×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Four Corners of the Sky: A Novel
     

The Four Corners of the Sky: A Novel

3.5 1302
by Michael Malone
 

See All Formats & Editions

In small towns between the North Carolina Piedmont and the coast the best scenery is often in the sky. On flat sweeps of red clay and scrub pine the days move monotonously, safely, but above, in the blink of an eye, dangerous clouds can boil out of all four corners of the sky...The flat slow land starts to shiver and anything can happen.

In such a storm, on

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Four Corners of the Sky 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1302 reviews.
book_book More than 1 year ago
This was the first book by Malone I've read. And though I enjoyed his writing style and the general premise of this story, I thought it was, at times, too long winded and repetitive. There were plenty of plot twists, and some nice surprises, and the characters were offbeat -- mostly in a good way. The story flipped and flopped and meandered from past to present, but once I got the hang of Malone's writing, I was able to handle the zigs and zags in timeline. I do feel the book could have done with a solid edit before being published, but I liked it nonetheless.
grumpydan More than 1 year ago
My thoughts"Four Corners of the Sky" by Michael Malone is an ambitious novel about family dynamics and the bonds that hold them together. I wasn't sure what to expect when I started this novel but as I started reading this story I felt for Annie and wanted to know what her con artist father was up to. Why a father would leave his seven year old daughter with her aunt and not come back? What is so important about the plane residing in the family barn? Time goes by and Annie is a soon to be divorced naval pilot when her dad comes back into her life. Upset and confusion are two of the emotions that Annie feels. This is a book one has to read slowly to really understand the characters and where they are coming from and where they are heading. I approached the book this way and although there were some parts I thought dragged, overall it is a good read.
liseur More than 1 year ago
A rewriting of the Wizard of Oz for the 21st century, the novel tracks Annie P. Goode, a navy test pilot, as she tries to find her wizard con man father to discover the identity of her mother, good witch or bad? In the process her story covers the military history of America's 20th century empire. A great read--the meeting with the Tin Man is very, very sexy, and there is romance and intrigue to spare. Malone's sentences are some of the best in the language, so you can reread this book multiple times. Great for the beach and the armchair in winter both.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found The Four Corners of the Sky story engaging and easy to read from the start to finish. Michael Malone has created charming and realistic characters in this story. I really liked this book and have added Michael Malone to my list of favorite authors.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It's been too long since Michael Malone's last novel, even if FOUR CORNERS OF THE SKY makes it worth the wait. His beautiful writing, his interesting yet quirky characters, his real dialogue, and his wonderful storytelling make this a must read and a must keep for your personal libarary.
Praetor More than 1 year ago
A lot of flashbacks and repetition in this story of rather odd family dynamics. The detail put into the characters was perhaps overdone though the individual quirks and motivation made them believable. The story itself was unique and interesting but this is not an easy read with the way the author bounces between past and present. While much of the flashbacks tie back into the story, it was tedious at times. Ultimately, a good story with interesting characters. Could have used a bit more editing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Finally gave up. Slow read and repetitive. Kept waiting for the plot to develop then realized there was no plot. It just kept going on and on and on. Very seldom give up on a book but this one got deleted half way through. Maybe it got better in the second half but not worth slogging through the first half to get there. Not recommended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Plot somewhat clever, but character development tedious and cliched.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book came as a free selection so I read it. While I found the story interesting enough and fairly well written, it's, in my opinion, just a middle of the road story. I am glad it's not one I paid for because it's just not good enough to plunk money down for. I found this book overly wordy and if I wasn't already so invested in it I would have stopped reading after 300 pages. The ending was also extremely drawn out. Malone should of ended the book about 100 pages before he actually did.
Stueysmom More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this story very much. It was slow getting started but once it got going it kept my attention. Lots of plot twists and turns. Nicely tied up at the end. Very entertaining.
Love_My_Nook_Color More than 1 year ago
I like this book, but it is very slow going. I usually can read a book in a couple of days, but I just hit page 100 (out of over 400!) on this one! The imagery in this book is great, but a little repetitive. All around, I'd recommend this book.
salilee More than 1 year ago
This book would make a nice movie. A young girl abandoned by her father who passed along his obsession with flying at a time when women were not commonly pilots. Some events don't seem plausible, but good story overall
Alyson Willard More than 1 year ago
As a free friday book i wasnt expecting much but downloaded because i liked the cover. But was really happy with the book! The characters were great! The character development was superb(though alittle confusing going back and forth between past and present). I liked the quirkiness of everyone...made me want to be a part of their get togethers. I was surprised by the twists and turns the plot took which made the book all that much better! Would recommend to anyone who likes a little depth in their reading.
Breakfast_at_Tiffanys More than 1 year ago
Long, repetitive ....but a good story
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The heroine seemed to be flawless in every capacity. Her unfortunate early childhood and her criminal father contrasted with her success. There were very funny scenes that had me laughing out loud. It was a great book-a very touching story on dreams and family bonds.
Anonymous 4 months ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A story should as they say begin at the beginning and have an end. That is usually the difference between a novel and a mystery novel
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
katz27 More than 1 year ago
This book rambles on and it's not written well at all. It needed to be edited badly. I did not enjoy it, but am not one to quit a book once I start it. Plus, I was reading it for my book club. I will never read this author again, nor will I recommend this book. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago