×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Four: A Divergent Collection
     

Four: A Divergent Collection

4.5 200
by Veronica Roth
 

See All Formats & Editions

Complete your Divergent library with Four!

Fans of the Divergent trilogy by #1 New York Times bestselling author Veronica Roth will be thrilled by Four: A Divergent Collection, a companion volume that includes four pre-Divergent stories plus three additional scenes from Divergent, all told from Tobias's point of view. This collection

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Four: A Divergent Collection 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 200 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Why would all 4 books in this deal be $12.99, yet each separate book is $1.99? Youre saving $5 if you just buy each separately. It doesnt make any sense.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I totally agree with you on the money side. It is easier to get them seperatly, but either way, the book(s) are amazing. You are smart for seeing that, and I feel sorry for those who didn't see it and wasted five dollars.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved seeing the other side of the character. Great job!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
After the terrible work of art which is called Allegiant, I never thought to read something from Veronica Roth again. The highly anticipated last book in the once-fantastic Divergent trilogy ruined it in more aspects than I imagined. I didn't enjoy the film as much as I wanted to, I completely lost connection with the trilogy, etc. It's probably the number one reason why I didn't want to pick up this collecion of four novellas set before and during the events of Divergent. It all seemed a bridge too far and an obvious money maker. Despite all that, I did enjoy these short stories and would rather consider them as a satisfying 'conclusion' to this trilogy. Each novella is very short, with the entire book totaling about 300 pages. It was a breeze to read through in two sittings.   
ImaginaryReads More than 1 year ago
3.5 stars Four: A Divergent Collection is a good read for fans of Four. "The Transfer" follows Four from his last days in Abnegation to his early days of initiation, "The Initiate" continues his journey to becoming an official member of Dauntless, "The Son" shows his early days as a Dauntless member and his decision to teach initiates, and "The Traitor" gives us a glimpse into his life during Tris's period of initiation. There are also exclusive scenes at the back that show some more Divergent scenes from Four's perspective. It's total Four fan service packaged neatly into a book for our enjoyment. I think I love Four's character more than Tris's. He claims that he's not good at dealing with people, but he has this air about him that makes him a compelling character. Other than the fact that he's a totally hot guy and I love him (don't tell my boyfriend!), he's a rational and plans his actions more often than he lets his impulses take over. And his hardworking nature is a quality that I find very sexy in a guy. It's been a wonderful experience getting to see more sides to his character—from the "timid, not-sure-of-himself" boy that he was in Abnegation into the strong, driven Four that we know and love from Divergent. There's also this cute phase where he becomes interested in girls and tries to figure them out. Plus, seeing Four go through initiation training? That's hot stuff. Enough said. It does feel like Four: A Divergent Collection is more like a series of snapshots into Four's life before and after Tris enters his life than a collection of stories. While there is the shady business between Max and Jeanine linking the stories, it doesn't feel like there is a coherent plot to any of them. It was also disorienting to jump in time from one story to the next (mostly because I want to know what happens in between!!! >_<). Furthermore, as much as I enjoyed learning about Four, I don't feel like we really got to learn as much about his character as we could have. While we learn about some of his motivations, he had to tell me that. The stories don't quite capture his thoughts and feelings at some important moments. Essentially, what I'm saying is that this should have been a novel, but it's not. Because Four wasn't the right character for the story that Veronica Roth wanted to tell (as she mentions in the Introduction). So I should be, and am, very happy that this collection came out. Because, Four. As it is, however, it's missing a lot of qualities that made me fall in love with Divergent: the epic world building, vivid descriptions and actions, a compelling plot. This is a great supplement to the trilogy, but it's not strong enough to stand on its own. And that's why I'm giving it a 3-star rating. Okay, 3.5 stars because I really like Four and almost wish he was real and available.
Leafgirl70 More than 1 year ago
If your a fan of the Divergent Trilogy you will love this addition it really adds to Divergent includes 3 additional scenes between four and tris. Definitely added so much more depth to the character four. He is actually my favorite character. Being that you get his side of things in allegiant. this book rounds out the series filling you in on his background and part of his journey with tris during Divergent. So Def a must read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The hardback description (on Amazon) says it includes 3 additional scenes from Divergent in addition to the 4 short stories. Does anyone know if the Nook eBook also includes the three extra scenes? Why does the Nook eBook cost more than the hardback if you buy the collection?
Kriteek More than 1 year ago
I refuse to give Veronica Roth any more of my money. I was so disappointed with the ending in the third book that left Four alone and without hope that I don't want to know his point of view before or during the 3 books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Get each Four book individually, it will save your money. Only $8 something.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Being a huge fan of Divergent since it first came out, I was excited to read something from Tobias's (A.K.A Four) perspective. I was able to learn a lot about his personality and why he did certain things throughout the book. When I bought this, I payed $20 to meet Veronica Roth and have the book signed. During the interview she had that I was able to attend, I learned a lot about why she wrote this book and I was excited to start reading it. I wasn't expecting for it to make me feel sympathy for Tobias's actions in Aliegent, but the book made me like his character more. This is a MUST-READ for any hard-core Divergent fans or for anyone who just didn't understand Tobias.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think this is a great opportunity for people to get involved and entangled in the rip-rousing and mind-boggling plot  of Divergent once again. The story told in Four's perspective has enabled us to get a clear picture of what was really happening in the last three books. Another surprise was taking us back, during the times when Four himself was an initiative, giving us a chance to compare the feelings of both Tris and Four when they freshers. I was completely taken aback when I came to know of the arrival of this book and it surely was a jaw-dropper as the theories that I formed when reading the trilogy proved to be wrong as Four's thoughts are really unpredictable. I was just startled when I read the knife throwing scene. I had not even imagined that such a small scene could have been retold in such a beautiful manner. Roth again managed to surprise us.
TiffHaf More than 1 year ago
Don't get me wrong, this book was good. It gave me more of Four, which was good. It gave Four's perspective during some scenes in Divergent, instead of only knowing what Tris was going through or doing, we got to see what Four was doing and why he said the things he said in the book. However, I was expecting it to have more from his life previous to Divergent. There was a chapter of his life before he choose to be Dauntless, but it was only a short chapter and nothing much about his life. I really hoped it was give a better light onto why his father beat him and why they covered up his mother's leaving with her apparent death. All in all, it was good, to have a little more intel about Tobias, however, i wished we knew more about his life prior to the choosing ceremony.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
To cora it is about 4 idk how many chapters VERY WORTH IT
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think for writing this after the fact of the other ones it was pretty good. I think that it definitely could have been better considering that she originally wanted the Divergent Collection to be from Tobias's point of view. As I said though, for her writing this after all the other Divergent books and with assuming that everyone reading this has already read the other books there was a lot of things she did not have to include, but it made the book seem more like a rough draft than a story. Overall I was pleased, but I think that more could have been done here. Tobias's character could have been given more. 
Anonymous 6 months ago
Im obsessed withcthe divergen series but putimg it in Fours perspective was awesome i loved it!
Anonymous 8 months ago
Kiss ur hand three times and post this on three other books
Boundlessbookreviews 11 months ago
I loved the Divergent series, so I had to give this book a try. This is much shorter than the other books, but just as great. As the title gives away, this is the story told from Four’s point of view. If you read the series; you already know the story, but I highly recommend reading this too. It’s extremely entertaining and I loved getting to know Four better. I am pleased to learn there are five books from Four’s point of view; I’ve already purchased FOUR The Transfer, and can’t wait to start it. Four: A Divergent Story Collection (Divergent 0.1-0.4) is a strong 5 boundless star book....Beth 
Drewano More than 1 year ago
A nice little story which helps provide background on four as well as giving anther view of some of the events we see through Tris’ perspective in “Divergent”. If you’re a fan of the series this will be a nice addition to your knowledge.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
While this book has major scenes from the Divergent series to from a fifferent perspective, it really gives the reader nothing they didn't already know. It is just a huge waste of money on a quick buck marketing scheme. Don't bother. Stephanie Clanahan
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
There is a chat at july res1-2 Just search july and click on the first or second result.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was interesting to see the storyline/ plot to Tobias' character. We've learned a lot through Tris and rumors during the Divergent Trilogy but there was gaps that were left unsaid and this book filled them all. It also showed Tobias with more emotion and passion in the book rather than him being a expertly trained solider from Dauntless.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Being a huge fan of the Divergent Series I was ecstatic when I heard Veronica Roth, the author of these fabulous books, had written another book in connection with this series. The book Four is written from the prospective of the main male protagonist, Tobias Eaton, from Divergent. In the third book of the Divergent series Allegiant Roth included Tobias’s voice in the narration, this makes the writing style in “four” feel familiar. In this book Tobias tells his life story, starting from his early childhood years in abnegation to his first encounters with Tris in dauntless. Through his stories I learned details that were not given to me by Tris, who was the narrator of the Divergent books. I got to experience Tobias’s feelings towards his abusive father Marcus and feel his relief when he chooses to switch factions once he turned sixteen. I also learned how Tobias came to be known as “Four” and hear his thoughts on Tris from the moment she entered dauntless. I truly enjoyed reading this book and the new point of view it gave to me as a reader. Also, I thought the descriptive language that was used was perfect to help form mental pictures of what Tobias was experiencing at the time. However, I was rather disappointed that the book ended before the action I read about in Divergent actually began. I would have liked to hear Tobias’s thought through the rest of the material covered in the divergent books. Overall, I thought this was a well written book and I would definitely recommend it to readers that liked the divergent series and would like to know more about the life of Tobias Eaton.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved every bit of it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I lllllooooovvvvveeeee
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is awesome!!!!