×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Forged: The World of Nightwalkers
     

Forged: The World of Nightwalkers

4.2 23
by Jacquelyn Frank
 

See All Formats & Editions

From New York Times bestselling author Jacquelyn Frank comes a seductive new paranormal romance set in the World of the Nightwalkers, as a battle-scarred bodyguard and a sensitive beauty risk their lives—and their hearts—in the face of evil.
 
When Katrina Haynes discovers a large man lying wounded in the snow, she fears he is at

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Forged: The World of Nightwalkers 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 24 reviews.
2_PMVH More than 1 year ago
Have you ever heard of Bodywalkers, Wraiths, Mysticals, Night Angels, Phoenixes, Gargoyles and Djynn? They all are from the World of Nightwalkers. Some are good and some are evil. They all are strong, mystical and fighting for their existence, but even a Nightwalk needs to find their other half to love! He has no name and was forged by his master from stone. He may be a prisoner but he is enslaved by his touchstone. The touchstone is his life and he must never be separated from it or he will die. To escape his prison, he must steal it, escape his master and only then will he truly be free. Now 300 years later, his chosen name is Ahnvil and he is fighting on the good side with the Politic. His enemy, the Templar, have captured him. He is a one crabby and passed off Gargoyle and slowly going insane because he needs his touchstone. He finally escapes from his enemy, picks up a magical and cursed necklace and he takes flight with a pack of evil on his tail. Katrina Hayes lives a lonely and secluded life on a mountaintop with just her huge dog, Karma, for company. She used to be a physician assistant at Manhattan ER. She quit due to the stress and her allergy to the sun makes her an outsider to the day world. The sun is her enemy and she is safe on her mountaintop home with shutters for her windows and doors. Kat and Karma go for a walk and find a half dress gigantic man bleeding in the snow. Her medical muscles kicks in and she starts to help him. Ahnvil opens his eyes and see this bonny lass helping him. He asks her to get him inside before the sun comes up. With strength she didn't know she has, Kat gets him inside her home and unto her bed. She is so busy getting medical supplies and stitching him up, that she decides to think about his skin turning to stone later, much later. While Ahnvil is recovering, he keeps pinning Kat under him, keeps kissing her socks off and eating everything in her house. Kat learns he is a Gargoyle and all about his strange Nightwalker World and how he must get to his touchstone soon. He feels so strangely connected to his wee Kat and must protect her from his world because she is so frail, tiny and just plain human. The next thing Kat knows, she is walking in a snow storm with her crazy dog, a cursed necklace stuck on her neck, a horny half naked Gargoyle and they are going to the Nightwalker headquarters. Ahnvil brings Kat into his world and show her what passion means. Kat brings him into her heart and shows him that love is a strong as stone. Can he truly love her and not get her killed? Can she crack his stone heart? Is their love doomed in the crazy and strange Nightwalker World? Ms. Frank made this awesome world with such a special and passionate couple that could not be any different from one another. Kat would have these silly conversation in her head that were so hilarious. I imagine this huge black haired man with a Scottish kilt on and that was my Ahnvil. These two characters jumped off the pages and pulled me in with them and it ROCKED! Kat and Anvil would spent so much time attempting to have sex, that I couldn't take it and started shouting at my kindle, "JUST DO IT!" Ms. Franks writes with such humor that is makes this crazy and scary world makes sense and it sucks you in. She writes such great lines like, "pour sugar on your nether bits." You will fall in love with all these characters that go bump in the night. Ms. Frank made me giggle, scream, cry and even hyperventilate from laughing so hard! I also had to use a fan to cool myself off during her sexy, steamy and slight sleazy scenes. I give my THANKS to Ms. Franks for creating this wonderful and hilarious world for me to keep tucked into my heart. This book gets my score of 4 fingers up and 10 toes!! Reviewed from a NetGalley ARC.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think most PNR fans will find something to enjoy within these pages but it's the fans of the series that will get the most out of it. The romance happens quickly. I was on board with that because it felt right for their situation. I just wish Ahnvil wasn't so hot and cold about it. There are good arguments for and against them getting together but he would paw at her one minute, then send her away the next. When they are together and truly into it, it was pure steamy magic. When a reason came up to pull away, I'm surprised Katrina didn't get whiplash. Like I said, there are good and bad reasons why they should keep their distance but after a while they are just poor excuses. When Katrina Haynes discovers a large man lying wounded in the snow, she fears he is at death’s door. But as Kat tends to his injuries, she quickly realizes that they’re the least of her worries. With an irresistible Scottish brogue and a strange ability to harden his chiseled body like a statue, the stranger awakens a desire she is unable to resist—and a fascination about the intriguing world he exists in. The Nightwalker world keeps expanding and I'm fascinated to see where Ms. Frank takes the reader. It's always an adventure and I love the fact that there are two distinctly different sides to the Nightwalker world that quite literally have been oblivious to the existence of the other, and it's Kat who ultimately helps them discover each other. This series, The World of the Nighwalkers, is about the Bodywalkers (ancient Egyptian souls that fuse with that of a dying willing human) and a prophecy comes to light that says the Nighwalkers were divided into two groups and six of the Nightwalker races would not remember or even see the other six races until the curse is lifted. I think this is so awesome and love how everything is a branch on the same tree      
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really great installment of this series. I loved reading about some other characters from the previous nightwalker series, that was nicely done. The thing I loved the most about this book was the way Ms. Frank spelled out Ahnvil's accent, that really made me 'hear' him as I was reading it. I've read other books where the author says a character spoke with a scottish accent, but this really made me hear it as I was reading, which was great. Very fun read. Thanks!
