×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Frost Burned (Mercy Thompson Series #7)
     

Frost Burned (Mercy Thompson Series #7)

4.6 428
by Patricia Briggs
 

See All Formats & Editions

Patricia Briggs “has reached perfection”* in this #1 New York Times bestseller, as Mercy Thompson faces a shapeshifter’s biggest fear...
 
Mercy’s life has undergone a seismic change. Becoming the mate of Alpha werewolf Adam Hauptman has made her a stepmother to his daughter Jesse, a relationship that

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Frost Burned 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 428 reviews.
Book_Monster_Reviews More than 1 year ago
This is the seventh book in the Mercedes Thompson series and to be honest, I was a little hesitant to start it. Mainly because I didn't enjoy River Marked as much as the rest and I was scared that the series was starting to lose that special something that hooked me in book 1 and made me fall in love with this world that Patricia created. Thankfully my fears were unfounded and Patricia Briggs has proved to me why she deserves to be on my auto-buy author list. Mercy is not your typical heroine, she's not as bad-ass as most yet she's not a feminine girly girl either, she's somewhere in-between. A mechanic by trade and a Walker by birth, with the ability to shapeshift into a Coyote. The extent of her powers is, as yet, unknown although being raised by werewolves has given her an edge and insight that has helped her a lot. Throughout the series we have watched Mercy face seemingly insurmountable odds only for her to come out battered, bruised and occasionally bloody but on top. She has grow as a character and we finally saw her marry and settle down but with Mercy's luck you know it's not going to be as simple as living happily ever after. While on a shopping trip with her step-daughter her husband and their pack are kidnapped, on the run desperate to hunt down those who will do her family harm while protecting those who remain, the odds are once again firmly stacked against her. Trusting in allies old and new Mercy must stay strong if she wants to save those she loves. What follows had me on the edge of my seat,my nails are a mess and I could swear my heart almost stopped at one point. It was an action packed journey that once again enthralled me from start to finish and I can't wait to see where the journey takes us next.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read this in practically one sitting! I've been a fan of the Mercy Thompson series and Patricia Briggs since the very first installment, Moon Called.  What I love the best about this book is not just the suspense, the action, or the excellent and smart writing. It's the characters. I laugh and cry with them.  I feel their pain and triumphs both. Mercy never knows how to stay out of trouble, and I love her for that! The only thing I would point out is that this story felt longer than the previous ones. I'm not complaining on that front. I want more from Briggs. Please hurry with the next installment!
Rnjenny19JA More than 1 year ago
Absolutely love Mercy...she is so much fun and kicks total butt!!!
BooksWithBite More than 1 year ago
Alright, after waiting for a long time for this book, I must say that it lived up to every one of my expectations. I loved that in this book the reader gets more of Adam and of course, more of minor characters. A few points I must list: Asil is involved. Not one, but TWO chapters in Adam's pov Mercy being stronger than ever Vampire's Overall, this book rocked. I really loved that Asil played a bigger role. When he showed up on the scene, I couldn't help but let excitement fill every part of me. Cris-crossing worlds with different characters definitively gave this book a unique twist. Mercy and Adam's relationship is blooming beautifully. Mercy is still her good ole self and well Adam, just gets pulled along for the ride. They have cute flirty moments as well as dangerous, rash ones. But one things that remains constant is their love and loyalty to each other. And that folks, it the icing on the cake. More involvement with the vampires brings more craziness to the story. I really like the way the plot played out with politics. I think Ms. Briggs brings a powerful stance when it comes to putting more depth in the plot than what the reader sees. In the end, I'm a very happy camper who is Very excited to read the next book. I can not wait to see what crazy adventure Mercy brings me next. Until then, I will wallow in the high that I have been given when reading this story. Frost Burned is a sensational piece of storytelling that I can never get over. Generating a mixture of romance and adventure, Frost Burned is delightful.
P_in_SolomonsMD More than 1 year ago
Patricia Briggs brings that magical suspension of disbelief to all of her tales told, and this addition to the Mercy Thompson series  is no exception.  Urban in the real sense, the world of Mercy Thompson is filled with everyday traffic jams, shopping malls deliciously mixed with wierwolves, vampires and the strangest fey imaginable smack in the middle of it.  Do yourself a favor and pick this book up...you'll find it very hard to put down, even for dinner!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love the Mercy Thompson series, and I have been enjoying the book a ton so far. I pre-ordered the nook version ages ago, and have been anticipating the March 5th release. However- I am having serious challenges actually getting any reading done, since the nook version is still unavailable on the online reader, iphone app and nook itself!!! What gives B&N?!! FAIL!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Still reading this book too! Great I like fallen angel by genie ems a bit more though xo
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love Patricia Briggs. Every novel I've read of hers has been well written and able to more than keep my interest. I felt that this book was rushed and too short. Good read, not worth $13 on the nook
VampyreLvr More than 1 year ago
As always Patricia Briggs does it again! I love these books and these characters!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love love love these books!!!! She will keep you on the edge of your seat unil the end of the book!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As always Ms Briggs you never fail to amaze
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of my most favorite authors and this book doesn't disappoint. The main character is tough without being overbearing and unlikable, the male characters are overprotective but they also don't get in the way. And the stories themselves are normally pretty creative. This book was no exception. In fact in this one the main character seems to stand on her own two feet even more than normal. That being said the story is a little slower than it normally is, and its not quite up to the standards of the others in the series. That being said the bar is set pretty high for this series so saying that this isn't quite as good as some of the others doesn't mean that this isn't a good book.
KnitKicky More than 1 year ago
This book revolves around a larger range of characters than the last book, and is enjoyable for that reason as many of the supporting characters in this series are interesting. Good plotting and action. A recommended read if you enjoy this series; if you are new to the series this can be a stand-alone book but you will miss some of the backstory.
caterpilar More than 1 year ago
I read all of her books and have never been disappointed! Has lots of action to keep you going and the romance, but leaves some things for your imagination so it is suitable for teens and adult. This may be the end of the series, but I hope not because I would really like to see a baby from Mercy and Adam.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another wonderful addition to the Mercy Thompson series!! I was very excited to see a certain very old/lovable if slightly insane wolf from the Alpha and Omega series!
kdb More than 1 year ago
Patricia Briggs is always a fast fun read! She has great, well developed characters,and her stories are captivating!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love this series
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In a word...fantastic.
LilyElementBookReviews 6 days ago
Frost Burned is book 7 in the Mercy Thompson series. I've been binge reading/listening to this series via audiobooks since last year and have to say the audiobooks make it very easy to marathon the series! This time around Mercy is dealing with the pack being abducted and she'll stop at nothing to get them back. We start off with Mercy, our coyote shifter Black Friday shopping with Jesse (her mate Adam's daughter) when they get into a car accident. Dealing with that is enough to shake a person but she quickly realizes that something is wrong with Adam and the pack and goes into investigation mode. After saving a mate of a pack member, Mercy stashes Jesse somewhere safe and goes full speed ahead. We get to see Mercy, Ben (one of the members of the pack) and a few others in action. I really enjoyed seeing Mercy not teaming up with the same people this time around. With most of the pack missing, she's forced to deal with some characters we don't really get to see very much and I was glad that they took a bigger role. This installment is full of action and we're learning more about not everyone being happy that werewolves exist. That doesn't seem to be all though, and it looks like not just the werewolves are having issues arise. Frost Burned was an action packed novel that left me intrigued to see where the series will go next. We learned a tiny bit more about Mercy's powers, and I'm hoping we continue to find out more soon. I've had a few issues with one or two of the previous books, but was glad to see this installment was better for me. I can't wait to see what happens in the next book. If you're a fan of Urban Fantasy with werewolves, vampires, and fae you'll love this series.
Anonymous 21 days ago
One of the best in this series! I am a huge fan of Mercy and all things Coyote! Never fails to entertain! Great read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love this series &it was worth the wait
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Taking place during the holiday season, Mercy starts out with spending some quality time with her step daughter. What starts with a semingly normal mishap somehow becomes vastly complicated when Mercy senses that the pack is in trouble, and she will do nearly anything to get them out of it. Mercy grows a bit more during this book and we see more of her Coyote dynamic take place and see how it expands and fills her role within the Columbia Basin Pack. All in all, this book is fun, and Briggs manages to keep the pace and even maintain a sense of urgency throughout the story! While keeping her characters grounded. Either way if you like a good dose if urban-fantasy with werewolves, vampires, and the fae then this is a book for you!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have enjoyed reading this series. Have recommended these for every age