×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Friction
     

Friction

4.3 28
by E. R. Frank
 

See All Formats & Editions

Simon is the coolest teacher anywhere. Forest Alternative is lucky to have him. When Stacy arrives -- a new kid with secrets, gleaming hair, and a tongue ring -- she sizes up Simon and agrees, adding: "He is a total babe."

True.

What Stacy says later about Alex and Simon after the class overnight camp out is not true, but looks as if it could be. Alex

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Friction 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 28 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book Friction by E.R Frank takes place in a private school called Forest Alternative. The main charecters are Simon, Alex, and Stacey. In this book we learn the effects of gossip in the life of a young adult. Stacey is a new girl at Forest Alternative who spreads rumors about the teacher Simon having an inapropriate realationship with one of his students. When Alex is aware of these rumors she turns to her parents for help on how to handle the situation. Unfortunatley her parents are busy with work and can not help Alex. In the end Simon's reputation is tarnished and Alex is left wondering if everything that happened was her fault. This 197 page book takes you on a journey through this young teens life and helps the reader understand the effects of gossip.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is a very good book. It's a book of what teens would go through today would recommend for high schoolers because this is book has teen scenes in it. Haha:)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
shelbymcdaniel More than 1 year ago
Know one likes the mean girls at school, yet there always seems to be one. You know the type, stuck up girls that think their better then everyone else. In Friction, by E.R. Frank, Stacy is the new mean girl at school. She spreads horrible lies that shakes the hole class up. Then Alex ,the victim of the lies, decides she has had enough. The story takes place in a not so normal middle school. The 8th graders still go to recess and the characters seem extremely elementary. The main characters Alex and her best friend Tim have the personalities of kids a lot younger then themselves. The author did a horrible job portraying the characters personalities. They were doing and saying things unusual for their age group, and I found it extremely odd and hard to read. Even though the characters were portrayed badly the idea of a student teacher love affair is what kept me wanting to read on. Friction is a moving and powerful story about forgiveness and it teaches an amazing lesson.I would recommend this book to middle school aged kids that enjoy drama filled books.Its defiantly not a most read book, but i can see a younger age group really enjoying this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
PSD More than 1 year ago
this book was really good because when i first stared reading this book i thought it was goign to have alot of drama in the story having a girl with a tounge ring then a teacher that people think is "A Babe" overall this book was amazing i read it in liek 2 day. i recoment this book to 14-up because it somethimg that tennagers hear.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Friction was a very interesting book to read. the fact that it had conflict after conflicts made you just sit down and read it until you were done. the ending could have been better thats for sure.
Guest More than 1 year ago
You read the first page & you hooked on the book forever. I read it for school. I didn't even want to know what it was about, I just took it off the shelf. Then I read the first page & it kept getting more & more exciting. Seriously, every page is a suprise that you will never see coming.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was amazing for me. In its mere 108 or so pages, the author managed to connect with my emotions. I read it in 4 hours at eleven at night staying up till three in the morning. I was crying towards the end many times as I reread sections, though I don't know why. I wish there was more so I could finally learn what happened to the main character and all these different relationships with people. An awesome teacher - student relationship, and the power of friendship, trust, the truth, and coming of age type of book. I feel as if Alex is now a part of me, and I hope for her the best. I thought this was an amazing book, and I say a MUST READ
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a great book, when i first started reading i got a little bored... but as i went on i got more and more interested. On the night i finished it I stayed up till 1'oclock in the morning crying. I was feeling how it must be to be in Alex's shoes. And how it was not only Stacy's falt for telling lies. I also found it interesting how the auther talks in the present. I recomend this book :':':'
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was horriable. It had no plot and just spews out random points that have nothing to do with the story. The the word chioce was poor at best. The characters are soooo guliable. It's like what ever Stacy says is the bible or something. The part I really hate is when Alex starts to believe the things Stacy makes up about her. I read this book in a co-ed group so everyones opinions could be diffrent but they wern't we all hated it. If you get a chance to read this book don't. Instead pick a better one that won't be a waste of your life.(Read a James Patterson book they're a ton better!)
Guest More than 1 year ago
The language that the author uses (in characterization or not)got annoying after about the 15th page. The plot wasnt all that great.
Guest More than 1 year ago
When I began to read this novel I thought to myself 'what in the world is going on?' Though the farther you get into the novel the better it becomes! This novel has many themes that many people can relate to love, family, friendship, trust, judging, teen sexuality, and child abuse. There are many more. All in all this was an amazing novel!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is a really good book that i thought to be extremely realistic! I enjoyed it and it takes less than a day to read... its that intresting!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Friction is one of my favorite books.i couldnt stop reading it.I think the books theme is 'dont judge people before you really get to know them ',thats because the whole book is based on judgment.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed reading the book Friction, when I first looked at the cover of the book I looked as if what am I getting ready to read. I elborated on whether I should read the book, so finally I did. After the anticipated time I really enjoyed reading the book. I felt like while I was reading the book I could tell what would probably happen next but I was very wrong. As I say again I enjoyed reading the book literally.
Guest More than 1 year ago
When i first picked up Friction in the library, i didn't think anything of it. But the more i read, the more i became entwined in it. Friction is the story of twelve-year old Alex, whose life at Forest Alternative is pretty normal. When a new girl, Stacey, becomes part of her class, everything turns upside down on Alex. Stacey starts spreading rumors about the possibility of their teacher, Simon, liking Alex. As more coincidences occur between Alex and Simon, Alex begins to suspect that he might indeed have feelings for her. all the while, Alex's friend since childhood Tim sits on the sideline and believing everything he sees and hears. The climax of the story is when after a freak accident happens and Stacey breaks her arm, she accuses Simon of molesting her in the principal's office while waiting on the ambulence. Alex and Tim then fight and make up. And, after seeing a movie, establish the possibility of a future relationship. All seems fine and normal, but the story still twists at the very end.
Guest More than 1 year ago
this books was so good.i was so angry at the girl (i 4got her name) that started all the rumors, and this book is a good lesson to teens and kids younger: that even though spreading rumors or talking gossip is fun, it can hurt lots of people and ur 2 blind 2 see it. I definitley reccomend, especially to teen 12 and up
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. It shows how cruel the world can be, but at the same time how wonderful it can be. Very good and inspireing book!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book has became one of my favorite books. This is an unforgettable novel I will never forget!
Guest More than 1 year ago
this was great alex is so cool i thought that it was going to be a book about eigth graders being immature and got it and it wasnt something that i would usually read but i gave it a chance and i loved it it is now one of my favirotes it was almost like reading a manga comic because it was so descriptive. you should really read this