aakerr More than 1 year ago
Loved the story of Ahnvil and Katrina! This is an excellent addition to Jacquelyn Frank's Nightwalkers. Katrina finds a severely injured Ahnvil near her home in the snow. They get to know each other and he shares some of his secrets with her while she nurses him back to health. There is an interesting twist that brings the Nightwalkers series and the World of Nightwalkers together in this book. I've been anxiously awaiting that event and it didn't disappoint! Can't wait for more! Reading this book will make you want to go back to the beginning and start with Jacob from the Nightwalker series. The correct reading order is Nightwalkers #1-5, the Shadowdwellers #1-3, Nightwalkers #6 - Adam, then go to the World of Nightwalkers. Enjoy!
dsubsits More than 1 year ago
Forged (The World of Nightwalkers #4) by Jacquelyn Frank Katrina Haynes finds an injured man near her remote home and nurses him back to health.    Three-hundred-and-fifty-two-year-old  Scottish Gargoyle, Ahnvil, is injured after escaping from the Templars. He awakens to an intriguing woman.  A storm is preventing him from getting home to his touchstone, which is needed to maintain his life. Jacquelyn Frank did a great job with the characters.  I love that you could always tell when Ahnvil was speaking because of the Scottish dialect.  He was even a bit rough around the edges, which is appropriate for an old gargoyle.  I really like Ahnvil.  He has become one of my favorite Nightwalker characters. Katrina is suffering from a rare disease that makes her feel self-conscious around others.  She has never felt like she fit in.  Having a medical background it is no wonder why she took Ahnvil in.  She is a good person with a warm heart.  I enjoyed the chemistry between the two characters.  They were definitely entertaining. Forged has a great plot with some unexpected surprises.  Old characters make appearances, and new characters are introduced into the series; making the story more enriching.  I really enjoy The World of Nightwalkers.  It is a creative realm with lots of excitement.  Some interesting things happened in Forged that will affect future books in the series.  I look forward to reading what happens next. Complimentary copy provided by publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved Ahnvil's story. I enjoyed how he managed to escape only to be put in the path of Kat. Kat being the caring person she was can't walk away from helping him even though she is not sure if it's safe or not. Ahnvil knows he shouldn't bring an innocent human into his world but is drawn to Kat and needs her to heal and get back to his people. I have enjoyed this series from the very first book and love how the story continues while the Nightwalkers are trying to find a way to fight the evil God that has bee released unto the world. The characters are fantastic and bring so much to the world Jacquelyn Frank has created for the reader to get lost in. The story has everything the reader needs to keep turning the pages to see what happens next. I can't wait till the next book. Highly recommend!
WorldsCollide More than 1 year ago
Dark, thrilling, and romantic. Forged was a lovely paranormal romance. I really enjoyed reading it. Kat was a lovely heroine. She was truly kind and genuinely likable. But, even though she was small, it would be a mistake to underestimate her. She was strong and held her own. She refused to let anyone run all over her and really proved herself. I thought she was great. Ahnvil was okay. He was a bit too overbearing at times and that made me get annoyed with him. But, he could also be sweet and he had his moments. So, overall, I was fine with him. The romance was good. I wasn't totally feeling it, partly because of my issue with Ahnvil. But, I still thought they were sweet together and the chemistry was definitely hot. The plot was fast paced. I wasn't totally hooked, but I was kept interested the entire way through. There were tons of thrills and secrets and all that kept me on the edge of my seat. I really enjoyed the story and the ending was great. Forged was a lovely paranormal romance. I really enjoyed reading this wonderful book. It had thrills, secrets, and, of course, romance. Lovers of romance, this is a book you'll want to check out. *I received a free copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
katsindiebookblog More than 1 year ago
*** Gifted in exchange for an honest review via Netgalley*** This is the 4th book in the World of the Nightwalkers and it was one of my favourites, The main characters in this book are a gargoyle named Ahnvil who when captured by a Templar Body walker who has plans to find out what he can do with an artifact that has a prophesy attached to it, Ahnvil has a deadline to escape and get back to his touchstone, otherwise he will start to lose his mind and eventually turn to stone forever. When he finally escapes, he is gravely injured and collapses in the middle of the mountain woods in a winter storm. Luckily fate has Kat, who has a cottage on the mountain find him ( or rather her Dog Karma finds him - I loved the dogs name) Kat has been a loner for most of her life, and she feels something for this stranger that she has tried to save. Their interactions had me smiling and laughing most of the book ( funny that as I was sat on a plane!) and I loved that Ms Frank gave Ahnvil a Scottish accent - I thought his name was also an inspired one, He was 'Forged' and he is a Strong Massive Build of a man, so of course he would have a strong name - I also enjoyed the story of how the Politic Gargoyles have a 'h' in their names. This book is the beginning of the culmination of the prophesy and there are more Nightwalker races introduced. The writing is fluid and the story flows so well I read it from cover to cover, I will re-read these stories again, as I enjoyed this series very much. Thanks to the Publishers for allowing me to review this series, I recommend it to all Paranormal romance readers as a must read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Night walkers just keep getting better and better.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the intricate concept and the story. But the ending was rushed and abrupt. Sort of felt cheated.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
bookaholicGE More than 1 year ago
Jacquelyn Frank did a great job with this book. I received this book as an ARC from Netgalley for my honest review. I want to throw out there that I have purchased her Nightwalker books 1-6 on my own in the past; so when I saw this on Netgalley I knew I had to read it. This book was great, I love that Jacquelyn took the time to explain all of the different nightwalkers and what they do and then she even threw in the older nightwalkers that I know and love and gave the reader a mini update. By doing that Jacquelyn made it very easy for a new reader to enjoy the serious without being confused. This book was sexy, funny, and action packed making it a paranormal romance lovers dream book. Katrina Haynes finds Ahnvil bleeding in the snow and decides to help him. Ahnvil having gone through something very traumatic gives Katrina a run for her money leaving her wanting to strangle him, help him and make love to him all at the same time. This journey starts off with two people hiding a lot of secrets and ends with them loving and accepting everything about themselves that makes them extraordinary.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
PleiadesWoman More than 1 year ago
Oh, _gods_, the badly written info dump.  Two chapters of this crap.  I can't even make myself interested in this, and I've read a lot of Ellora's Cave novels     Excerpt from Cht. 2:  “Ahnvil wanted to scream, but he would give his captors no such pleasure.  He moved and the should of chains scraping over the cement floor of his prison instantly came to him.  He was shackled from the ankles as well as the wrists and thrown behind a wall of steel bars for good measure.  His prison was a basement of some sort that he could sense was fully underground.”   I mean... really?  Woof.  DNF.  Deleting from my Nook account.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read. I can't wait to read what happens next
Lost-N-Love-N-Hopeless More than 1 year ago
Not up to par with the original 'Nightwalker' series. Frank's has continued the Nightwalkers series into another direction (The World of Nightwalkers). This is the first of the new series that I have read and I feel like something is missing. Good thing is you would not need to go back to the original series to be in pace with were the new series picks up. There is enough summary and recap of the original to carry on from here. This is my first romance involving a Gargoyle, which lite my fire and the fact that his is Scottish seal the deal, but not the victory. Ahnvil, the Gargoyle, is the protector of his Nightwalker and Katrina (Kat) Haynes is the lady that comes to his rescue. With her introduction into a world she had no knowledge of, the two of them form a bond/connection that leads to, well duhhhhhhhhh, romance. Franks' need to step up her game to put this one on par with the original 'Nightwalker' series. Thanks, NetGalley.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ToryMichaels More than 1 year ago
