×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

From a Buick 8
     

From a Buick 8

3.6 182
by Stephen King
 

See All Formats & Editions

WANT TO GO FOR A RIDE...?

In a secret shed behind the barracks of the Pennsylvania State Police, Troop D, there's a cherry Buick Roadmaster no one has touched in years -- because there's more power under the hood than anyone can handle....

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

From a Buick 8 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 182 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am a classic King fan, but 'From a Buick 8' seems to signal the end of the creative road for King. In his early days, King frequently over developed his characters, but this worked for him because they were backed up by interesting plots. 'From a Buick 8' is 99% character development, 1% plot. Like the car, the book goes nowhere, and chides you along the way for being impatient. If you are persistent and manage to wade through this one, there is no payoff at the end. The book, like the car, simply falls apart and left me wishing that the author of the Stand and IT were here to cart this wreck off to the shredder.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the 2nd book by SK that's disappointed me. His early work rated 5 everytime. I keep looking for the quality he once gave his readers. I hope he'll slow down and give us great 'characterization' as he did in his early work.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Yet another book by Stephen King which fails to disappoint. It's not his usual northern New England setting, but it's the same high quality thrill. The story of this other-worldly car pulled me right in, and I just wanted more! A great read. Coincidentally, I traded in my own Buick the same day I finished this book. I will never cease to be entertained by the timing.
brjunkie More than 1 year ago
This book makes reference to The Dark Tower series. I hated this book. It was booorrriiinnngggg! The ONLY reason I finished reading it was because it was a gift, and I felt guilty if I didn't. In a secret shed behind the barracks of the Pennsylvania State Police, Troop D, there's a cherry Buick Roadmaster no one has touched in years -- because there's more power under the hood than anyone can handle...
Guest More than 1 year ago
who said 'Oil's fine!' This book needed to identify the original driver of the Buick. I always wonder about that creepy guy. Did I miss something, or was he not explained? The story was ok, very descriptive, made me picture everything in my mind. But it never went anywhere. It could have, but it never did.
Anonymous 10 months ago
As always king delivered
Cuanam More than 1 year ago
Where to begin, where to begin... I found a spelling error lol, yeap an actually spelling error. I won't lie, it distracted me like a mofo.. Had this error been in an indie book, it wouldn't have, but this is far far from an indie book. Mr. King, please inform your editor that "rubed" is not a word... From the way the sentence is written and a sentence on the next page, I believe the editor was looking for the word "rubbed", a small error, but an error nonetheless. It was the only spelling error I found..  As to the story itself, It's not horrible, but it's not great either. It's JUST interesting enough to make the reader keep turning pages to see what happens next; however, most of it is just honestly mundane. Like Hearts in Atlantis, and The Green Mile, From A Buick 8 has that normalcy feel to it. A far cry from the heart-stopping horror most people who know King's work are used to seeing. There's just enough strangeness going on to make it interesting, but not enough to say "That book is one of his best ever!" Frankly, it's not.  I do like the mystery surrounding the Buick, and I love the way the characters are developed and distinct. Some even have their own dialect tossed in which makes them even more believable. As usual, all the good stuff comes within the last 50 pages of the book... And it didn't last very long. There are a lot of emotions in the book, even if it's not something you'd expect from King. There's moments when the reader will want to scream in frustration, and even moments that will have the reader reaching for a tissue. While it's not one of Kings' greatest works, the story is still told well and will still pull the strings it was meant to. I give this book 3 of 5 paws
November-Owl More than 1 year ago
The novel has a definite Lovecraft nuance. The storyline is packed with bizarre occurrences that might or might not have to do with the car. You just don't know until you get to the end. In some ways the book is disappointing, but in other ways, the book is refreshing. In my opinion, the book is about how humanity seeks to connect the random occurrences to heart-wrenching tragedies as a means to make sense of the pain of loss. It's not King's best work, but it is well worth the time to read.
Doctor_Tox More than 1 year ago
Probably the dullest book King has written. I'll give the plot away - nothing happens. You keep hoping something will occur, but you will be disappointed. If you like King you have many books to choose from; you can skip this one and be better off.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
bravewarrior More than 1 year ago
CD/Fiction: I wanted to write a review because I saw so many negative reviews. I listened to the audio and I really liked it. Yes, it can be slow at spots, but it is good storytelling and that makes up for a lot. The characters have a story to tell and things aren't always what the seem. All the narrators did a great job. Coincidence: Bruce Davidson is narrating and mentions the Beatle's song "With a Little Help From My Friends", WHICH was the reason why the movie "The Lathe of Heaven" (starring Bruce Davidson) was vaulted for 20 years! I was lucky enough to see the movie several times on PBS back in the 1980s.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is my favorite book. My family laughs at me when i say this because i am a lifelong avid reader with many books under my belt. But this is the most engaging, creepiest & funniest book in my personal library. It won't change your life. But you will be entertained.
SRTigger More than 1 year ago
Stephen King is the best writer. I will never tire of his books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book just keeps drawing you in
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Veryvery very very very very very very very good and well-written!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
queencCM More than 1 year ago
I love Steven King's books and this one did not disappoint. lots of twists.
V3ryBlackCh3rry More than 1 year ago
Pretty good. Not superb. But good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read this book years ago and it is still one of my King faves. They were going to make a movie but it looks like they never did...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a big King fan, but was skeptical of this book for some reason. I was very happy with the book and recommend it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book from start to finish; it is spellbinding!