Curzon's story. Truly amazing and a must read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really did enjoy this book. It can certainly stand alone but is so much better after reading Chains. As a teacher, I thoroughly enjoyed the primary sources Ms. Anderson used at the beginning of each chapter. It really made the story more authentic. The action moved along at a good pace and I read it quickly. Can't wait for Ashes to come out!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this author and all the work she does to put these books together. Forge was a great sequel to Chanes and i enjoyed reading every word. I cant wait to read what this marvous author has in store for us next in Ashes(sequle to Forge).
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read book 1 (chains) and i sooo wanna read this one!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lovely
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Omg! This is the best book ever! I recommend it 2 everyonr!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LETS JUST SAY THAT THIS BOOK AND CHAINS IS AMAZING
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. I couldn't stop reading it. I can't wait until the 3rd book Ashes comes out. Everyone needs to read this book!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Chains is the best I hope forge is as good as chains
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm so excited for the third book it's going to be AMAZING!
warriorreads More than 1 year ago
Forge is a sequel to Chains but stands alone. It takes place at Valley Forge during the Civil War. Strong characters, fast plot and incredibly vivid setting makes this the best historical novel I've ever read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Forge is the sequel to the historical fiction book Chains. I had to read chains in school, and i didnt know what to expect. Let me just say... i absolutely LOVED it. Lauri halse anderson makes historical fiction amazingly interesting. When i read forge, which is in Curzon's perspective, i could not put it down. I read it non-stop until it was finished. I cannot wait for Ashes to come out!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is so awesome.i wish they had the next book on here.its called ashes.
Anonymous 3 months ago
Its sucks
Sandy5 8 months ago
The drama continues and I was sucked right into it. There is so much talk about the war, what side individuals were taking and how much longer they thought the war would last, it really all depended on who you listened to and what you really believed as to what your answer would be. I thought Curzon and Isabel were a good team when they were together but now, they are separated and Curzon has signed on to be a soldier as he feels the war would soon be over and for now at least he would have some security. War is not easy on him though as there are people who make it hard for him because of his color but he concentrates on his work and he thinks of Isabel and tries to make it through each day. Curzon really frustrated me. He signed up for the war, he knew it was going to be tough plus being of African American decent, he had to know that this might become an issue for other soldiers yet he does it anyway. What was he expecting? It didn’t take long for his past to catch up with him and although he’s enraged and feels deceived at what is transpiring there is one small glimmer of sunshine on his horizon. He only hopes that this sunshine feels the same way. Curzon can’t seem to shake his past but he sees a bright future. What a great continuation of Chains, a novel that had Curzon and Isabel running for their lives. More drama and excitement awaited these two as they searched for Isabel’s younger sister Ruth who was taken from Isabel. I was hoping that Curzon and Isabel would stay together but that didn’t occur. I loved Isabel’s commitment to her younger sister; she was determined to protect her, so sure that her sister could not survive without her, so sure that her sister was failing without her. And then, that moment when she found her little sister, I felt relieved and the more that I read it was not the homecoming that I expected. Dang, the war! Dang, slavery! Dang you, Laurie Anderson for writing this novel! Just when things started to turn around for these characters, it went back two steps; they never could get a break. I could feel the hope, the energy, death and disappointment bleeding out of this novel. I had to know what lies in the future for these three, I’m glad that I picked up the third book in this series, I can’t stop now.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Forge is a great follow up to Chains, with its unique characters like Eben and the French General. Although I didn't like the perspective change, the book did pick up where Chains left off, and the perspective change grew on me after a while of reading. I have always been able to visualize the areas the characters describe and in Forge, Laurie improved the descriptions to make them more surreal than in Chains. Between Chains and Forge the two books have been the only books I have read all the way through just because it was interesting to me. Forge is a great read worth the money to buy the sequel to an amazing book, you wont regret buying this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Emotionally draining, the book gets you so involved in the character's problems.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I need the sequel ! PLEASE
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best book i have read for years
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ive heard of this book after read the first book "Chains" but Ive never read it so wish me luck.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I like how this book was though Curzons eyes and not Isabelles. I think it is cool that this author did that. I can't wait for the next book in this series, Ashes comes out.