×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Friday Night Alibi
     

Friday Night Alibi

4.2 34
by Cassie Mae
 
With her fresh, charming, and hilarious take on contemporary romance, Cassie Mae introduces readers to a soon-to-be college freshman who’s cashing in on her sweet reputation—and the unlikely guy who turns her life upside-down.
 
In the wealthy town of Sundale, Kelli Pinkins has hatched the perfect plan to capitalize on her sweet

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Friday Night Alibi 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 34 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
## This book is geared for a much younger audience than me. It was humorous for sure. The witty inner dialogue was cute as well. However, high school kids are a tad (ok, a little more than a tad) too young for me. Maybe a little too rich as well. Anyone who throws away $400 jeans because they had to hide under an air hockey table on a dirty floor for a few minutes, has way too much money. How about washing them? Anyway, it was ok but I won't be reading it again.
2kasmom More than 1 year ago
I could not believe... this book caught me by surprise.  I laughed, I cried.... and I was in total shocked that such a simple, step by step love story sucked me in.   Kelli is such a fun character.  She helps others hang on to their trust fund money by making herself available and giving up her own possible plans for Friday nights.     Chase meets her in such silly and unexpected circumstances.  She is out on a Friday night...and they click and clash.  He surprises her by being the guy who is continually saying and doing the unexpected.  The unusual.     The chemistry is strong.  They become frenemies.  Then, stronger friends and maybe something more?   What I loved about this book the most....was the slow burn.  The story builds.  The honesty becomes routine.  Kelli and Chase are meant to be together and with each page you feel the build and the uncertainty.  The end is soooooo worth it!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good writer,but dorky plot! Very teenage romance!
Gina04 More than 1 year ago
A sweet, funny, romantic and fun read. It had me laughing out loud at some of the things I read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cute fast read
nova66 More than 1 year ago
A very fine depiction of the coming of age of a feisty and clever young woman. Both funny and sad but well balanced.
ysar More than 1 year ago
Kelli's used to being the girl everyone says they're with when they're really out with someone else. She's the girl with the good reputation that keeps them from getting in trouble with their parents — and she's fine with that. After all, she's making plenty of money to just sit at home and not be seen while they're off doing whatever their parents wouldn't approve of. But then she meets Chase. Chase is obnoxious and funny and rather easy on the eyes. She knows he's older, but she's not sure how much. But he's the one person she can count on to always be around, even when she's not expecting him. From mercilessly teasing her to worrying about her when she's upset, he's quickly becoming someone she can call a friend. And he's not a bad kisser either. But... As much fun as this book is, Kelli's a bit to naive to really be believable. I mean, even the most sheltered girls aren't immune to crushes when they're eighteen years old. And while I have no trouble believing she's a good, church-going girl who hasn't had a boyfriend, it just seems so unlikely that a girl whose filthy-rich parents leave her alone constantly wouldn't find some kind of trouble. That's not to say I didn't like her, just that she remained more fictional to me than the characters I normally meet in books. The Verdict: After reading Switched, I was thrilled to get my hands on another book by Cassie Mae. That book made me so ridiculously happy that I just knew this one was going to blow me away. Granted, Friday Night Alibi was really sweet and often laugh-out-loud funny, but it didn't quite rank up there where Switched did. At least not with me. Though I should probably know better than to go into any book with such uncommonly high hopes. But once I sort of separate the two, I can better judge this one. Friday Night Alibi is a really sweet, very romantic, rather innocent look at first love. While Chase has been through something absolutely heartbreaking, the story doesn't lean heavily on angst. It's more a look at a true friendship that develops into something more between two characters who weren't necessarily looking for a relationship. It's also entirely appropriate for younger teens who probably shouldn't be reading about sexual awakenings the way most teen romances tend to play things out. Kelli and Chase are so sweet together, all while being utterly hilarious, and while it deals with some family issues, it stays away from some of the grittier content I've read lately. If you're looking for a feel-good book that doesn't cross any adults-only lines, here it is.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Pretty dull. But good ethics
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Walks in
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
221pgs. Enjoyed the story and the humor. I would recommend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
***4 Stars*** What a cute clean read for a 16+ year old (some major kissing & some young adult language) I liked the book & was a good break from Alpha males for a day!! The ending was ok, but I wanted more. **200+ pages**
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really liked reading it. A great book for young n old about love without smutt..
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Shanrock19 More than 1 year ago
I love it! Quick, funny, warm hearted read. Loved all the characters. You could feel their hearts in their actions, even if certain characters tried to hide it. The characters were funny and that helps make Friday Night Alibi a really cute book. I'd call this book PG-13, it was wholesome, in a good way. I highly recommend it! If you need a quick, cute read definitely read Friday Night Alibi by Cassie Mae!
celticmaggie More than 1 year ago
Well, this is one plot l I never, ever would have come up with. It's been awhile since I was in High School. This was really crazy! Kelli had one amazing imagination. It's hard with only one friend and working with people who don't care about you and even parents who blow you off. Then she meets Chase. He plays and teases her and she has this way of pranking him back. They get close and she refuses to admit that she really cares for him. You have to read this book to see how everything works out.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed this YA book and would recommend. Keeps you reading and hard to put down.
Hazel_G More than 1 year ago
Quirky and Fun! A Sweet and Enjoyable YA Romance for Everyone! Friday Night Alibi is a YA Contemporary Romance written by Cassie Mae. The Review: I really enjoyed Friday Night Alibi. It was a light romance that was incredibly sweet, often hilarious and simply charming. The characters were interesting and their antics left me in stitches or grinning well after the scene was over. The story was well written, endearing and made me nostalgic. I wish it could have gone on for another hundred pages! Characters/Story... The town of Sundale and its affluent members of the community hold themselves and those they associate with in upscale company. Those that aren't of the same caliber are hardly acknowledged other than to fuel town gossip. So if the younger generation of Sundale find romance outside their circle, trust funds are threatened and the social ladder is questioned as a parent holds the family money over their heads to guide them in their foreseen direction. Kelli Pinkins has just finished high school and is preparing for college. She doesn't have a lot of friends, mostly because she's shut herself off emotionally from others. Though wealthy and privileged, she decided long ago that solitude, being a good girl and never committing to relationships was better than rejection. But realizing a necessity within her group of peers and still having the desire to be needed, even wanted, she comes up with a solution. To provide a service that will make her unique.. and needed among others. She'll be everyone's Friday Night Alibi. Kelli was a complicated character. I liked her adaptability and her shy confidence. Her story was enduring and a bit sad but she was also a bit overbearing and unreasonable at times. It however, didn't take away from her overall likability. She was fun and had her own distinct personality. She was challenging, gave as good as she got and tough. But she was lonely and that shone through in everything she did. She spent her Friday nights hiding away in her bedroom while being an alibi for other people to go out and actually live their lives. She thinks she's ok with this because at least this way, she can stay emotionally cut off yet still feel needed. Quote Spotlight... Friday nights are usually spent locked in my room playing online video games, headset and all. Don't call me a nerd or a loser or anything, because while I'm exploding fictional heads off and trash talking to strangers, keep in mind I got paid two hundred bucks tonight to do exactly this. So I'm blowing raspberries at anyone who judges me. One night, while on a rare night out, she bumps into Chase, who immediately gets on her bad side with his corny pickup lines and cocky attitude. She instantly rebuffs he's flirtiness and sticks in him her "ignore at all costs" column. Chase Moroney is arrogant and brash. He comes on like a swaggering wise guy, but its all an act. He's carrying around a painful past that he's trying to overcome. He wears all black and likes to be alone but there's something about Kelli that pulls him out of the shadows and into the light. The moment he sees her, he knows she's something special and he has to get to know her. The only problem? He botched their first meeting and now she wants nothing to do with him. But he's not one to give up easily and soon, sparks fly and challenges are set! Quote Spotlight... "No one knows me." ... "...You know how to fight dirty and know how to have fun, but you're afraid to. You worry too much about being perfect. You wish you had friends. You wish you weren't invisible to your parents. You want to be needed. You like feeling needed. Which is why you're the alibi, because it allows you to fill the emptiness."... "You're stubborn. You're frustrating. You're challenging."..."You're beautiful. You're fun. You're... everything." I loved Chase. He was a beautiful person, inside and out and he never gives up on Kelli. These two challenge each other and they like to play pranks on one another. Silly, laugh out loud pranks that kept me laughing so hard, I just had to keep reading, even well past my bedtime. Whenever these two are in a scene together, you know something wild and crazy is about to happen. I loved watching these two come together and when we finally learn Chase's secret, my heart completely broke. The Wrap Up: I won't forget these characters any time soon. They nestled their way into my heart and left me feeling content and exhilarated all at the same time. This is my first book by this author but it absolutely won't be my last. If her other books are anything like this one, I'm in for a real treat! Note: I received this ARC in exchange for an honest review by Random House Publishing Group - Flirt through NetGalley.
BookFanatic132 More than 1 year ago
The premise of this story interested me. It had been something I hadn’t heard before. A girl who people hire to be their alibi so they do whatever else they want—things that aren’t necessarily “Sundale approved.”—like go out on a date with a girl that the ‘rents wouldn’t approve of. Kelli lives in Sundale, a generally small community of rich people where things have to be approved by their parents and if the things they do or the people they date aren’t “Sundale approved,” they might lose their trust funds. Since most of the people we meet in this story are super-rich who live off their trust funds, they can’t lose it. That’s where Kelli comes in. People buy packets of Friday Night Alibis, and they memorize what they did, pay her, and then bam! Families are happy, they are happy. Everybody wins. Sort of. Until, of course, Kelli meets someone who makes her want to actually go do actual things on Friday nights. And that’s where Chase comes in. Chase isn’t like other guys—though Kelli tries to treat him like them. But Chase keeps breaking through the walls that Kelli didn’t even know she had, and when Kelli realizes it, she has a hard choice to make. Kelli has built walls around herself to keep herself from getting close to people. Her parents don’t care, and that’s affected her in more ways than one. To stop herself from going through that pain again, she doesn’t let herself get close to people. And she doesn’t even realize it. Chase has a background that I sort of saw coming. There were hints here and there but not much else, so when Chase revealed it I wasn’t so surprised, but it was still sad to hear his story. But Chase is sweet and he is patient—and he truly loves Kelli’s company, even after the many pranks they’ve pulled on each other. Kelli and Chase fit together so perfectly, that sometimes I wondered if this book is a bit too cheesy in that aspect. There are points where Chase just knows what to do—like when making out, he just happens to pretty much read her mind and knows what she wants—that it was a bit unbelievable. I mean, Chase hasn’t kissed more than three women and all of a sudden he’s a kissing expert? No, thank you. It was fun to read their relationship grow and develop into a serious relationship (though Kelli might deny it at first) and the ending was a very sweet and happy one. When Kelli finally realized what was more important—her security and being “safe” or being truly happy and with someone she deeply cares about—I felt like it was about time! Poor Chase! This book was a cute, light read with a slightly predictable ending that will leave you with a smile on your face. There were quirks—like the oranges!—and there were parts that were cute to read about. I recommend this book if you want something light and happy that has a guaranteed happy ending.