×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Forgotten Realms: Ascendancy of the Last (Lady Penitent #3)
     

Forgotten Realms: Ascendancy of the Last (Lady Penitent #3)

4.0 19
by Lisa Smedman
 

See All Formats & Editions

Is it the end for the Lady Penitent? Is it the end for Lolth?

Lolth has come out of hibernation with a plan that may seem too ambitious even for her, and to pull it off she'll need the help of a drow who's betrayed her at least once already—a drow she's transformed into the demonic Lady Penitent. The shocking conclusion to a trilogy that will change the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Forgotten Realms: Ascendancy of the Last (Lady Penitent #3) 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
brjunkie More than 1 year ago
Just as good and exciting to read as the six books of 'The War of the Spider Queen' saga. This trilogy is a delightful and fun read for all fans of the drow. Lisa Smedman gives us more of their hidden history, as the surface elves and drow continue to war amongst themselves. Once again the sava game takes a very interesting and unexpected turn that can lead to either deity winning. The escape of the oozes of Ghaunadaur and their attack on the Promenade is not the only threat the singing magic of Eilistraee's priestesses face. They find lies and deception from their most trusted high priestess. Can the love and power of a sister be enough to conquer the darkness of the Abyss? Q'arlynd utilizes his newly formed school of sorcery to fight the crippling threat of the Faerzress. As in the previous two books, he struggles with his faith and pledge to his patron goddess. Q'arlynd will be forced to make a choice, and through his choice we finally learn which of the Melarn siblings will be the traitor to Eilistraee. As the two goddess fight for control, there is a mirrored struggle within the drow elves and surface elves. Also, within the ranks of the Eilistraee priestess and lay worshippers, there is a division in the Nightshadows too now under the Masked Lady's new guise. The Crescent Blade continues to seek out the neck of a goddess at the hands of the one who can wield the magical sword. Will Q'arlynd finally discover what happened to his sister Hallistra? Through her own madness will she prove that Lolth no longer has any hold on her, as the Lady Penitent declares herself a demigod? The sava game can end in any way, in anyone's favor. Through strategies of intelligent deception, brilliant trickery, and cunningly forcing the eye away from weakness in order to destroy the opponent's most powerful piece, might be enough to guarantee victory, but not to end the game.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SteveTheDM More than 1 year ago
I really wanted to love this book. I've been a fan of Smedman's for a while now, and have generally enjoyed the books she's written. But Ascendancy of the Last just left me mostly confused throughout. I constantly felt like there were details that I must have missed, or stuff that I should have remembered from the prior volumes in this trilogy that had slipped my mind. There's no character development to speak of, and little in the way of evocative description of anything. It really feels like the book just hit point after point on the outline from the publisher contract. It never breathes on its own. Is there good here? Yes, despite all that I did sort of enjoy the novel. I like the world in which it's set, and I like the interplay of the various elements of the setting. I enjoy the lore and the communal world building that's inherent in the Forgotten Realms. And I'm glad to have gotten the end of the story (seeing as this is book 3 of a trilogy). 3 of 5 stars.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Skinnyfish More than 1 year ago
The best I've read in a while from forgotten realms.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dunkelzahn More than 1 year ago
this author has really captured the style and dramatics of the great Salvatore in this trilogy. I could not put the book down once I started to read, it was addictive from the beginning.
Raistlin725 More than 1 year ago
Converting an R.A. Salvatore fanatic is similar to converting a Priestess of Lolth, yet Lisa Smedman has done just that with the Lady Penitent series. Taking characters introduced in the war of the spider queen series and expanding on their tale in this set, she has struck gold.

Ascendancy of the last is a thrilling conclusion to the series. With every twist and turn the plot leaves you wondering how it will all finally pan out. The characters are like able and well written. The way Smedman includes suggestions and insinuates doubt into the story keeps you guessing. I actually didn't see the ending turning out the way it did. It was shocking, yet fitting and left me satisfied with the story arc as well as wanting to see more of the ramifications to the realms.

Definitely a must read for those of you who enjoy the Drow race.