×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Front Porch Prophet
     

Front Porch Prophet

4.0 1323
by Raymond L Atkins
 

See All Formats & Editions


What do a trigger-happy bootlegger with pancreatic cancer, an alcoholic helicopter pilot who is afraid to fly, and a dead guy with his feet in a camp stove have in common? What are the similarities between a fire department that cannot put out fires, a policeman who has a historic cabin fall on him from out of the sky, and an entire family dedicated to a variety

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Front Porch Prophet 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1323 reviews.
Ragu More than 1 year ago
One of those rare books which is able to turn what should be depressing into hilarious beauty. I'm glad I took a chance on this book; you may be happy you took the same chance.
sjnichols More than 1 year ago
This book is very well written and a delightful surprise. It is funny, sad, and insightful. I really enjoyed reading it!
TrixieRed More than 1 year ago
It's okay, but not my style. Choppy conversation and sad premise. A little over 200 pages, so a quick read. I appreciate Free Fridays...I've liked a lot of the books, and I like the fact that they try for some variety from week to week. I just go to the shop and get free books that are more my type.
GoCats More than 1 year ago
If you have ever lived in the South or in a small town you will appreciate this book. The characters are so finely drawn most readers will be able to recognize at least one person. The word "character" is applicable to many in the cast of unique personalities. From the bumbling small town sheriff to the high school football coach, a former Chicago Bear, the book is filled with everyday people with their everyday foibles. The humor is both obvious and subtle, the personal struggles are all too heart-rending. A collage of Southern humanity that is well worth the read. I could not put it down and will be looking at the author's other works. The book deals with adult problems and situations, so if you enjoy life, you will enjoy this. This would make a good bookclub read as there are many areas for discussion.
jeanninew2 More than 1 year ago
Really well written. Very enjoyable
nose_in_a_bookSC More than 1 year ago
I downloaded this book on Free Friday for my Nook. What a delight! Raymond Atkins' descriptions were so funny I laughed all the way through the book. It was bitter-sweet, but a delightful summer read. I am looking forward to reading more books by Atkins.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I only picked it up this morning and already on page 120... I kept reading it until my nook died. Great, Easy, Fun read!!!! So interesting the pages fly by and you don't even realize it.
SandyX More than 1 year ago
Thank God that I don't pay attention to book reviews written by literary idiots!!! This book is NOT a waste of time to read. It's a great book with hilarious small town insights. I highly recommend The Font Porch Prophet to anyone that ever lived in a small town - one where everyone knows whose check is good and whose wife isn't.
Lola Portillo More than 1 year ago
Wished that it would not end. Beautifully written. Funny and poignant. In the line of 'Tis and Ida's boy. Well worth the read. Thank you. Want more of this caliber of books.
Michael Finnegan More than 1 year ago
A well crafted story about life & death told with a sense of humor. I am looking forward to reading more from the author.
the_curious_reader More than 1 year ago
Thank you, Free Friday, for 'The Front Porch Prophet" by Raymond Atkins. A little southern exposure never hurt anyone, and this quirky novel entertains and provides food for thought. As the preview pointed out, it is much like the popular Evening Shade TV series of yore, but with a lot more bite since the censors aren't involved. This book is for readers of both genders looking for a slice of life and friendship from a southern male point of view served with humor and feeling. Perhaps the mixed readers' reviews are due to a lack of romance for female readers on the one hand and the dominance of feeling over action for the males. It suited me just fine, and I recommend it.
Heather Jones More than 1 year ago
This is a great book, I couldn't put it down. Reminds me of my southern upbringing. The author absolutely captures the true craziness of a small southern town and the strange relationships that all that closeness breeds.
Petty McCloud More than 1 year ago
Loved this book, cannot believe it was free..grab it while you can!
halhal More than 1 year ago
I wish the whiners would quit complaining about the book choice and actually start to read the book and review what they've read. Of course B&N won't offer a John Grisham novel as a free one (or at least not very often). It's appropriate they choose the lesser known authors of quality that they think will be interesting. I've only gotten about half way through chapter three so far, but I find it an intriguing read. It is well written and some very nice humor. The plot and how it flows is interesting. So far it reads like a nice home spun story with tangents and ramblings that explain background of the plot without losing the whole point -- he gets around to explaining things nicely. I do recommend this book.
ReadingNanaDH More than 1 year ago
couldn't put this book down! very well written but down to earth. loved the characters and laughed and cried right along with em!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well told tale of life and had parts that made me laugh out loud.
CMCRachel More than 1 year ago
My husband gave the nook to me for Mothers Day. I am 35 and haven't read a book in my life except for the required books in school. Since getting the NC, I have read 5 books and I have to say, I read this one and actually enjoyed it! Of course, I live in Chattanooga and was excited to see it mentioned in the book several times. Thanks for the FREE Book B&N!
dogloverdb More than 1 year ago
good folksy read about a disfunctional friendship. Quick entertaining read, will not disappoint
Mary Higgs More than 1 year ago
For those of you who made judgements without reading the book--you can't judge a book by it's cover!!!!! A MUST READ!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved this book. The writing style is comfortable, the characters are believable and endearing. It is a sad, yet hilarious story all at the same time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This deeply felt novel has universal appeal and deserves a wide readership. It's funny and moving, light and serious, populated with memorable characters, unusual situations, and poignant, real relationships. I found it engaging from beginning to end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I completely, thoroughly, wholeheartedly loved this book. I finished reading it and immediately wanted to shoot off an email to Mr. Atkins to thank him for writing it. I've never felt the urge to do that before. The book is just a little treasure trove of love, respect, and caring. It made me laugh out loud and tear up more than a few times. The dialogue is funny and, in my mind, realistic. I can only say that I just adore this book. I will reread it many times, I'm sure, in the years to come. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.
Dacov More than 1 year ago
This book is great. One short story after another traveling through the life of one very likable guy. I really enjoyed Raymond's writing style. I'll be looking for another of his books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really enjoyed this book - humorous, touching, engaging. What a delight!
Mike Reeves More than 1 year ago
Kind of reminded me of a Southern "Newhart". The characters were crafted well and I thought the adventures A.J. and Eugene got themselves into were great! I received my nook for Fathers Day and this was my first free Friday book- I thoroughly enjoyed it!