×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Frost
     

Frost

4.2 13
by Wendy Delsol
 

See All Formats & Editions

In this sequel to STORK, Katla Leblanc has to employ her grit, spirit, and special gifts to rescue the boy she loves. After the drama of finding out that she's a Stork, a member of an ancient and mystical order of women, and that her boyfriend, Jack, is a descendent of the Winter People able to control the weather, Katla Leblanc is delighted when all signs point to a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Frost 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the second book in the Stork series and I liked it as much as the first. This time around you get to go to Iceland and learn a little bit about the culture. Kat the main characters Grandpa grew up there and he takes her to a yearly festival in the town. There she gets her fortune read and must go on a Journey to save her boyfriend and potentially the world after she finds out dangerous information.
Truly_Bookish More than 1 year ago
Stork was such a cool book. Katla, the main character, was a spunky girl who was struggling in a fish out of water situation after moving from stylish California to cold Minnesota. The book was a really fun read and I loved the Norse mythology, not something that find a lot of in YA. Additionally, the romance between Kat and Jack is so sweet! Frost is an equally fun read. Portions of the story - the main storyline featuring Jack, Kat and Brigid - is based on Hans Christian Anderson's The Snow Queen and had wonderful fairytale-like quality to it. The story takes place in Minnesota, Iceland and Greenland and I love Ms. Delsol's vivid descriptions of Icelandic folklore. Frost has a lot more going on than Stork did and at times, I wondered how the author was going to pull all the sub-plots together, but she does so very nicely in the end. I love Kat's voice. Even though she still a bit snarky, she is also more mature in this book. As with many second books in a series, Jack and Kat's relationship is tested and we don't get to see them together as much as I would like. I also wanted more of the Stork Society and I hope we will see more of the Storks in the next book in the series. I'm really hoping there will be another book because while Frost does not end with a cliffhanger, it does a great job of setting up some storylines that I hoping will get resolved in the next book. Frost has a very satisfying ending and I recommend this series to anyone looking for something fun and different from the usual YA offerings of vamps, faeries, wolves and the ever increasing amount of Greek demigods we have been seeing lately. Content: Kissing and violence.
MyndiL More than 1 year ago
I am pleased to say that I enjoyed this volume in the series as much as I did the first. The author brings us a whole new group of paranormal creatures, myths and aspects in this book and continues in being a truly original in a world of mostly similar paranormal type books. I enjoyed learning a bit more of the Icelandic myths and stories and the way the author brought those myths to life seamlessly into the story she'd already begun in Stork. I found myself enchanted even more by our main character, Kat and the way her inner monologue works. I loved how quirky she was and was thrilled with some of the "real world" references she made in her thoughts. At the end of the story, again, things are somewhat tied up to where it's not an overwhelming cliffhanger, but still left open enough that you know there will be more to the story. I'm so glad there is! I've found myself just completely sucked into this world to the point where, if our library were not closed right now, I might be driving up there for book 3! I definitely recommend this series for any fans of the YA Paranormal genre, as well as fans of any Norse mythology and Icelandic culture.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Back but i may have to leave again
eternalised More than 1 year ago
The story is inspired by the Snow Queen, one of my all-time favorite fairytales. I liked the first book, “Spork” a lot, because it had tons of original elements and although paranormal, it gave a refreshing twist to the concept. The sequel was a bit more predictable, but the Nordic folk stories were very intriguing, like the frost giants. Katla’s new skills are a little over the top though, and with the whole new range of skills, it just seems like too much. I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Is that jinky on the cover? Awsome! Awsome book to read. Not like the other supernatural books. But a fun book to read as a family.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jumps oon snowstar leabe her aone or there will be bloodshed
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
IceClns elders den.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Regina_Linton More than 1 year ago
Fun, inventive and delightful. Great fun to be had reading this fantastic sequel. Katla is trying something new when she takes time out of her stork life to try out for the school play. She sings and dances. Jack is there to encourage her but she still feels like she is not up to the task. When Jack is encouraged to go on an expedition to help him learn ways to control his power, Katla is jealous and is terrified when she finds out why he is missing. Great YA Paranormal read.
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
Jack and Kat are finally enjoying having a normal relationship. Until Kat's wish of a white Christmas comes true, thanks to Jack's weather-altering abilities. This change in climate attracts a beautiful environmental researcher. Brigid puts together a team that consists of Jack and Kat's soon-to-be stepfather (and the dad of her soon-to-be new half-sister), Stanley. Boys are infatuated with Brigid. But Kat's not convinced. She knows something is wrong. Jack becomes distant, and when the group takes a trip to Greenland, disaster strikes and he and Brigid end up missing. Kat must find a way to get to Jack and save the world from a freezing disaster. I really enjoyed reading STORK and its sequel, FROST. Once again, I just loved Kat's humor. There were so many times I found myself laughing out loud at things she said or thought. A lot of them were totally sarcastic things that I would think or say. I liked that the book was based off of The Snow Queen story. And I liked the irony of Kat being in the school production of that same tale. But it bothered me how she was in the play, yet didn't connect what was happening in her life to the show she was putting on. It was so obvious to me! And I still liked Jack and Kat's relationship. It seemed so sweet and like a true first love. But I didn't feel that it was over the top. Just how I like it. FROST is the second book in a trilogy, and I can't wait for the third book!
Icecream18 More than 1 year ago
Frost is the much awaited sequel to Stork. The novel is loosely based on Hans Christian Andersen's The Snow Queen. The main focus of attention in this novel is Jack, Katla's boyfriend. This may be slightly disappointing to readers who were expecting further development of Katla. Jack has a fierce desire to understand and control his own magical ability. Jack and Katla are slowly beginning to have a deeper relationship when Brigid arrives on the scene. Brigid comes to Minnesota due to a gift from Jack to Katla gone awry. Brigid draws Jack's attention away from Katla; not long after Brigid's arrival, Jack disappears. Katla must go on a mission to find him. The novel continues in much the same way-Katla trying to find Jack. For readers of Stork who were expecting a deeper development of Katla's ability and a better explanation of the Stork society...this book is a bit of a letdown. The novel literally focuses on her finding Jack, there is only one instance where she guides a soul in the entire novel. There is more attention given to the love triangle between Brigid, Jack, and Katla than there is to the ancient historical Story society that was the first novel's plot. However, the author's way of drawing the reader into the book and holding his/her attention and the seamless, flowing sequence of events are still present. The author does not neglect Katla's character development-she is portrayed as a slightly more mature, humorous young woman. The reader will find him/herself laughing at Katla's thoughts and statements during the novel. Brigid is a new character and the perfect character to hate in this novel. She is haughty and self-assured with an undertone of evil. The author does a good job at giving a teen's point of view (Katla's) during the novel-not the easiest thing to do when you're not a teenager anymore and another demonstration of the author's skill. This novel splits off into smaller sub-plots. Again, some readers may enjoy this new quality to this series while some may dislike it. Katla's mother, newly pregnant, deals with the stress of preparing for another child, Katla's class puts on a musical of The Snow Queen- the author's bid for irony in the novel. Katla's friends aren't getting along and Katla isn't quite sure if she has time to deal with everything. Jack veers away from Katla and their relationship. The Stork society isn't addressed all that much. Katla takes off to find Jack, but at the same time has to deal with a few things that leave her having nightmares. All of these different sub-plots are a little grating at first, they don't appear to fit cohesively into the novel at first. However, the ending is satisfying and many of these events fall into place. This book is recommended for young adults/teens that enjoy escaping to a world where magic is possible when reading. 3 1/2 Stars
Readergirl_Reviews More than 1 year ago
Let me start out by saying that I really loved Stork, so I was really excited about reading the sequel. Although I did enjoy the book, all in all, I felt that it didn't quite live up to my expectations. Delsol's writing was just as good as I remember, and the characters just as likeable, but at the same time, I felt like there were so many missed opportunities in this book to further develop them, and their individual storylines. I always have a hard time with storylines where some chic comes along to derail the hero from his rightful path away from the heroine. It frustrates me so much as I read, that sometimes that frustration becomes irritation, and I find that I can't enjoy things very much. This occurs a bit in Frost, as Brigid comes along and kind of ruins, to an extent, the twosome of Jack and Katla that was created in Stork. I get antsy when so much time and distance starts occuring between two characters that are supposed to be together, at least when it appears that it's unnecessary. I felt Jack could have involved Katla more rather than Brigid. I also wish a bit more emphasis had been placed on the folklore, as it had been in the first story. Despite all of that, however, Delsol is still a great storyteller, and the characters were still the same likeable ones I fell in love with in Stork. I am not sorry I read it and did enjoy it. I do look forward to future books by Wendy Delsol.