×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Forge of God (Forge of God Series #1)
     

The Forge of God (Forge of God Series #1)

4.0 41
by Greg Bear
 

See All Formats & Editions

"A gripping panorama of a world in peril" (Chicago Sun-Times) from the author of Anvil of Stars. June 26, 1996: One of Jupiter's moons disappears. September 28, 1996: A mysterious cinder cone is found in Death Valley. October 1, 1996: An enormous granite mountain is discovered in Australia. It wasn't there six months ago. . . . "Bear's best novel".--San Diego Union.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Forge of God (Forge of God Series #1) 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 41 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Forge of God and Anvil of the Stars were my first Bear reads those many years ago. He delivers the best in hard sci-fi to this day IMHO. These two novels are extremely well-written with a great storyline and science that still read as well as when they were first published. The interactions of the characters and the vivid descriptions of events kept me turning the pages and rereading them twice more through the years! If you like hard sci-fi, these two are a must read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
An incredible and well thought out concept. I have read and enjoyed this author's other novels, but this book was by far his best. The storyline, while slow to develop, quickly accelerates to a very bleak ending - but for me, that's what made it unforgetable. We all want the happily ever after ending, but again, for me this novel delivered the knock-out punch!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have to say I really liked Forge of God. It was really well written, and I thought the concept was brilliant. I think that it showed the truth that if there is an alien race out there that is advanced enough to reach us there wouldn't be much we could do to stop them from doing whatever they wanted to us. The book does get very depressing as it goes on. You realize that the Earths fate has been sealed and there is nothing we can do to stop it. I thought the book had a few slow parts and, the ending was bleak but, there is sequel out there so I hope we get our revenge. I will be reading it and hoping. I recommend Forge of God to any sci-fi junkies out there.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In 1996, Jupiter¿s sixth moon Europa suddenly vanishes. The media plays the disappearing act for a few weeks, but as usual that fades from their blip screen as they believe the public is apathetic towards some obscure moon. Scientists come up with numerous theories, but each have gigantic holes as no one knows what really happened. Most astronomers remain astounded that a relatively large object is missing sort of like a cosmic David Copperfield making the Statue of Liberty disappear.

In Death Valley, three Texas geologists find what seems as the first error of US Geological Survey charts they have ever come across. A very large unmarked mound not shown on the maps rises from the desert. The trio agrees that there is no way that this ¿mountain¿ could have been missed. Next they find an ailing alien who needs darkness to live who bears very bad news.. How will the human race react to what appears to be an encounter of a negative kind.

Though THE FORGE OF GOD is well written with an engaging premise, the book falls short because talented Greg Bear never decides between a classic invasion tale and a psychological reaction plot. Instead, readers are left with pieces of both, but neither is complete. The story line is fast-paced and entertaining and fans of invasion earth novels will find overall enjoyment. However, this reviewer was left with the disappointment of feeling shorted. Exploring the different mindset of how earthlings and the aliens respond to the end days of human life would have been unique and captivatingly refreshing, something that the audience will keep expecting until the novel is finished.

Harriet Klausner

Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Characters so deep you know you've met them, somewhere, & come away the better for it...
Vanamonde More than 1 year ago
A stunning and humane book. By far the best novel about the end of the world I have read. The last 50 pages will stay in my memory forever
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nice reading, very entertaining
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Pretty good
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MichaelTravisJasper More than 1 year ago
This is great apocalyptic / first-encounter science fiction. It is really interesting to think about how society and individuals would react to alien invasion. It’s a scary notion. It makes you feel pretty vulnerable when you think of how helpless we would be in the face of a dramatically more advanced civilization. Hopefully, if it ever happens, the good guys will get here a little further ahead of the bad guys. I think any true fan of sci-fi will very much enjoy this novel. Michael Travis Jasper, author of the novel “To Be Chosen”
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago