×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Foundling (Monster Blood Tattoo Series #1)
     

Foundling (Monster Blood Tattoo Series #1)

4.6 49
by D. M. Cornish
 

See All Formats & Editions

Set in the world of the Half-Continent-a land of tri-corner hats and flintlock pistols-the Monster Blood Tattoo trilogy is a world of predatory monsters, chemical potions and surgically altered people. Foundling begins the journey of Rossamund, a boy with a girl's name, who is just about to begin a dangerous life in the service of the Emperor. What starts as a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Foundling (Monster Blood Tattoo Series #1) 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 47 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
O.K. Simply amazing.....Couldn't put this book even when I tried!!! Read it in one day and this book has much quality. I'm gonna have to put it up there with the Maximum Ride series. Maybe its even better. I truly cannot wait for the next one to come out and for more of Rossamunds (accent on the u) quirky/grim adventures!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was truly a great surprise! The author does a magnificent job of creating the half continent, the characters, and the culture of his story. The story is full of vivid scenes, sights, sounds, smells, action, suspense, and horror. The half continent is unique creation with distinct new characteristics. Who are the real monsters?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book not only takes magic and monsters to a new lever, but also invites you into the civilization's classifications very close to our era...
clambakecat More than 1 year ago
This was a wonderful series and not to be missed. Its full of adventure, mystery and a hint of romance. I have read the entire series and would recommend this to anyone with a vibrant imagination. I love that it includes pictures of the various characters and beast. One of a kind!
BasilRose More than 1 year ago
The author has created a complete and immersive world full of detail and vivid characters. Definitely an accomplishment.
Bookish-to-a-Fault More than 1 year ago
This is a great read. It's very well written, and the characters are complex and intriguing. Occasionally, the made-up language can get confusing, but there's a detailed glossary and appendix (which I personally kept reffering to), and it doesnt detract from the story line. I'm looking forward to reading the next installment!
Newfound.Joye More than 1 year ago
Cornish created an exciting story that brings a completely fictional world to life. Including a history, geography and a language for Monster Blood Tattoo's first novel, Foundling was a brilliant foundation for a really thrilling read. Once the lingo of the book sinks in, the plot pulls you into the story and I believe you will have a hard time putting the book down. Considering this is a fantasy novel for young adults, the plot is fairly sophisticated. Foundling can be read with ease and the illustrations are not distracting-if anything, they are very well crafted. I suppose my only qualm is that it ends to quickly, but luckily there is already a sequel available.
Kuromi More than 1 year ago
Okay let's just start off by saying that I know not everyone will enjoy this book. I honestly can't get enough of it though. I've reread it about four maybe five times now and I still want to read it again. The characters are great and well developed, the storyling is engaging and suspensful and on top of it all the entirety of the book has words that you won't likely find anywhere, but the back of the book. My favorite part of this book is the unlikely friendship that springs up between Rossamund and Europe. It's my number 2 in my top ten books with the only book topping it being the sequel. I never expected a book to be this good. For the gamers that may read this it's basically the Katamari Damacy of the book world. You won't find another book as odd and as enjoyable anywhere else.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In spite of his first name, Rossamund Bookchild is a young male orphan living at Madam Opera's Estimable Marine Society for Foundling Boys and Girls. Rossamund, like all the children at this orphanage, is being trained to serve either in the Boschenberg Navy or some other government agency. --- A stranger with strange eyes hires Rossamund as a 'lamplighter' for the Emperor watching out for rogue men and monsters (see the 102 page Explicarium glossary for more details involving the role of a lamplighter). However, Rossamund fails to reach his destination when he is tricked into boarding the wrong vessel. This ship of doom leaves the lad in a strange realm where blood feuding is the norm as monsters and human are in constant mortal combat. Rossamund soon learns that when a human kills a monster, a 'monster-blood tattoo' is made from the deceased¿s blood and placed on the victor (see Explicarium for more details). However, the lost lamplighter knows survival on this strange Half Continent is all that matters until he can find passage back to his assignment that is if he still hasq the job. --- The young adult story line is excellent enhanced by wonderful drawings, but it is the appendices with the incredible glossary, the maps and the detailed pictures that make this opening fantasy thriller unique and extraordinary. Rossamund is a wonderful lead protagonist who the audience will admire as he struggles to survive the Half-Continent. Much of his escapades enable the reader to meet the locals, which in turn anchors the place. Readers of all ages will appreciate this superb refreshing tale and look forward to Rossamund¿s next Monster Blood Tattoo adventure (see LAMPLIGHTER). --- Harriet Klausner
Guest More than 1 year ago
i could not put this book down it was so good when does the next book come out
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is one of the better books I have ever read. The author does an amazing job creating a whole new World.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ooo…reminds me of Rick Yancey's monstrumologist series. This is a must-read for any dark fiction lover!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Julia Racicot More than 1 year ago
I love this series, i just finished the third book and i cant wait for the next one!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
James Bandy More than 1 year ago
Great series, a few twist along the way and it kept my attention.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago