×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

A Fraction of the Whole
     

A Fraction of the Whole

4.0 39
by Steve Toltz
 

See All Formats & Editions

Meet the Deans

“The fact is, the whole of Australia despises my father more than any other man, just as they adore my uncle more than any other man. I might as well set the story straight about both of them . . .”

Heroes or Criminals?
Crackpots or Visionaries?
Families or Enemies?

“. . . Anyway, you know how it is. Every

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Fraction of the Whole 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 37 reviews.
DC21 More than 1 year ago
A hilarious account of two brothers who both chose completely opposite ways to live, and saw completely different results from what they wanted. Incredibly fast-paced with tons of small stories that intertwine to create an extraordinary novel. Loved it
Readzer More than 1 year ago
This delightful, deranged family story made me laugh until I cried, read when I wanted to sleep, burn in the sun, not return phone calls, mourn the end when half-way through, relish my eccentricities, redefine madness and humanity, worship the author, question existence/reimagine suicide and cherish my misanthropy. Do I recommend it? Hell yes!
Sparks52 More than 1 year ago
A modern day epic journey following the story of a man from child hood up to adulthood and continues with some of his sons point of view. Philosophers of today, they today's society and try to always keep at arms length from it. One of my favorite books i recommend it to everyone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
very unique. it is poignant, funny, and full of wonderful life lessons.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book - glad it was so long and wished it was longer!   When is your next one coming out Steve??
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
tamesthetic More than 1 year ago
The writing is beautiful first person perspective. Intelligent but not overbearing or boastful. It feels so deeply personal, and sad in a funny way. The story is something we can all relate to: heartbreak, feelings of worthlessness, but he is so honest and innocent of the hilarity of it all, not at all lamenting; which is ironically why it's so funny. What do you call this-- a tragicomedy? The stories within the story are so genius and so simple. His prose is beautiful without being flashy. Simple profundity. The character's voice is almost monotonous, lacking excitability, jaded and almost cynical...aaallllmost. Which also makes it funnier. The story is awesome, yet it's not incredible. It's awesome in its lack of effort at trying to be awesome. I love that. While I felt sad for the character, I was laughing out loud constantly because the way he describes tragic moments is hilarious. Love this book. This is definitely my new favorite author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
jennerallyspeaking More than 1 year ago
About a month after reading this book, I realized it was one of my favorites of all time. It didn't hit me at first, but took time to resonate. There are few books that can really characterize a nation. Midnight's Children did it for India. 100 Years of Solitude did it for Colombia. A Fraction of the Whole does it for Australia. The book follows the life of Jasper and his father Martin Dean. This book is funny, philosophical, historical, and everything in between. My only complaint is that it could have used some editing. Some sections do not add to the story, and at 570 pages, it could have used some trimming.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago