×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Freaky Friday
     

Freaky Friday

4.5 25
by Mary Rodgers
 

See All Formats & Editions

Nobody in their right mind could possibly believe me, but it's true, really it is!

When I woke up this morning, I found I'd turned into my mother...I decided to take a look at myself in the bathrrom mirror. After all, you don't turn into your mother every day of the week; maybe I was imagining it - or dreaming. Well, I wasn't...

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Freaky Friday 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 25 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ravenrocks More than 1 year ago
I read this book after I watched the original movie and it was really bad. I was so bored with it I skimmed over several chapters. It is nothing like the movie. the movie is exciting with challenges for both of the characters. But the book really boring and the characters have no trouble getting into each others lives. And there are many parts when i don`t even know what is going on. Over all I would not wast my money on it!
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
I don't know about anyone else, but whenever I hear the words Freaky and Friday, I automatically think back to Lindsay Lohan and Jamie Lee Curtis circa 2003. But this is a different FREAKY FRIDAY, the original, the better of the two in my opinion (I know there was another movie version in the 70s, but I've not seen it in years, and don't remember much about it besides Jodie Foster). This is the story of Annabel and Ellen Andrews, and Annabel needing to learn her lesson. I will tell you now, don't expect the same exact story as the movie that you've probably seen at some point in your life; expect the same premise, but a better story. Annabel is the stereotypical 13-year-old girl: she's loud, bossy, and negative, hates her family and teachers, but loves her friends and annoying her brother. Annabel is a highly amusing narrator and she sees things like most kids do, i.e. better than adults give them credit for. Annabel wakes up as her mother, gets dressed, fixes breakfast, sends Ben, aka Ape Face, and Annabel off to school, and then goes through her day in her mother's body. Dealing with all kinds of issues throughout the day, from the neighbor boy saying he loves her, losing both the kids, the police thinking she's crazy, and her husband's unexpected clients as guests, she handles it well...at first. Not only does she have a wild ride, dealing with things her mother normally would have to deal with, she also has a school meeting to attend...about herself. She finds out things that she probably needed to hear, but things that hurt to hear, and that's where the lesson really starts to set in. The majority of the story is told from Annabel's perspective, while she is in her mother's body, and that actually helps the humor even more. Take this little gem for instance: "Well, in case you're interested, a mouthful of heart is something like a mouthful of captured frog, and a mind in turmoil simply means all the blood in your body rushes around in your head, leaving you icy cold from the neck down. As for 'butterflies in the stomach,' there is no such thing. They are June bugs." You'll have to read the book to find out the context here, but there are plenty more humorous moments between the 175 pages that make up this book. This is a quick read, but one I definitely recommend. It's funny and somewhat realistic, not in the whole switching bodies with your mother aspect, but in the way this family interacts with one another. I know that despite the length and the material that make up this adorable story, even I learned something about myself and I think everyone could take something away from this book, kids and parents alike. The whole 1972 copyright may throw some people off, but don't let it; it's a story that is still relevant today and probably will continue to be for as long as there are 13-year-old girls with mothers and little brothers especially.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the best book ever because it has such good detail and a good main idea. I mostly like it because it shows how Annabel gets along with her mom and brother and what a twist it is when they go to a Chinese restaurant since her mom is getting married. it was a rehearsal dinner. that is when after that night they got a good view of how each others day works. the person gave them fortune cookies and they read a weird fortune and after they read it they got inside each others head. But it changed their lives forever. They realized they both had really hard jobs and times.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by Ryan Arnel Mary Rogers, the author of Summer Switch, wrote another amazing book called Freaky Friday. This book was written in 1972. Mary Rogers has written Broadway musicals and other books. One of her plays was Once Upon a Mattress. She was also a contributing editor for the best-selling record and book Free to be You and Me. While reading Freaky Friday, one of the quotes I found interesting was, ¿And if I have my mother¿s hair, I probably have her face too.¿ This relates to the book because this is when Annabelle realizes she is in her mother¿s body. What will happen to her mom? Another question I have is, what will happen to Annabelle¿s brother¿s Ape face? A typical teenage girl named Annabelle gets in a fight with her mother. Annabelle says her life is very hard and her mother¿s life is so easy. The morning after the fight, her head feels weird. She feels her hair and it¿s her mother¿s. She walks into the bathroom and that¿s when it happens: Annabelle found out she turned into her mother. Annabelle is stubborn because she thinks her mother¿s life is easy. She is a troublemaker because she played hooky from school. Annabelle is also smart because she has the potential to. I thought at times this book could be unclear. If you are a kid looking for an easy and funny book, this is the book for you. If you read this book, you will be reading one Friday you will never forget.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I liked this book alot. It is the best! I like how the character thinks. It got kind of boring toward the end, but I liked it anyway. I SO recommend it!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Freaky Friday was an okay book, it was very different from the movie and from what I thought it would be, but I thoroughly enjoyed it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Mary Rodgers did an excellent, impressive job on this book! Had a great plot, and it was HYSTERICAL! i finished this book all in one night because it was soooo good! :) Great story, but Annabel did get pretty smart mouthy towards her mother and other people over authority. Just put your guard on that. anyhow, this is a great book and i LOVE it! terrific, terrific, terrific... I'd give it a million stars if I were allowed!
Guest More than 1 year ago
YOU HAVE GOT TO READ THIS BOOK IT IS THE BEST BOOK IT IS JUST LIKE THE FREAKY FRIDAY MOVIE!!!YOU SHOULD LOOK INTO IT ONE TIME AND READ IT!!!I LOVED IT WHEN I READ IT THE AUTHOR DID A SPECTACULAR JOB ON WRITING THIS BOOK AND THE SAME THING WITH THE AUTHOR!I LOVED THE PART(MOSTLY)WHEN THEY SWITCHED BODIES!!!!BECAUSE THAT WAS THE FUNNIEST PART OF THE WHOLE ENTIRE BOOK!!!YOU SHOULD READ THIS BOOK!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
this book was a awsome story to read i really enjoyed it i wish there could could me more books on it i think you should reade it if u like funny books
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book so much and it like the movie. I would give it so many stars because it was funny,cool, it had good muisc.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is the best!!!! Everything about it from the storyline to the type of writing to the movie! I recomend this book to anyone!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
totally awesome..... the book, the movie, but the songs in the movie was the best.... it lead me into learning electric guitar ..... wonder when freaky friday 2 is coming????
Guest More than 1 year ago
Okay, well ya c, the movie Freaky Firday is a blast. But the book, however cannot compare to the movie. If any of you want to know what Freaky Friday is about..watch the movie. (Lindsay Lohan rocks!) The reason the book isn't as great is because the narrator keeps on chattin' but otherwise it is pretty funny. It's alright to me.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It's the best and keeps you reading throughout the entire book! It also makes you laugh until your abs are sore ; )
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was great because Annabel does some pretty funny stuff while she's trying to act like the mom. I promise you: you will laugh a million times!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is similar to another one I just read titled 12 Again, only in this one the mother and daughter actually switch places. It's very fun. Hope the movie is as good. I love Jamie Lee Curtis!
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you want to read a book thet's super funny, go ahead... read this book. Come on! Don't be afraid. This book will tickle you're funny bone.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Out of all of the books I've read- this one sure tops oƒƒ the rest. Being a 70's classic, you'd think it'd be boring...well, you've got that wrong! It is very ƒull oƒ information and some of the emotions that Annabell goes through, are some that I go through every day!
Guest More than 1 year ago
It is one of the best books I have ever read and has a wonderful plot and great descriptions.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Everyone of all ages should read this book. It's exciting from the begining to the end, and gives some nice suprises.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Freaky Friday is a book in which a girl experiences her mothers life, by once turning into her mother's body. It is an interesting book for anyone in any age.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Freaky Friday is awesome book for anybody at any age. It is funny and extremely interesting! I would recommend it to anybod