×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Forgiven (Sisters of the Heart Series #3)
     

Forgiven (Sisters of the Heart Series #3)

4.4 22
by Shelley Shepard Gray
 

See All Formats & Editions

Tragedy strikes-a brother and sister find themselves facing a situation that will shape the rest of their lives.

When a fire destroys the Lundys' barn, Winnie is injured trying to get the animals to safety. Confined to a hospital for weeks, out of touch with her loved ones who live too far away to visit by buggy, she must depend on Englisher Samuel Miller to

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Forgiven (Sisters of the Heart Series #3) 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 22 reviews.
PamIPA More than 1 year ago
I have enjoyed reading all 3 books in this series. Very good plots. Easy reading and good plots to follow!
Deborah_K More than 1 year ago
I've been a big fan of the books in the Sisters of the Heart series since I picked up book one. For some reason, they read differently from other Amish books. It's fresh and light, yet takes into account realistic views of both the Amish and English world. I think what I like best is that there are those who do get a taste of the outside world but their decision to choose the Amish lifestyle is not forced or fake. I've read other books where the choice seemed to put the Amish world as a paradise or utopia as opposed to the sinful worldliness of mainstream America. These books put a refreshing spin on that topic and I applaud them for it. In this story the focus is on Winnie, the sister of Jonathan and sister in law of Katie. From the last book in the series, we learn that she has just gotten over a failed courtship and is attempting to move on. Unfortunately she's been severely limited due to being injured from a fire at Jonathan's farm. Therefore Sam, a university professor who left the Amish years ago, comes to her rescue and offers to take care of her while she's ailing. I really liked Sam and it was fun seeing him in both of his conflicting worlds. He fits comfortably in both, which is a nice change from seeing an Amish person so out of place in the English world. I really liked the chemistry between the two of them and it was realistic enough to understand how if affected Sam's final decision. I was also pleased with the conditions of his decision as it was realistic, again with small details that other books fail to mention. There are two other story lines that are taking place in addition to Winnie's and Sam's relationship. Jonathan is trying to find out who set fire to his barn and struggles with forgiving that person. It's understandable about his anger because his entire family could have been killed and the guilty party still won't fess up to the crime. Also taking place in the background is the upcoming wedding between Anna and Henry. I really liked seeing this even take place as it ties together the entire series and brings it around full circle. I really have enjoyed reading this series and I think it's one of the best Amish series that's out there currently. I'm going to be looking forward to the next series by Shelley when it comes out later this year.
Sammyjk More than 1 year ago
5 Stars From Sammy's Book Obsession MY THOUGHTS~ I was provided with a Review Copy/ARC for review. Author Lisa Helen Gray killed it with this book! It was her best yet as far as I'm concerned! I could "hang out" with Dante every day, for real! LOVE him! Love this book! In Forgiven, we got to see more of the couples and people from the previous books in this series and a whole lot more Dante! Can't go wrong there! The author did a great job of incorporating the other characters' stories in with Dante & Kelley's. Sometimes that makes a story line sort of messy and confusing, but not this one. The author did an amazing job of putting everything together seamlessly. Like I already said, the character were awesome! They were all well developed and some even had layers to them that we didn't fully grasp before this book. I feel like I've known these people all my life! That's good writing, folks! I'm completely happy with how this whole story and series was wrapped up. Kudos to author Lisa Helen Gray!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Story is 154 pgs. Book has 174 pgs (chapter starts, authors notes, etc. added.) 3rd in series. Good clean read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
CarolP More than 1 year ago
This book wrapped up the whole storyline of the series in a very nice way. It was interesting to learn about the Amish way of life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
harstan More than 1 year ago
The fire devastated the Lundy barn and injured Winnie Lundy when she tried to rescue trapped animals. Her brother Jonathan (see WANTED for his tale) saves her life. An ambulance takes the severely burned Winnie to the hospital, which is too far from her loved ones to visit her by carriage. Family friend Eli Miller accompanies her to the hospital. The marshal tells them cigarettes caused the inferno. Eli arranges for his English brother Samuel Miller, who left their Amish community for the university, to visit Winnie at the hospital so she has companionship while healing away from her family. Soon after he began seeing her, Winnie and Samuel fall in love, but though they believe in the Lord, their belief systems are different. While they seek a common faith, Jonathan cannot turn the other cheek like he knows he should forgive the transgressor and his wife Katie encourages him to do so; instead he obsesses over who smoked the cigarettes. Also Anna and Henry pray her mom will come around The third Sisters of the Heart inspirational Amish romance is a terrific tale with three subplots that tie together around the theme of forgiving the FORGIVEN for their sins. The cast is strong as an obstinate Jonathan cannot move past the fire with his sister so badly hurt; Samuel and Winnie need to forgive one another if they fail to find common ground; and Anna cannot move past her mom's rejection of her embracing love and faith in Amish country. Shelley Shepard Gray writes a strong inspiring tale as to err may be is human but to gracefully hug the forgiven is truly divine. Harriet Klausner