 For obvious reasons (see "Hearts of Stone" page), I'm very fond of reading stories that feature gargoyles as the heroes (or far more rarely, the heroines). So after being so entranced by the World of the Nightwalkers series by Ms. Frank, I was ecstatic to see one of the gargoyles that fought so fiercely in earlier books to protect the Nightwalkers get his own book. And I wasn't disappointed. Ahnvil was a fabulous hero. Poor Ahnvil - he had a really horrid early portion of his life as a gargoyle. He really did what he absolutely had to and broke free of the Bodywalker who had created him in tehe first place, having done some dreadful things. Since then, he's lived a life of heroism protecting the good Bodywalkers. So of course when he's captured, no one can doubt how terrifying that must have been for him. And yet, despite the impending threat of madness and ultimately permanent stone-shape if he doesn't get back to his touchstone in time, he never entirely loses the goodness that's deep in his core. Katrina - I can't say I was entirely surprised when the truth about her was revealed. There wasn't anything too obvious about it, but it just made sense in the end that she was what she was. And when she discovered the truth, she used her new skill set to escape what could have been a very nasty end for her after she's captured by the power-hungry Bodywalker. The Nightwalker world keeps expanding and I'm fascinated to see where Ms. Frank takes the reader. It's always an adventure and I love the fact that there are two distinctly different sides to the Nightwalker world that quite literally have been oblivious to the existence of the other, and it's Kat who ultimately helps them discover each other. This made for a great read (5 stars all the way!) and I am eagerly awaiting the next book in the series. I may have come late to the series (after the original Nightwalker series, rather than the World of the Nightwalkers), but I am completely wrapped up in and look forward to seeing where Ms. Frank takes us in the future. Book provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
Sailon More than 1 year ago
Who new gargoyles could be so hot? Frank made me a believer in Forged. Finding a half frozen man near her secluded home in the Washington Mountains, was the last thing Katrina Haynes expected. Nursing him back to health, Katrina quickly discovers Ahnvil (the man she rescued) is no ordinary man. Ahnvil escaped torture only to find a new form of torture in a woman named Katrina. Her tender care and ability to accept his differences quickly creates a bond he can't deny. A bond that will place Kat, front and center for the evil that is rising. I love The World of Nightwalkers Series. Forged was packed full of the characters I've come to love as well as giving us some real strong plot direction for the future installments in this series. We've watched the Bodywalkers, Djinn, and Night Angels find love...now it was the Gargoyles turn.  But that isn't all the gargoyle brought to the table...The Nightwalkers and the The World of the Nightwalkers are about to COLLIDE. OMG, I know - it is so freaking exciting! I was ready to break out in a happy dance. If you follow Frank's other series you will know that a prophecy has said there was originally 12 Nightwalker species but for some reason they never meet...well the prophecy is coming to a head and I can't wait to see what happens next. One of my favorite things for an author to do is cross over between their series. Frank has been building this magnificent connection and reading Forged put me front and center!
celticmaggie More than 1 year ago
Another awesome book from Jacquelyn. She writes Paranormal with the best of them. She isn't prejudiced either. She includes them all and then some. My faves are mobile Gargoyles and static Grotesques. Ahnvil was one of them. He was captured and then injured when he escaped to end up on Kat's property. She fixed him as good as she could. When he could move they went to the Estate where his friends are. He was forged to protect. She is very independent so there's lots of arguing. There is not as much action as I was expecting but lots of set up for more books to come. This is another"not able to put down book".If you like Creatures then you should enjoy this book. Now I wait for the next book!
jeanniezelos More than 1 year ago
Forged. The World of Nightwalkers. Jacquelyn Frank Review from Jeannie Zelos Book reviews. I read a Jaquelyn Frank novels a couple of years back but didn't gel with it. Seeing that she's a best selling author and not wanting to miss out on some good reads I decided it was time to try another of her books. Forged as the first in a new series sounded good one to read, I thought. I soon discovered though that I’d misread – and its actually the fourth in the series....my bad! It wasn't difficult to pick up though even though it's a very different world she's created, where there are lots of different types of supernaturals although few humans know of them. Gargoyles – they often get a bad press, described as being overly beast-like. Jacquelyn's are like that too, but its clear they also have a strong humanity about them and are in control of the beast side. Ahnvil has escaped capture, needs to return to his home with other supernaturals and his Touchstone – the stone that keeps him from being permanently stone - ASAP. He's badly injured though and luckily for him Kat finds him and tends to him. Through a series of events she accompanies him back to his home and the others. Ahnvil – he was a good, honest and loyal man, strong, sexy as hell but... irresistible brogue?? Well, his constant use of “doona” wasn't irresistible to me but very irritating. Its not the first time I’ve seen it written/used to describe a Scots accent but it grates..I know a few Scots but I’ve never heard one say “doona” and it actually irritated me so much it detracted from what he was saying. Sadly its a word he uses very often :( Apart from that though he was a good lead, strong, sexy and very Alpha. I understood Kat's reactions to his alpha control issues, I think most independent women would feel the same. Kat's had to become dependent on herself as she has a skin condition that limits her daytime activities, so she's become quite a loner and doesn't take kindly to Ahnvil's over protectiveness even though she understands it. Overall its an interesting story, clearly some of the plot carries on from earlier books, but the main one of introducing Kat and Ahnvil wraps up nicely. There's the usual supernatural activities, fights, spells, travel through supernatural means plus of course the idea of created Gargoyles that need their Touchstone to stay human. It was a fun read, but not one I’d re read and confirms that for me Jacquelyn is an excellent and very popular author but not one whose novels really appeal to me. Horses for courses again and everyone wanting different reads thankfully. The names...I have to comment. Ahnvil- really? And there's another character called Ihron...reminds me too much of the BDB novels and the awful names there – I still haven't got to reading them, put off by the twee play on words...but that's me :) and probably why I'm a reader not a writer. Stars: three and a half. ARC supplied via Publishers