×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Full Dark, No Stars
     

Full Dark, No Stars

4.1 1542
by Stephen King
 

See All Formats & Editions

The acclaimed #1 New York Times and undisputed King of Horror Stephen King delivers five unforgettable short works, two of which will soon be adapted for film, and which Booklist called “raw looks at the limits of greed, revenge, and self-deception.” Like Different Seasons and Four Past Midnight, which generated such enduring

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Full Dark, No Stars 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1541 reviews.
GEORGIAMOON More than 1 year ago
King's short stories focus sharply and to the point on the horror without the delayed reaction from his longer more wordy novels. FULL DARK, NO STARS portrays lack of soul, I think; How else could one explain the horrific, inhumane things that happen in these stories? "1922" is the story of a farmer who murders his wife for no better reason than to stop her from selling off their land. Her excruciatingly painful death lets loose the devil that will get him in the end. In "Big Driver", after a middle-aged woman is attacked on an out-of-the-way back road and left for dead, a thirst for revenge over powers her. She finds herself suddenly capable of committing bone-chilling acts to get even. "A Good Marriage" tells us about a wife who discovers the man she's been married to for 27 years is not the man she thought she married and all that that entails. "Fair Extension" is a horrifying tale of a dying man's resentment, and misfortunes over powering him and unleashing on his thought to be best friend who stole his high school sweetheart. There is hell to pay.
Kealan_Patrick_Burke More than 1 year ago
"A Good Marriage" poses the question, however deeply you wish to consider it: Do we ever really know each other? A similar question sums up Full Dark, No Stars, and that is: Do we ever really know ourselves? Unlike King's previous collections, there is a very strong unifying theme at play here, and that is a study of how people react when pushed, or how we handle the ugly choices we're given. In all of these stories, people find themselves forced to face sides of themselves they might never have known existed if not for the intervention of exterior forces. In "1922? Wilfred James finds himself driven to murder by the threat of losing the only thing he truly knows. In "Big Driver" a rapist awakens the primal vengeance of an otherwise mild-mannered writer. In "Fair Extension" a man is asked to condemn another for the chance at a new life. And in "A Good Marriage" an ordinarily housewife is forced to make the ultimate choice when she finds out her loving husband is not what he has pretended to be. Take away the safety and security, the gravity we take for granted and you truly see what we are behind the mask. Good people, King says, may only be good as long as they're allowed to be. There is always a high and a low road, the good and the bad. But when the line of demarcation is not clear, when the gray area is a blur, and when we stand to benefit more from taking the path that will ultimately bring horror to others but an element of peace to ourselves, what do we do? In Full Dark, No Stars, Stephen King offers four unflinchingly brutal scenarios in response to that question. It is a grim and often ugly journey of discovery, but as always when it comes to King, one worth taking, if only to see what we look like when the masks come off.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've read all of Stephen Kings books. This one was no dissapointment. I enjoyed it and could not put it down. My only problem is the cost. Ebook (nook) is $3.33 more expensive than paperback. What happened to, as the Nook salesmen said to me before my nook purchase, "ebooks are less expensive than paper books"? I'm finding ebooks are more expensive than many, many, many paperbacks.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is my favorite King collection. 1922 is extremely character driven. I really rooted for the two men out on a farm and thus the things that happened to them felt like they were happening to me. Big Driver was about the same for me really. A Fair Extension is kind of sinfully nice. A Good Marriage is also very satisffying. There's really no weak story here. 
CK84 More than 1 year ago
While I did not "love" all the short stories in this novella, Stephen King has returned to what i feel he does best and that is his short stories. The characters are well developed and for the most part the tales are highly entertaining. King lovers will love it and King may even bring back some readers he has lsot over the past few years.
ClarkP More than 1 year ago
Why are you wasting time reading this review when you could be reading the book instead? That is really all I need to say about Full Dark, No Stars. I am more than impressed with these stories by Stephen King. My review is not going to make you read the book. You either like Stephen King or you don't. This book will please most if not all of his fans and just may persuade some of those who don't enjoy the works of Stephen King. If you are looking for "heart-warming" tales for this upcoming holiday season, look elsewhere. But if you want some dark, practically "pitch black" stories, this is the book for you.
Certifried More than 1 year ago
This book was, thankfully, short at only 304 (nook) pages. The only story that I felt was really good was A Good Marriage. The others had the potential, but I don't feel Mr. King ever fully developed the stories. I don't mind that the endings weren't, I've always been one who enjoys the STORY, the JOURNEY. The characters were rich, and very vivid, but the lack of development of the story just left me feeling let down.
LadyHester More than 1 year ago
Stephen King is the master of short story fiction. Three out of four of the stories in the book featured terrible violence to women, a topic I find difficult to read. King takes you right to the heart of evil and forces you to stand witness. He sums it up best in an afterword. He wanted to take ordinary characters and place them in extraordinary circumstances to see what they would do. You will find out if you read this extremely excellent book!
CyndiANC More than 1 year ago
I read this in three short evenings. Couldn't put it down. My favorite of the four was the shortest of all, Fair Extension, and I wished it was longer. Be prepared from the very first story though, they are all disturbing, but necessarily so and he spends just the right amount of time on it and moves on. If you are a fan of Rose Madder/Gerald's Game then you will like Good Marriage and Big Driver. Seemingly normal women overcoming great obstacles with well-thought-out planning and courage with a Stephen King spin.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have enjoyed Stephen King books for many years and this holds a high place as one of my favorites. The first short story is the most beautifully written it makes you question the capabilities of your own sanity and is a tale of heart break leaving you thinking that if one thing had gone differently the outcome might have left some of those who deserved to survive.
Helene Mack More than 1 year ago
It's a great book, very hard to put down. I read the 1st page out loud and needless to say 3 people in the room ha their jaws on the floor.
Juliaj44 More than 1 year ago
This is not what I was expectlng. However, it made me think. I love the way Steve pulls you in.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thanks !
cutegurl More than 1 year ago
Can not beleive this job is really out there, crazy life this guy had.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So addicting to read! Couldn't put it down.
Kerry_Nietz More than 1 year ago
I purchased this collection after a friend recommended “A Good Marriage” to me as an example of a story that did a good job of stretching the tension throughout. I’ve read and enjoyed a fair share of Stephen King stories in the past, but it has been awhile. This seemed the perfect opportunity to reacquaint myself with his universe. To start with, “A Good Marriage” is everything my friend said. The premise is great, the tension strong, and the climax and resolution fit the plot. The other three stories, though, felt a little lackluster—enough that I wondered if they would’ve been published at all, were in not for the author. The other “star” in the collection is “Big Driver.” That story follows a woman who is raped and then exacts her revenge. It has a heroine that it is easy to sympathize with, and a villain that you want to see get his comeuppance. The subject matter made it difficult to read, though. Plus, the final revenge almost seemed too easy. (Anticlimactic, even.) Her puzzling out the perpetrator and his accomplishes was good stuff, though. I’m torn on “1922” too. I thought it was well written, but the plot could almost be summarized with “and so on.” Man kills his wife, covers it up, bad things happen, more bad things happen, and so on, and so on. The climax doesn’t seem to fit the crime. Also, the story is written from the killer’s perspective, so we feel like we should identify with him...yet there is no good reason to do so. He’s an awful, selfish person. The final story is “Fair Extension” and that one was, for me, the worst of the lot. The premise is interesting—a man makes the deal to give himself good fortune at the expense of another person (a friend?) getting bad fortune. But it became another “and so on” story where there is no real climax. It just sort of ends. I suspect King was trying to defy expectations with the story, and he certainly did that. But there ought to be some payoff at the end, even if it is a dark one.
SpeedSD More than 1 year ago
EXCEPTIONAL COLLECTION!!! I absolutely love a good Stephen King story. My favorites have always been his short stories. He is a master of the short story with good plot development and characters that are believable. These four stories are amazing for anyone that loves a good short (especially one from King). I read this collection several years ago and picked it back up this weekend because there are TWO stories in here that are coming out as movies -- one a lifetime movie and one for the big screen. I wanted to refresh my memory before I saw either of these as movies. 1922 is by far the goriest of the four. My favorite was probably "Big Driver," which is the one being turned into the lifetime movie. Again, this is not a new release from Stephen. Please make sure that this is not a collection you have already read. I saw some reviews of people that were angry because this is a re-release. I don't know how that happens if you just pay a little attention to what you are buying, so please just be aware. I have bad reviews when the review has nothing to do with the actual book's contents. Thanx Stephen for a great collection of stories. Your writing never ceases to amaze me. Can't wait to see if the movies do the stories any justice (with the exception of a few, they rarely do)! Can't wait for revival to come out! -- SPeeD
seldombites More than 1 year ago
I have come to expect a lot from Stephen King, especially his short stories and novellas, and I was not disappointed. The four stories in this anthology were all very well written, engaging, engrossing and (as one would expect from the King) just a little disturbing. The first story, 1922 is presented as the written confession of a farmer who, by murdering his wife, destroyed his son, his soul and his peace of mind. This tale demonstrates how, by our own actions, we can create for ourselves a hell on Earth long before we encounter any kind of divine punishment. The second story, Big Driver, is the best description of how it feels to be raped that I have read by someone who hasn't actually experienced this horror for themselves. It highlights the humiliation, the terror, the anger, the disgust, the burning need for revenge combined with the desperate desire to hide that is felt by many victims of this awful crime. The third story, Fair Extension, shows the lengths many of us are willing to go to in order to topple those of whom we are jealous and to put our own selfish interests ahead of the interests of those around us. Many of us are all too eager to do a deal with the devil, no trickery or bribery needed. The fourth, and final, story is called A Good Marriage. In my opinion, this is the best of the four. By reading this tale, we are asked just how well we can really know another person, even those nearest and dearest to us. What would we do if we found out our most-loved ones had been hiding a horrible secret from us, so terrible that we refused, at first, to believe it to be true? Could you suddenly stop loving someone who turned out to be evil? As is typical for Stephen King's works, these stories are enjoyable to read while they last, and stay in your mind, churning your thoughts, exciting your emotions and disturbing your peace long after they are finished. I have made no secret of the fact that King is one of my favourite authors, so it should come as no surprise to you that I highly recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!
WindTalker More than 1 year ago
Good to see him back in good form. Couldn't put this book down after I started reading it. For whatever odd reason, I flipped to the back and was quickly drawn into "The Good Marriage". Do we REALLY know all we should to know about those we love - and those that proclaim their love for us? It seemed a tad voyeristic to watch the characters flesh-out and take on a life of their own. The rest of this collection was also compelling, Stephen King reading. He seems to whisper in your ear as you follow his prose. Got it for Christmas and have already read it twice. His fans will applaud with great satisfaction.
Sam2584 More than 1 year ago
I love the fact that this book is a collection of four separate stories. Each story is different from the next, and ends in a much different fashion. I loev Stephen King but sometimes the stories are so long that it takes a while to finish them, especially if you are lugging the book around. But this Nook book version was just the thing that I needed. It was the first ebook on my Nook and it was a great experience. This book is definitely a must read.
James Donegan More than 1 year ago
The stories grab you from the start and don't let go. Ordinary people in extraordinary circumstances. What woulf you do?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I like it
DorothyFromKansas More than 1 year ago
These stories are classic King; hard to put down if you're a true fan. It is no wonder TV cannot capture his essence. Riveting and wonderful!