×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Freeze Frame
  • Alternative view 1 of Freeze Frame
  • Alternative view 2 of Freeze Frame
     

Freeze Frame

4.8 20
by Heidi Ayarbe
 

See All Formats & Editions

Kyle's best friend is dead.

Kyle pulled the trigger.

There's only one question he can't answer.

Why?

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Freeze Frame 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 19 reviews.
misstiki More than 1 year ago
With Freeze Frame Heidi Ayarbe hit a home run. This debut novel is well written and will grip you from the beginning to the end. The characters and situations are very real. What would you do if your world changed irrevocably from one second to the next? This is what Kyle must decide. I had read that Ayarbe used a movie director "approach" in her novel. This worried me because I am not a movie buff. However, the book was so well done that my lack of movie sophistication (or even interest) did not get in the way. I loved the book. I got sucked into Kyle's world and stayed up way to late to finish it. And, yes, I was moved to tears by the end. I look forward to her next novel.
madaven More than 1 year ago
Heidi Ayarbe's debut is haunting tale of forgiving oneself. With vivid characters and a gut-wrenching story, Freeze Frame is a book that will stayed with me long after a I read the final word.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
And now he wants to fight so im gonna g deal with that sorry about all of this
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read the sample and it was ok. I think I might try this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A great book, YOU would nit be able to put it down
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Its starts of somewhat confusing but be the end i loved it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you havn read this book you NEED to!! :) ;) :) ;) :) ;) LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is my all time favorite book. Nothing else Ive read has ever touched me as strong emotionally as Freeze Frame. The author frequently makes connections to directors and other works which I loved. I highly recommend this book. Anyone who reads it will get attached. The second I layed eyes on the first page I couldnt put it down. Id give it 500 stars if possible.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
shawn164 More than 1 year ago
freeze frame was one of the best books i have read.i really like this boook beacuse there is alway something going on with their lives. i would recomened this book to teenagers and some adults. i really liked this book and you might to. so read it!
breathingfortomorrow More than 1 year ago
i never thought i could cry so much reading a book. ive read the twilight saga and im not sure which one i like more. if parents want their kids to get into reading, hand them this, then read it yourself. this book is just to amazing for words. i cant even begin to explain, but im begging you to read this book! there is no possible way youll be disappointed!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"Freeze Frame" is a book that will stick in your head forever. The setting and characters blend into an unforgetable murder mystery. Kyle is a character who can make you wonder if the guilty murderers of the world are truly guilty at all, or if they are innocent. This is an amzing story that any teenager would like.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
TheVoice More than 1 year ago
i can't begin to describe the depth of this book. one minute it had me crying the next i would gain composure again, and then the next i'd be bawling. this pattern continued all the way to the end. it was so good, and gripping. I really became attached to Kyle and Jason. really portrays Kyles feelings well. and gives you a background of there friendship that only deepens your interest in amazing book.
i highly recommend this book.
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
No matter how hard he tries, Kyle just can't figure out that one scene that completes the movie he feels like he's in.

He has the beginning scenes. The first scene where Kyle and his best friend, Jason, are eating pancakes. As always, Jason uses up all of the syrup, making Kyle's dad go out and buy some more. After a little quarrel between the two, followed by an insult to his sister, Kyle and Jason run outside into the freezing cold. Not wanting to go back in, Kyle suggests the shed.

Once inside the shed everything goes blank - from here Kyle just cannot figure out the scene, the most important scene.

After the blackout, it's complete chaos - there's blood, calling 911, an ambulance, a trip to the hospital, and then off to a holding cell. Questioned, confused, Kyle just doesn't understand what has happened, or how it happened.

How he killed his best friend.

No matter how hard he tries, Kyle just cannot figure out the one scene that explains it all, the scene that decides whether he is innocent or not, the scene that ended with his best friend dead. Yet, if he can figure it all out, is it the end of the world for him, can he live with knowing the truth, or will it be too much for him to handle?

With brief interruptions of past events that Kyle and Jason shared, Heidi Ayarbe takes us on a breathtaking and thrilling journey of a boy trying to solve a mystery that leaves even the reader at the edge of their seats. Ayarbe creates a work of art using realistic thoughts and images that helps in developing a novel that will be gripped in the reader's hands until the very last page.

FREEZE FRAME is a great debut from a talented new author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A friend of my son gave him the book to read, they are 14-15. He passed it on to me and said "read it, please." I read it in one night, and the next morning my eyes were swollen from crying. He said "yeah...I teared up quite a bit too." I recommend this book to all teenagers and their parents, males and females alike. I really dont think anyone can come away from it without feeling the emotion that the writer wants you to experience. It also was enjoyable that the writer was a native to Carson City, our hometown, and the places she describes in her book about our town helps make a few scenes in the story that much more believable. Enjoy it!!! Have a box of tissues by your side!!!
Cool56 More than 1 year ago
I read this book in about three hours, and I recommend it to everyone :) It quickly became my favorite book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is now one of my favorite books because it is such a great read. These are my favorite type of books.Great for teens.You would love it!