×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Free to Be ... You and Me
  • Alternative view 1 of Free to Be ... You and Me
  • Alternative view 2 of Free to Be ... You and Me
     

Free to Be ... You and Me

3.8 21
by Marlo Thomas and Friends
 

This is the book we all know and love by Marlo Thomas and her friends—brought to new life with brand new illustrations to captivate and inspire a new generation of readers on a journey of the heart. Whether you are opening Free to Be . . . You and Me for the first time or the one hundredth time you will be engaged and transformed by this newly

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Free to Be ... You and Me 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 21 reviews.
Readingmom33 More than 1 year ago
I remember this book when I was much younger and I'm glad it's being released again. The message is as fresh as ever and very inspirational. Marlo Thomas, to my surprise, is a wonderful writier. Free to be whatever you want to be. Free to be yourself. Get the book and enjoy it's story. You won't regret it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
my sister gave this book to my daughters when it first came out. they really enjoyed it, but it somehow got lost during the last 30 years or so. i now have 4 great grandchildren, and i hope they will enjoy and benefit from the newest edition as much as my kids did from the original.
Eve92 More than 1 year ago
I own a paperback copy of this book from when I was young - I have shared it with my own kids who have enjoyed it greatly. The stories, the poetry, the dialogues between 2 characters written in letters or as a script....all entertaining and educational - this book was teaching tolerance before it was called "tolerance" in our world. The anniversary edition is lovely. I still like the original.
RLPatmore More than 1 year ago
Growing up we had(of course)this on a 78' record and we wore it out playing it over and over. I loved it then and hope to some day soon find the whole thing converted to cd form. I'd love to give this to my Nieces and Nephews and get them hooked. Thank You Marlo Thomas and Friends for refreshing a great memory for me.
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
I was a young child when FREE TO BE...YOU AND ME was first released. My elementary school even used songs from FREE TO BE...YOU AND ME for a spring concert. As I reviewed this book now, as an adult, I was still amazed that I could hum the tunes to the songs written as poems in the book.

FREE TO BE...YOU AND ME is one of those rare gems that have managed to stand the test of time. Updated with vibrant new illustrations, FREE TO BE...YOU AND ME takes controversial messages (imagine how controversial they would have been in the early 1970s!) and brushes off the impossibilities of what can be.

FREE TO BE...YOU AND ME emphasizes to children the endless possibilities that are available to them. The book encourages children of all ages to do what they want, and not be limited by what society expect of them.

Take the story of "Atalanta." The princess's father automatically expects her to marry the man he chooses for her. Atalanta wants nothing to do with that. She wants to be the creator of her own destiny. She compromises with her father that if she can run the race with the possible suitors, if she loses the race, she will do as he wishes. But ultimately, Atalanta holds her own fate in her hands by risking running the race against the suitors.

Or, there's "William's Doll." What father doesn't cringe at the thought of his son wanting to play with a doll? But this story shows that by allowing William to have the doll that he desires, he has gained the knowledge to be an awesome big brother.

These are just two of the wonderful parts of FREE TO BE...YOU AND ME. With poems, comics, songs, and amazing illustrations, parents will fall in love with the book again, and children will immediately make FREE TO BE...YOU AND ME one of those treasures to be read time and again.

And if you are a parent that doesn't remember this from your childhood, pick up a copy and read "Boy Meets Girl." There's no way you can forget the amusing tale of the babies that meet minutes after being born in the nursery!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As great as I remembered
Guest More than 1 year ago
great reading
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My daughter was given this book for her third birthday (over 30 years ago) and it was the best gift she could have received. She never let the fact that she was a "girl" hold her back and now she has a wonderful career as an ordained United Methodist minister and is a wonderful wife and mother. She always tells her youth that you can be whatever you want to be if you put your mind, heart, and soul to it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
We owned the CD first. My daughter liked some of the songs. She now likes the stories since the book comes with pictures. She can now understand the stories. She also sings the songs as we read through the book. The CD that comes with the book is nice to have but it's not the full version with all the songs and stories.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago