×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler
     

From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler

4.2 408
by E. L. Konigsburg
 

See All Formats & Editions

When suburban Claudia Kincaid decides to run away, she knows she doesn't just want to run from somewhere, she wants to run to somewhere -- to a place that is comfortable, beautiful, and, preferably, elegant. She chooses the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York City. Knowing that her younger brother Jamie has money and thus can help her with a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 408 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love the book From the Mixed up Files of Mrs. Basil E Frankweiler by E.L. Konigsburg. It¿s about Claudia and Jamie, the main characters who run away from home because they think they are having too many injustices. They run away to the Metropolitan Museum of Art. They run away with only $24 to live on. They sleep in dusty old beds and hide in the restrooms for many hours a day. They always have excuses why they were caught by the guard. But one time while Jamie was hiding in the men¿s room and he heard the water running. He thought that it was just another visitor but it was a janitor who was wondering why Jamie was there. Jamie, the second youngest can take on any challenge like hiding his things in historical figures. Claudia the oldest of four kids is very intelligent. She is the one who comes up with the plans for everyday, like how many hours to hide in the bathrooms and how many hours they get to sleep so they won¿t get caught by the night guard and how much they should spend on the two meals they get a day. I love this book because it is an exciting adventure about Claudia and Jamie. I haven¿t finished the book yet but I can¿t wait to read the adventure that awaits. It also makes me want to really go and visit the Metropolitan Museum of art in New York. And like I said I highly suggest it.
Kaitlyn Conroy More than 1 year ago
This is the best book I eever read. It is a excellent mystery book. It is good for grades 3 to 7. I hope this helps.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
For those of us who are looking for a lagitament review on this book... here goes: This book is a wonderful summer read for when you just want to keep buisy. It is an easy read but still uses great vocabulary and has hidden themes. Adults and students alike will enjoy this book.
Leslie Witterschein More than 1 year ago
Its been one of my favorite books since i was in third grade. I am now in eighth and i still love it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book so diffrent and suspenseful
Kayley Holtom More than 1 year ago
Some people have noted that this book would not be good for a child under eleven. I just wanted to say that im thirteen and this book is still on my bookshelf. Granted, its not the ABSOLUTE best book ever written, but its defenitly one of best. I love the timelessness f it and it makes you feel like thisis a real story. So i would defenitly recremennd this book to anyone :) :3
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
U R a tru genius Konigsburg!!!!! Cant wait to read more of your books! A must read for every reader ;0)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is one of the best books i have ever read in my life!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
THIS BOOK IS AMAZING IT HAS MYSTERY AND ADVENTURE I HAD TO READ FOR SCHOOL I I FELL IN LOVE WITH THE BOOK
Snickerdoodle More than 1 year ago
The book From the Mixed up Files of Mrs. Bail E. Frankweiler, by E. L. Konigsburg, is a great book because it is funny and gives good detail about the adventures of Claudia and James Kincaid. Claudia loves secrets and Jamie loves challenges. Claudia felt injustice at her home, so she decided to run away. She chose her brother, "Jamie", to run away with her because he had a lot of money. They decided to stay at the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York City. They learned something everyday. When they saw a sculpture called Angel, they were so interested in it because its sculptor was unknown. The two children actually found a clue to whom really made Angel. They sent an anonymous letter to the museum owners to tell them about the clue, but, sadly, the Metropolitan Museum of Art already knew. Claudia and Jamie were so interested in the clue that they actually went to the house of the person who auctioned Angel to the museum. They found out everything at the house: (1) if the work was designed by Michelangelo, (2) if the work was designed, but not done by Michelangelo, or (3) if Michelangelo did not have anything to do with the sculpture at all. In the end, Claudia and Jamie came back home with a story to tell and secrets NOT to be told.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutley LOVE this book. It is really well written. It is appropriate for ages 9-14 probably.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Its awesome
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So interesting!!!!!!!
Susan_in_AZ More than 1 year ago
Okay, a thirteen-year-old who has been forced to read this book will not like it. That's a given. I read this many moons ago when I was eleven and loved it. Still remember it clearly, even. Once one is a Grandmother who clearly remembers a book so many years later... well, you get my drift. Luckily, the lack of personal technology is what makes this story so great. If your kid is totally tuned into his or her devices, she/he may not appreciate what it means to be a runaway with little money and no technology. If the child is curious about such an existence, then it may work. Nevertheless, this is terrific literature wrapped up in a compelling plot.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read this book in third grade and now in sixth grade i still love i it . .! Its amazing . .!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best books i have ever read
Pamela Stasolla More than 1 year ago
Read this book for accelerated reading and thought it was awesome.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this in about third grade and I still can remeber so many details, I recommend this book for all ages and I'm hoping you decide to read it. It has many great plot twists and it keeps you on your toes 24/7. I personally made so many connections with this book and I'm about to read it again, maybe it will be even better the second time!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book! E.L Konigsburg is so thought out, it's awesome! I can't stop reading it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Did this really happen? This is so exiting and intresting! I've read it at least 4 times and I'm not even tierd of it!! So cool! Love it! Out of this world!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read that book when i was 6. I understood all of it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought this book was great my mom & i read it in bed every night.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the best book ever!! I dont my language arts teacher likes this type of genre/style of books but she read it and she said that she loves and recommends it to a lot of people.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Me and my 5th grade class read this book we loved it! Cannot wait to see the movie
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Gret book