×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Froi of the Exiles (Lumatere Chronicles Series)
  • Alternative view 1 of Froi of the Exiles (Lumatere Chronicles Series)
  • Alternative view 2 of Froi of the Exiles (Lumatere Chronicles Series)
     

Froi of the Exiles (Lumatere Chronicles Series)

4.7 27
by Melina Marchetta
 

See All Formats & Editions

From master storyteller Melina Marchetta comes an exhilarating new fantasy springing from her celebrated epic, Finnikin of the Rock.

Three years after the curse on Lumatere was lifted, Froi has found his home . . . or so he believes. Fiercely loyal to the Queen and Finnikin, Froi has been taken roughly and lovingly in hand by the Guard sworn to protect

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Froi of the Exiles: The Lumatere Chronicles 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 27 reviews.
bookittyblog More than 1 year ago
Once again Melina Marchetta blew my mind away. When I heard that she was going to write the second book in the Lumatere Chronicles with Froi as the main character I was I little surprised. Froi wasn't a very likable character in Finnickin of the Rock until the last part of the book. But if someone can take a character from zero to hero is Marchetta. And Froi is my new favorite hero. I was fascinated with all her new characters. My favorite was Quintana. She was just WOW. Everything about her was beautifully insane. I'm talking inner beauty because Marchetta lets us know that Quintana is not that pretty. Another awesome thing about Froi of the Exiles is that it has different points of view, including several people from Lumatere. So while I knew what was going on in Charyn with Froi, I got a glimpse of what was going on in Lumatere. Everything about Froi of the Exiles was amazing including the ending.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
:)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SmalltownSR More than 1 year ago
I could not put it down.  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
RozetteKR More than 1 year ago
Absolutely loved this book. Melina Marchetta has written it so well, tying in so many complex plot threads and making each character individual and unique. It is a young abult book, but it reads like an adult, which not only makes it enjoyable for any age, but also leaves the reader feeling respected and not like they are being told what is happening- they are experiencing it right along with the characters. Highly recomended!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I recommend it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is deep and meaningful, just as was Finnikin of the Rock. It delves into the darker aspects of a desperate society, aspects that a lesser author would gracefully avoid. The book is exceptionally written and filled with unexpected twists. I loved it, and cannot wait for the next in the series. This novel has earned my highest reccomendation. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A well written story..will keep you entertained
BeerandeyeBG More than 1 year ago
What a fantastic extension of the first book in the series. There is so much character development and such an interesting plot. Very different from most other YA books. I absolutely recomment this series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
supernaturalover More than 1 year ago
Melina Marchetta is an Excellent story teller. It took me a week to read this book because I kept going over the same lines. It made me laugh, it made me cry, it made me smile alot. Her books just keep getting better.
bookchelle More than 1 year ago
Melina Marchetta is one of my top 5 favorite authors. If it weren’t for a few nostalgia/growing up loyalty reasons, she would probably be my favorite author. With Froi of the Exiles, the follow-up story to Finnikin of the Rock, I saw the depth of emotion and turmoil that Marchetta brought me to. I saw more of her talent that I never knew existed. And, above all else, I learned more about a world that I desperately wish existed. I won’t write much about the details of Froi of the Exiles. I won’t write any specifics to spoil anything just in case you haven’t read Finnikin of the Rock or any other Marchetta story. And if you haven’t yet, please fix this immediately. You will not be disappointed at all. Trust me. Froi wasn’t someone who I immediately connected with, in Finnikin of the Rock. I was hesitant to accept him as a part of a cast that I was already so in love with. But Froi surprised me so much in this book. He matured into this young man with intense personal thought and deep emotional feelings. I respected his actions, and through them I understood who he is and who he will become to be. Froi was a great hero. He really showed me perseverance and determination, all while struggling with his on emotions and conscience. I love him. The characterization is superb. There are very few who develop and nurture characters as well as Marchetta does. I was perplexed with how Marchetta managed to reveal plots like layers of onions. Each word wasn’t written without purpose and meaning, and it was all flawlessly done in a cohesive way. Marchetta brought these characters to darkness. I know that the theme of Finnikin was a little dark also, but with Froi of the Exiles, she really brought out the evil and creepy. Lumatere and its neighboring lands are more than just words on a page. For me, Marchetta did more than just develop these places for the imagination. Instead, she created a world to be lived in. Each place, each tree, and each ounce of air was a part of an amazing imaginary experience. It was realistic and memorable, making a mark in my imaginary world map. How can I not love Charyn? It has its own magic and appeal, and with the time spent there, it erased all of my preconceived notions and took away all the pain that I felt from Finnikin. Froi of the Exiles is written in a third person perspective, and it was perfect for the story. Marchetta tells the tale through the eyes of each character so seamlessly that I almost didn’t notice the switch. There is an exciting thrill factor that I anticipated with each passing sentence. This fantasy structured story wowed me. I love the writing. It’s like her words are like friends, telling you a familiar tale that has been told before. Marchetta is a literary genius. When I read one of her stories, they really last in your memories. I’ve had Froi on my mind for a week now, and I don’t think this is going away any time soon. I’ve read Finnikin several times now, and I’m sure that will be the same for Froi of the Exiles. I highly urge you to read Froi, Finnikin, and the Lumatere Chronicles. You really won’t regret it.
bethorne More than 1 year ago
Fantastic. No one writes like Marchetta.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a great read. Even better then the first book. I could not put it down and had read the entire book within a day. After reading it so fast i wished that i hadnt because it was so amazing. Cannot wait for the next book in the series. This is a must read!!!!