×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Frozen in Time: An Epic Story of Survival and a Modern Quest for Lost Heroes of World War II
     

Frozen in Time: An Epic Story of Survival and a Modern Quest for Lost Heroes of World War II

4.1 55
by Mitchell Zuckoff
 

See All Formats & Editions

Frozen in Time is a gripping true story of survival, bravery, and honor in the vast Arctic wilderness during World War II, from the author of New York Times bestseller Lost in Shangri-La.

On November 5, 1942, a US cargo plane slammed into the Greenland Ice Cap. Four days later, the B-17 assigned to the search-and-rescue mission became

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Frozen in Time: An Epic Story of Survival and a Modern Quest for Lost Heroes of World War II 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 55 reviews.
book-a-holicGK More than 1 year ago
It's a terrific adventure story that keeps you riveted to your seat. My only caveat with the book is that there is a modern day tale interspersed within every other chapter. This should be at the end because it's neither compelling nor that interesting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is written extremely well. The author held my interest throughout the entire story. Absolutely amazing true story. COULD NOT PUT THE BOOK DOWN!!!!! Highly recommend!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
THE WRITER SPENT YEARS IN ACCUMULATING THE FACTS. A TRUE STORY OF HUMAN ENDURANCE AND ENGENUITY. I ENJOYED EVERY MINUTE OF IT.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing story extremely well written. Read this book in three days could not put it down!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Once again heart2heart ruins the book by revealing the ENTIRE book in their review. Please learn to write a review, not a book report, dissertation or blog, a simple review. Read the others here. They are simple, concise and to the point. If you feel the need to belabor each and every sentence, take it to a blog site, but stay off here. Ppl are sick and tired of ppl like you ruining books before we have a chance to read them.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is an amazing adventure story. 
rckrr More than 1 year ago
This book is awesome! I speak for my wife and father who also read this book and agree with my assessment.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a terrific read! I love how the author weaves the drama of the stranded flyboys with the suspense of the modern-day efforts to find the long-lost plane "frozen in time" some seventy years ago. If you're a history fan, this book will not dissapoint!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very good, HOWEVER, I recommend you 1st READ ONLY THE CHAPTERS FOR 1942/1943 SKIPPING the 2012 chapters until you FINISH ALL1942/43 and THEN READ ONLY the 2012 chapters OR IT BECOMES CONFUSING. The Editor SHOULD HAVE KEPT THE CHAPTERS BY DATE ORDER not going back and forth!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An exceptional book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good reading. Excellent research. This is my first book from the author, it will not be the last.
00707NYC More than 1 year ago
a story well told, blending historical fact with a current day expedition of discovery.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a fabulous book and one I couldn't put down. If you love reading about true adventure and anything about the WWII time frame, you'll enjoy this book. I will be recommending this book to my "reading friends."
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Interesting and well written. ~*~LEB~*~
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well written.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book grabbed at me and I just wanted everything to turn out okay. A pray and blessing that some things had been found okay, but others not. We need to bring our MIA home, to family and friends. Each and every one of them.
SUEHAV More than 1 year ago
I learned a lot from this book and even at 68 years old and a woman, I was fascinated. I agree with another reviewer...read the history parts first then go back and read the recovery parts. Makes more sense that way. History buffs...please don't miss this one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was my third by Mitchell Zuckoff, all three were good but I think this one may have been the best. I say that because in this book the author participated in part of the story. He was vested in the effort which gave the book a personal touch, the other books I read of his were written from an researchers perspective. I highly recommend this read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Frozen In Time .I liked the book because it had a lot of suspense. One idea is they were informed that they were told to bring a big bomb but the planes keep crashing in Greenland but couldn’t get out. Another part is they were stranded with some planes that crashed and the crew members died by no help. Another part I liked was when they were traveling they crashed and the crews had to sent out a distress call all for some help but they waited months after they got the call the B-17 got rescued by their navy and the army bases. It was really cool when they were in Greenland the B-17 plane crashed the crew had to survive on a island Cold Hell and the C-57 plane had to do the same thing but tragic happened when they all crashed one by one they all went down.It was a suspensful book by the crew was trying to survive in greenland It was also great when the crews had to go on a journey that it was amazing when they were sent to deliver a bomb but it failed to reach them these are heroes from world war two crews that went all over that never came over but some did but some did not when they were traveling the crew couldn’t go away from the mission they all had to stay on task like the B-17 pane had to do a belly flop on the ice for safety it had to do this so none of the crew died but some men were injured this was suspenseful by I didn’t know that they were going to survive the big crash on ice in greenlandwhen they could have died by it some were okay this was saftey tips like Buckling up when they put their seat belts and had to land very hard but it was a good thing to let them have a seatbelt when they had landed.This book is good for High School and middle school students to read it if you are interested in a great journey and expedition around the world with world war two heroes, a survival kit when surviving in greenland or the different types of planes. ArianCHMS14
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very good read. Loved it and you should too! Do not hesitate to buy
NAV52 More than 1 year ago
This book was so captivating that I didn't want it to end. I have 2 boys, age 22 and 26. The soldiers in this story were their ages and I can not imagine either of my boys going through such a horrific experience. I highly recommend this book to those who like history, adventure, action and personal stories.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I can never ever say I am cold again. This and other books on people surviving artic cold are amazing. What the human body can endure! Also, the bravery, caring, and persistence of men who thought more of others than of themselves. Should be required reading in school for ethics and selflessness. This is the character of those who should be leading this country. Other two good recent reads like this are, We Die Alone and Endurance.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is an exceptional books which weaves stories from two time periods into a cohesive, well-wrtten and engrossing work. I liked it even better than "Return to Shangra-la."