×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

A Fountain Filled with Blood (Clare Fergusson/Russ Van Alstyne Series #2)
     

A Fountain Filled with Blood (Clare Fergusson/Russ Van Alstyne Series #2)

4.4 67
by Julia Spencer-Fleming
 

See All Formats & Editions

In In the Bleak Midwinter, Julia Spencer-Fleming's Malice Domestic–winning first mystery, Reverend Clare Fergusson was quickly introduced to a more eventful life than she had expected after moving to the small town of Millers Kill in upstate New York. But the Episcopal priest and former Army Air Force chopper pilot proved to her flockæ and to

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Fountain Filled with Blood (Clare Fergusson Series #2) 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 67 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a good second installment in a series featuring a reverend and police chief. The crimes being investigated in this case are a series of hate crimes. There is certainly a lot of action in the book. It was a good read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed but not as good as the previous book in series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
acorley84 More than 1 year ago
I don't know what it is about this series, but I don't have the desire to continue with the stories, but seem to have this incessant desire to read "just one more" to see what develops between the characters.  As was the same with the first story, I felt like it took way to long to get to the heart of the story. I think that once the story finally takes off, that it is good, but that's just not enough to make me love a story. It seems that the author really can write exciting events, but that seems to be it. It seems like she just has a hard time executing it all together.  As for the characters, I find myself dying to know what happens with them, even though I don't care for the innuendo's that are taking place. First of all, how strange is it that an Episcopal Priest is a female who is a former Army helicopter pilot that regularly drinks and drives a Shelby Mustand, but most importantly finds herself more openly attracted to a married man than she should? I myself, don't agree with infidelity, so it's hard to accept the budding relationship between Clair and Russ. I also just find Claire's character unbelievable. I don't have such a problem with Russ as Chief of Police and it's obvious that the attractions are mutual between Russ and Claire but just don't understand it, or my desire to see where it goes. After reading the first book in the series, I said I would read the second and then decide if I would continue from there! After reading this  one I immediately decided that I was not going to continue, however, after reading the description of the third book, I'm going to give this series one last chance!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good writing but the story dragged a bit.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LisasGeode More than 1 year ago
Joining Clare and Russ in Miller’s Kill is a reliable pleasure. This is the second of the series, but the fourth or so that I’ve read. Early on there are three assaults, all on men, all of whom are gay. This may or may not connect the attacks. One of those assaulted has professional connections with Russ, one, professional connections to Clare’s church functions, and one is a big player in the new development beginning in the area. The development may or may not have environmental implications. It has been cleared, but new allegations arise. Millers Kill being a small town, the incidents stand out and together. Personal tension between married Russ, the police chief, and single Clare, the Presbyterian priest, continue but at a lower degree than some of the other books. Their mutual appreciation remains steady in spite of a bump or two, and their interactions and relationship shine nicely throughout the book and series. Also shining nicely is how their different views of life and approaches to addressing the assaults counter one another in realistic ways. The secondary characters aren’t extremely deep, but fill the story well, particularly Russ’ feisty hippy-idealed mother. Like the other books in the series, this one is a good read and Spencer-Flemings’ treatment, pace and plot are in sure hands. I will be ready for another dose of Clare and Russ soon.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I iike the twists and turns and suspense. It is well written and a fast read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a multifaceted fun series.
teachNM More than 1 year ago
I love the characters and suspense!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LoveToReadJFE More than 1 year ago
This is without a doubt one of the greatest series I have ever read. Lots of mystery, suspense, and action occurring around characters that are so wonderfully developed you almost expect them to walk in the door any moment. A word of caution, though . . . this is a HIGHLY addictive series --- once you get started, you may find it difficult to stop until you've read all the books! This is a great series for book clubs and discussion groups. Suggest you start with the first book in the series, "In The Bleak Midwinter" and read all in order. You won't be disappointed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
1unicorn2many More than 1 year ago
Love the and loved the book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Book #2 doesn't disappoint! Love the developing relationship between the reverend and the police chief. Great mystery and characters. Looking forward to #3.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
knotdr More than 1 year ago
I live in the area the mysteries take place in so that drew me in but the interplay between Russ and Clare makes me keep coming back.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago