×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Francona: The Red Sox Years
     

Francona: The Red Sox Years

4.3 50
by Terry Francona, Dan Shaughnessy
 

See All Formats & Editions


"This is the best book looking inside the mind of a big-league manager I have ever read, because Francona is sharp and loves the game, because Shaughnessy is eloquent and a dazzling storyteller."—Philadelphia Daily News

When Terry Francona took over as manager of the Boston Red Sox in 2004, the storied franchise hadn’t won a World

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Francona: The Red Sox Years 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 50 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed this book cover to cover. Lots of stories i had not heard. I was looking forward to reading this book and i was not disapointed.
MayaMA More than 1 year ago
Interesting that John Henry has shown up at spring training camp. And the the Sox let Ben Cherrington sign a bunch of solid but no name players this off season. I can only thing that they have taken this terrific baseball book to hear. If you love baseball regardless of who you root for, you will enjoy this look at what happens behind the scenes. Of course, I loved Terry when he was managing.
Kriksel-Fiksel More than 1 year ago
As a Red Sox fan living in the Philly area during Terry Francona's tenures with both the Phils and the Sox, I shared the optimism of both teams when they hired him. I admired the managing he did in both places, and never shared in the fans' souring on him in either place. This book vindicates my faith in the man. I have never been a fan of Dan Shaughnessy's negative outlook (his jinned-up "Curse of the Bambino" being just the best-known example), but he puts his bad attitude back in his pocket for this book and shows what kind of an engaging writer he can be when he isn't being an aselloch. I enjoyed this book a lot!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read! Informative, entertaining and a must have if you are a Red Sox fan. It gives you the chance to be a fly on the inside of a major league clubhouse and reveals the true personalities of players and management alike. Never a dull moment.  
arawd More than 1 year ago
recovering from major elbow surgery. hate the sox. hate them more now. a very good book about a very decent guy. i will be rooting for him. thouroughly enjoyed the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! Dan Shaughnessy did a fine job of writing about Francona's life and what it's like to be a baseball player and manager. Only a minor part of the book deals with Francona's departure from the Red Sox. Lots of amusing anecdotes about players -- I laughed out loud.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ChiefBro More than 1 year ago
This book was Terry-ific. If you have followed the Red Sox since 2007, then this is an awesome behind the scenes walk down memory lane. Coming from the Francona perspective only made the journey ten times better. He is a regular guy with real feelings and genuine love for the game... which all comes though in his book. It was a great read and I highly recommend it for all Sox fans. I will find my self keeping an eye on the Indians and wishing Terry nothing but the best.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As a die hard Yankee fan, I hate everything about the Red Sox. But this book made me a fan of their coach. Anybody who is a baseball fan... including yankee fans, should buy this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
littlestevie52 More than 1 year ago
Great read! Interesting insight into the workings of a MLB team. The "voice" of Terry Francona is very true and sincere. If this book was written to make "Tito" a sympathetic character, it succeeded. He was caught between demanding owners and selfish, overpaid players and even after all his success, he was "thrown under the bus." I'm not a big fan of Shaughnessy, he did a great job of writing this story. Overall, 5 stars! Loved it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago