×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Fortune's Son
     

Fortune's Son

4.0 9
by Emery Lee
 

See All Formats & Editions

She is the ultimate gamble...And he'll risk everything on a toss of the dice

Beautiful young widow Susannah, Lady Messingham, refuses to belong to any man again. Until she inadvertently draws handsome Lord Philip Drake into an exhilarating game of terrifying stakes and unimaginable rewards.

Philip is a seasoned gambler who knows all the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Fortune's Son 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
ifletty More than 1 year ago
I think it is important to first point this out Romantic Historical Fiction, is not a mistake, it is a deliberate choice to categorize a sub-genre of historical fiction. Historical Romance is much too broad a brush. Emery Lee is an author who writes historical fiction with an emphasis on romance. While her stories are relationship driven don’t be fooled by the covers, there is serious research and substantial scholarship behind her writing. Lee’s talent is how she takes you into the decadent, lush Georgian time period and can impart a wealth of information which is intelligently presented in her own unique style. She sweeps you into the England of George II. Fortune’s Son is a powerfully emotional love story set at the time when the Hanoverian King was anything but secure on his throne. With the absolute glut of Tudor’s reheated, I cannot tell how happy I am to find a book that is, a) not about the Tudors. b) A brilliantly executed work of historical fiction. Emery Lee’s Fortune’s Son, is part sequel and part prequel. Beginning and ending 1751. We find Phillip in a state of financial ruin... But how did he get there? How did Sukie and Phillip meet? How did they live their lives from 1739 to 1751? Get ready and enjoy the ride. This is a standalone novel but I recommend that you also read The Highest Stakes. While there is so much more I won’t go into here. I will say that I enjoyed Ms. Lees intelligent take on this historical period, the world of high stakes gambling, that was not just cards and dice, the English would wager on anything and everything and it was fascinating. I think that Ms. Lee has a rare gift and I am looking forward to reading her books for years to come
Anonymous 8 months ago
From beginning to end a Rollercoaster ride.
Jasmyn9 More than 1 year ago
This is one the most detailed historical fictions I have ever read. That is a good thing and and a bad thing. It's good because the story is really brought to life and the world Emery Lee creates is vibrant and alive. It's a bad thing because, since I don't know tons about the Georgian period, there were things I just didn't quite understand. It seemed like everyone had three, if not more, names and at times it was hard to keep track of them all. I really enjoyed watching Phillip maneuver his way through the gaming tables of England. I think I learned more about how to cheat at dice and cards in this book than anything else. Susannah, on the other hand, isn't quite as good at the game. But she wants to learn - and while Phillip teaches her they fall in love. Sound like a romance? While it has a lot of romantic elements - this is definitely not an historical romance. Lots of twists and turns that eventually take us back to the story in book one of the Georgian Gamesters. Very well rounded and well written. I hope to see more about this world soon.
arlenadean More than 1 year ago
By: Emery Lee Published By Sourcebooks Casablanca Age Recommended: Adult Reviewed By: Arlena Dean Rating: 5 Series: Georgian Gamesters #2 Review: "Fortune's Son" by Emery Lee was another one of this authors historical fiction romances. You will find this this novel is the 'follow up' to 'The Highest Stakes... and is the 'Georgian Gamesters #2. This is a wonderfully written story "about a tumultuous love with fighting for." "Fortune's Son" is one of those historical romances that will be hard to put down until the very end. You will find this novel very realistic with characters that are all well developed and captivating. As you read you will soon seen that love is the 'high stakes' game of life that is between the two main characters...Susannah and Philip. This author is able to presents to the reader such that you can 'see, hear, feel and even touch it all.' Be ready for some twist and turns that will be surprising. Get ready for a very enjoyable read that only this author can give to its reader.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Couldn't finish reading it.
authorEmeryLee More than 1 year ago
FORTUNE IS FICKLE...EVEN UNTO HER OWN Passion, drama and excitement fill the pages of my follow-up to THE HIGHEST STAKES. Set deep in the world of 18th century gaming, FORTUNE'S SON immerses the reader in a time and place where nothing is sacred and virtually anything might be wagered on the turn of a card, or a roll of the dice. Beginning with their first chance meeting over a Hazard table, and with motives known only to themselves, FORTUNE'S SON chronicles the tumultuous romantic journey between a young but seasoned gamester and a widowed courtier, who refuses to be the next Royal Mistress regardless of the cost. Experiencing the agonies and ecstasies of the gaming tables, Philip Drake and Lady Susannah Messingham precariously navigate their way in the high-stakes world of card sharps, courtesans, and the intriguers of Georgian England. As their tale of passion and drama plays out, they are led through hardship, heartbreak and loss before final culmination in redemption and enduring love. With romance, a bit of adventure, and the excitement of gaming coupled with a supporting cast of the wits, gamesters, sporting men, and roués of Georgian England, I promise great fun and a riveting read!
Humbee More than 1 year ago
If more historical fiction were written like this, I'd be reading more of it! Intelligent, elegant, and intimate in characterization, Emery Lee has delivered yet another exhilarating book in her historical fiction series, making a name for herself in the ranks of those who write the best historical novels in the business. Gambling, horse racing, poverty, prison and passion~ want more? "Fortune¿s Son" is rich in authentic Georgian detail that brings the settings and circumstances alive for a reader. Emery¿s story focuses on the gambling life of ne¿er-do-well and overreaching Philip, Earl of Hastings, and its secondary epic love story between Philip and Susannah, Lady Messingham is just as absorbing. Don¿t assume either of these storylines is told in the ordinary "fluffy" manner of some other historical fiction novels. Ms Lee has a gift for writing, absolutely, and she is scholarly. This sets her a notch above. Her characters are complex. I wonder if they are skeletons drawn from actual figures of Georgian England. Significantly, one thing I loved about her writing is that I forgot to care so much about the gowns and surroundings because I was so swept up in the richness of her characters and the action of her novel; and I can tell you that¿s highly unusual for me! I¿m nearly always engrossed in the interiors and fashions described in historical fiction; that's not to say Emery didn't salt her novel with them, just the same. It's just that she didn't need them to carry her book. Main Characters Philip Drake, Earl of Hastings ~ I loved his impetuous nature balanced by his passion for true friendship, love and humanity. A gorgeous man, earthy, but with a conscience. His gambling in all areas of his life was his downfall, but not always his ruin. Susannah, Lady Messingham ~ my favorite character. A strong woman who was widowed, abandoned by lovers, husband and fate. She was independent, determined and strong, but not cold and emotionless.Generous in spirit, she opened her home and heart to others. Saw the best side of Philip against all odds. Wicked Lords, Moneylenders, Bishops, Jailers, Whore-mongers, Tricksters and Card-thieves... these various characters were colorful in description and disguise! So interesting that I hope we see many of them in this series by Ms Lee. Why I recommend this book? Emery Lee is an emerging author/storyteller of intelligence and depth. She has character-building skills that engender a close relationship and emotional connection with her characters. That alone guarantees a fabulous read! She also has a strong plot to keep readers tied to those characters. I live for a well-written, well-researched book that draws me into the characters¿ psychology and emotions. That¿s great reading to me. In a historical novel, that¿s all we can ask for, along with period detail, which this book has in abundance. Recommended for those who love historical fiction with intelligence and a realistic love story. 5 race you to the moon stars
AAR More than 1 year ago
FORTUNE'S SON by Emery Lee is an exciting historical romance set in 1739 - 1751 Georgain England.It is the next installment to "HIGHEST STAKES" and is the story of Philip Drake and Susannah,Lady Messingham, who where secondary characters in the previous book,but played a very important in that story. "Fortune's Son" has romance,betrayal,love,high stakes,secrets,gambling,sacrifice,redemption,a bit of carelessness,forgiveness and a bit of sensuality.Philip,after years of gambling and infamy attempts respectability with his earldom, while he finds love,he finds himself in threat of debtor's prison. Susannah,a young widow,in need of funds,decides to enlist Philip's gambling skills to teach her how to win at the gambling tables. They find not only their hearts are involved,their freedom is also at risk. Philip,in "Highest Stakes" is not very nice,oh well,you must read "Highest Stakes" to realize his bad side. He struggles with self-serving,sacrifice in "Fortune's Son" he seeks redemption in the end. Susannah,refuses to ever belong to another man,falls prey to her heart. Together, Philip and Susannah learn love,sacrifice and that life is a roll of the dice.Immerce yourself into the world of Georgian England,gambling,love,with this pair of lovers as they struggle through twelve years of life. Another great read. A must read for any historical,romance,Georgain era and any one looking to be taken away into the world of early gambling vices and its aftermath.Received for review from the author and the publisher. Details can be found at Sourcebooks Casablance,an imprint of Sourcebooks,Inc. and My Book Addiction and More.
emerylee More than 1 year ago
Seasoned gambler Philip Drake knows every trick and uses most of them. After years of infamy, he's ready to accept the mantle of respectability with his earldom- until a devastating racing loss and the threat of debtors' prison force Philip right back into his gaming ways. Susannah, Lady Messingham, is a woman with a past who refuses to belong to any man again. But Philip's skill catches her eye and she persuades him to teach her how to win at the tables. Their new partnership turns into an exhilarating high-stakes game that entangles them in terrifying risk and unimaginable rewards. Immerse yourself in the risky side of Georgian England with a pair of lovers who aren't afraid to risk it all on a toss of the dice.