×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Friends Like Us
     

Friends Like Us

3.8 43
by Lauren Fox
 

See All Formats & Editions

With her critically acclaimed debut novel, Still Life with Husband, Lauren Fox established herself as a wise and achingly funny chronicler of domestic life and was hailed as “a delightful new voice in American fiction, a voice that instantly recalls the wry, knowing prose of Lorrie Moore” (Michiko Kakutani, The New York Times). Fox’s

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Friends Like Us 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 43 reviews.
j-nic More than 1 year ago
I think Lauren Fox got bored with her own story and couldn't bother with trying to be witty any longer and just walked away. She came up with some line to end it even though there clearly could have been another chapter. It was cute but unfinished and that's just obnoxious. I hope she comes up with a sequel that explains what happens to them and sends it to us for free to make up being lazy with this one. If she doesn't, I will.
cindijan More than 1 year ago
This was a good book but I felt like it left you hanging. I thought there was more story to tell. Maybe there will be a sequel. I liked it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kept me laughing (and apologizing for doing so outloud) the entire time. Really enjoyed all the hysterical commentary and kept me guessing until the very end. Buy it. Love it. Reread it. Promise.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was a fast and easy read. Not a bad way to pass time. I recommend it if you are looking for something to read on the go and not necessarily looking for something to sit down and really sink your teeth into.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is very difficult to read this book because it is too detailed. It's like the author was so interested in all the tiny details she could cram into every sentence that she lost the plot. I don't need to read about bits of lettuce stuck in teeth or how sweaty and pimply everyone is. That is just unpleasant. I got bored halfway through the book and gave up. It's too bad because the beginning was very promising. The book needed a ton of editing that it did not get.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is very well written and witty. It's one of those books that you don't want to end. I highly recommend it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really witty writing, funny, kept me wanting more. I couldn't put this book down. I'm buying Lauren Fox's first novel next. I laughed at the little inside jokes from the characters, but it is also a tearjerker. A must-read. Loved it! :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not my typical style of book at all. Trying to expand my library & this was this month's choice for our book club. I have to say that i didnt enjoy this one at all honestly. Its never taken me this long to read a book EVER (3 weeks). It was totally boring to me, had a confusing beginning & worse ending. Definitely not comparable to a James Patterson best seller!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best band ever!!!!!!!!! ChillerKiller411
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
~blackwolf
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
cherry
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
jennifer_jane More than 1 year ago
The language is phenomenal, the characters are very well-developed, and it's a very insightful novel, though bittersweet. Friends Like Us had three main messages that touched my heart: friendships are precious and fragile, relationships are fleeting, and everyday decisions can impact ones life. Prepare to have your heart ripped out of your chest.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bianca--Why do you need us vamps its so early in rp its 9:00 AM in rl here its 8:46 PM. Sarah--Um okay, slaughter queen. Helping others rocks. Bianca--Oh please. You have as much rock and cool in you as a barf bag. Remember that time with the ba- Sarah--Dont! That blood felt so good three hours before the bumpy plane ride. *swallows hard* O negative? If I didnt know that was coming, the floor would be hideous and the taste in my mouth...
TiffanyHawk More than 1 year ago
This is a very deeply felt novel, far from the typical love triangle story where a perfect girl is in love with her evil friend’s perfect boyfriend. Fox achieves a very delicate balance in which each of her characters is well drawn and sympathetic, though none without fault. I especially appreciated that the friendships between the characters were at least as important, if not more so, than the romantic element. I thoroughly enjoyed Friends Like Us.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a teacher and don't often find time to read for fun except in the summer. And when I get the time and choose a book I want it to be something that will take me away from my current life. This book does that and it is a very quick and easy read.
SarahtheShopper More than 1 year ago
I purchased this book because of all the great reviews and while it wasn't bad, it definitely wasn't great. If I could give this 3 1/2 stars, I would. The characters were well developed and the plot was pretty good but I didn't care for the ending.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago