×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Full Spectrum: A New Generation of Writing about Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, Questioning, and Other Identities
     

The Full Spectrum: A New Generation of Writing about Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, Questioning, and Other Identities

4.5 19
by David Levithan
 

See All Formats & Editions

Teens are more aware of sexuality and identity than ever, and they’re looking for answers and insights, as well as a community of others. In order to help create that community, YA authors David Levithan and Billy Merrell have collected original poems, essays, and stories by young adults in their teens and early 20s. The Full Spectrum includes a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Full Spectrum: A New Generation of Writing about Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, Questioning, and Other Identities 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 19 reviews.
elmo89 More than 1 year ago
this book was very interesting it made me realize that im not the only one out there with like big issues about being half gay. it really helped me come out a liitle bit more and be happy for who i am and not be ashamed. you should totaly read this book even if your not gay its good to learn new stuff about people's lifes.


-michelle.lynn.
Guest More than 1 year ago
So what happens when you gather up a group of young, gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgendered and other label-full or label-free writers and ask them to share a real life experience to be published in a book? ANSWER: The Full Spectrum. A collection of non-fiction stories that can be found in the fiction section of your favorite library or bookstore. Why the fiction section you ask? Fiction sells. Anthologies come and go, come and go, usually unnoticed and dammit!- we don¿t want this book to just `go¿. We need its readers to find it first. This book is out there so that you realize, finally realize, that you¿re not alone. Oh sure, your closet¿s cramped, there¿s no leg room in that 4X4 box that only fits you and your fears but...the book is small. Structured perfectly to fit the hands of anyone who wants to let a little laughter, a little heartache, a little hope and reality into their life. The writers...yes, we¿re young. Teenagers and random 20-somethin¿ year olds, but our stories(experiences) are ageless. So, look for the heartbreakingly beautiful book chock-full `o non-fiction in the fiction section of any store that sells books. We wanted to share a little piece of ourselves with you and hope you'll get something from it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You are an as.shole.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
To the to people below me. Thank you sooo much for backing up what you believe in. Thank you for being yourselves. While my letter of p didn't make the cut in the acronym lgbtq+ im am still a proud lgbtq+ pansexual (i like people of all genders, binary an non-binary) I love who I am
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
No offense but u are the reason why lgbtq people kill themselves. Everyone matters. Gay or straight. Black or white. Jewish or christian. Im gay and im proud. I will never be shut down by you but some people will be and they are people who may go to great lengths to kill themselves.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fv ck you ya nasty homophob. "Homophobic is not a phobia. Your not scared of gays. Your just an as.s.hole"Morgan Freeman. Now get your nasty ass face outta here. Gay peop are amazing and way better than you people who call yourselves christians but then you turn around and hate on gay and lesbian people. You asshead fvckface. LGBT PEOPLE RULE IM BI AND PROUND BYTCH
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Helped me alot
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lawral More than 1 year ago
The pieces in this anthology tackle a myriad of topics: coming out, religion, first love, unaccepting parents/peers, religion, supportive parents/peers, the Boy Scouts, the military, religion(!); in a variety of settings: high school, New Your City, college, junior high, Egypt. They are written by young people who fall under the umbrella term "queer," but identify as gay, bi, trans, lesbian, gender-variant, and more. Some of the pieces are positive and affirming, some speak of overcoming unbearable hardship and hate, some end as hopeless as they began. All of them are important and valid, just like the young people who wrote them. As a collection, The Full Spectrum is ambitious. It strives to present a multitude of experiences and identities, and it does. The mix of guys and girls, trans or not, is great. The mix of topics is also expansive, and given how much religion is mentioned, the mix of opinions on it is also widely variant. Also the mix of poetry, prose, letters, and diary entries was great. I never felt bogged down in too much angsty poetry or journal writing; all was in balance. This mix of writing styles will, hopefully, make this book accessible and attractive to readers of all stripes. My main problem was with the editing. Some of these pieces are beautiful bits of polished writing. Some of them are not. I imagine this has a lot to do with the state they were in when they were submitted. Many of these pieces were written by young people about the most traumatic periods of their lives! Everything is in their writing and everything is raw. Everything. It is completely understandable that some of them lack polish. These pieces could have used the guidance of a good editor, and it is a shame that they didn't get it. That said, these stories are compelling, each and every one. If I, an almost-30-year-old, engaged, queer woman had such a strong reaction to this book, I cannot even begin to imagine how much solace and revelation this book could provide for someone still going through the experiences described there in. I saw myself in these stories. I saw my friends. Everyone deserves to be able to see themselves in stories like these too. Book source: I bought it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Add me
kaitlynlenhart More than 1 year ago
...
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
It was only a few weeks ago that I read AM I BLUE?: COMING OUT OF THE SILENCE edited by Marion Dane Bauer. That book is filled with fictional stories dealing with gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender issues, and is a book I highly recommend. I was very happy to see THE FULL SPECTRUM, edited by the talented authors David Levithan and Billy Merrell, hit the shelves. THE FULL SPECTRUM is not fiction. It's filled with many, many stories--some long, some very short--that are mini-memoirs of the individual author. This book covers all of the ups and downs, the sadness and joy, of being homosexual, transgender, questioning, or bisexual.

There are so many great personal stories in this book that I'm unable to choose a favorite. Instead, I'm going to list every entry that is included, for the simple fact that these authors, these very real individuals speaking from personal experience, deserve a round of applause for bringing these issues to the awareness of each and every one of us.

O.K. by Courtney Gillette
A GAY GRAMMAR by Gabe Bloomfield
IT'S NOT CONFIDENTIAL, I'VE GOT POTENTIAL by Eugenides Fico
SNOW AND HOT ASPHALT by Benjamin Zumsteg
WHEN YOU'RE A GAY BOY IN AMERICA by Danny Zaccagnino
I SMELL THE GAS OF MY FATHER'S FISHING BOAT by Adam K. Boehmer
FOURTH OF JULY by Lauren Rile Smith
MY DIARY: DOCUMENTED. DONE. by L. Canale
CRYING WOLFE by Jack Lienke
TRANS-VENTURES OF AN F2M by Alexzander Colin Rasmussen
QUEER: FIVE LETTERS by Kat Wilson
FALLING OFF MY BIKE AND RIDING INTO THE SUNSET by Christopher Wilcox
THE NIGHT MARC HALL WENT TO THE PROM by J. J. Deogracias
DON'T TELL ME THAT I'M OVERLY SENSITIVE AND PARANOID by Alex Weissman
MY POEMS by Isaac Oliver
SACAGAWEA by Laura Heston
A FAIRY'S TALE by Travis Stanton
A BOY IN THE GIRLS' BATHROOM by Dylan Forest
OUR SPACE by Jovencio de la Paz
FOUR PHOTOS by Justin Levesque
BREAK-UP IN SLOW MOTION by Joshua Dalton
A STORY CALLED "HER" by Alison Young
MOMENT: THIS COULD'VE BEEN ME by Evin Hunter
A QUIETLY QUEER REVOLUTION by Laci Lee Adams
HATCHBACK by Kaitlyn Tierney Duggan
WALKING THE TRACKS by Eric Knudsen
THE MOST IMPORTANT LETTER OF OUR LIFE by JoSelle Vanderhooft
WITHOUT A TRACE by Anthony Rella
BODY ISN'T THIS by Zara Iris
NICE ASS by Jesse Cameron Alick
"GIRL + FAGGOTS" by Caspian Gray
SOMETHING FOR THE LADIES by Danny Thanh
CLICK AND DRAG by Joel de Vera Moncada
JILL SOBULE AND FOUR OTHER TORTURE DEVICES by Ella Pye
GAYDAR by Jesse Bernstein
THE SHORT VERSION by Grover Wehman
ALL YOU NEED IS LOVE by Stefanie Davis
THAT NIGHT by Matthew Mayo
CONTINUATION OF THE LIFE by Tyrell Pough
THREE SUNSETS by Robert Brittain

The truly wonderful thing about this book isn't just that it deals with issues that many people still feel are taboo, but the fact that they raise awareness in everyone who reads it that being different doesn't really mean being different. Whether you're heterosexual or homosexual, male or female or transgender, clear in your sexuality or questioning, there are things that everyone can learn from reading the stories included in THE FULL SPECTRUM. Add to that fact that part of the proceeds of the sale of the book are being donated to the Gay, Lesbian, and Straight Education Network (GLSEN), and you have one more reason to pick up a copy.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It was only a few weeks ago that I read AM I BLUE?: COMING OUT OF THE SILENCE edited by Marion Dane Bauer. That book is filled with fictional stories dealing with gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender issues, and is a book I highly recommend. I was very happy to see THE FULL SPECTRUM, edited by the talented authors David Levithan and Billy Merrell, hit the shelves. THE FULL SPECTRUM is not fiction. It's filled with many, many stories--some long, some very short--that are mini-memoirs of the individual author. This book covers all of the ups and downs, the sadness and joy, of being homosexual, transgender, questioning, or bisexual. There are so many great personal stories in this book that I'm unable to choose a favorite. Instead, I'm going to list every entry that is included, for the simple fact that these authors, these very real individuals speaking from personal experience, deserve a round of applause for bringing these issues to the awareness of each and every one of us. O.K. by Courtney Gillette A GAY GRAMMAR by Gabe Bloomfield IT'S NOT CONFIDENTIAL, I'VE GOT POTENTIAL by Eugenides Fico SNOW AND HOT ASPHALT by Benjamin Zumsteg WHEN YOU'RE A GAY BOY IN AMERICA by Danny Zaccagnino I SMELL THE GAS OF MY FATHER'S FISHING BOAT by Adam K. Boehmer FOURTH OF JULY by Lauren Rile Smith MY DIARY: DOCUMENTED. DONE. by L. Canale CRYING WOLFE by Jack Lienke TRANS-VENTURES OF AN F2M by Alexzander Colin Rasmussen QUEER: FIVE LETTERS by Kat Wilson FALLING OFF MY BIKE AND RIDING INTO THE SUNSET by Christopher Wilcox THE NIGHT MARC HALL WENT TO THE PROM by J. J. Deogracias DON'T TELL ME THAT I'M OVERLY SENSITIVE AND PARANOID by Alex Weissman MY POEMS by Isaac Oliver SACAGAWEA by Laura Heston A FAIRY'S TALE by Travis Stanton A BOY IN THE GIRLS' BATHROOM by Dylan Forest OUR SPACE by Jovencio de la Paz FOUR PHOTOS by Justin Levesque BREAK-UP IN SLOW MOTION by Joshua Dalton A STORY CALLED 'HER' by Alison Young MOMENT: THIS COULD'VE BEEN ME by Evin Hunter A QUIETLY QUEER REVOLUTION by Laci Lee Adams HATCHBACK by Kaitlyn Tierney Duggan WALKING THE TRACKS by Eric Knudsen THE MOST IMPORTANT LETTER OF OUR LIFE by JoSelle Vanderhooft WITHOUT A TRACE by Anthony Rella BODY ISN'T THIS by Zara Iris NICE ASS by Jesse Cameron Alick 'GIRL + FAGGOTS' by Caspian Gray SOMETHING FOR THE LADIES by Danny Thanh CLICK AND DRAG by Joel de Vera Moncada JILL SOBULE AND FOUR OTHER TORTURE DEVICES by Ella Pye GAYDAR by Jesse Bernstein THE SHORT VERSION by Grover Wehman ALL YOU NEED IS LOVE by Stefanie Davis THAT NIGHT by Matthew Mayo CONTINUATION OF THE LIFE by Tyrell Pough THREE SUNSETS by Robert Brittain The truly wonderful thing about this book isn't just that it deals with issues that many people still feel are taboo, but the fact that they raise awareness in everyone who reads it that being different doesn't really mean being different. Whether you're heterosexual or homosexual, male or female or transgender, clear in your sexuality or questioning, there are things that everyone can learn from reading the stories included in THE FULL SPECTRUM. Add to that fact that part of the proceeds of the sale of the book are being donated to the Gay, Lesbian, and Straight Education Network (GLSEN), and you have one more reason to pick up a copy. **Reviewed by: Jennifer Wardrip, aka 'The Genius'
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
GAY GUYS ARE DISGUSTING AND SO ARE GAY GIRLS AND SO ARE BISEXUAL PEOPLE! THATS A SIN AND NOT NORMAL AND GROSS!!!! >:P