×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Gallop!: A Scanimation Picture Book
  • Alternative view 1 of Gallop!: A Scanimation Picture Book
  • Alternative view 2 of Gallop!: A Scanimation Picture Book
  • Alternative view 3 of Gallop!: A Scanimation Picture Book
  • Alternative view 4 of Gallop!: A Scanimation Picture Book
  • Alternative view 5 of Gallop!: A Scanimation Picture Book
  • Alternative view 6 of Gallop!: A Scanimation Picture Book
  • Alternative view 7 of Gallop!: A Scanimation Picture Book
  • Alternative view 8 of Gallop!: A Scanimation Picture Book
  • Alternative view 9 of Gallop!: A Scanimation Picture Book
<Previous >Next
     

Gallop!: A Scanimation Picture Book

4.2 22
by Rufus Butler Seder
 

There's never before been a book like Gallop! Employing a patented new technology called Scanimation, each page is a marvel that brings animals, along with one shining star, to life with art that literally moves. It's impossible not to flip the page, and flip it again, and again, and again.

A first book of motion for kids, it shows a horse in full gallop

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Gallop! 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 22 reviews.
Blinkiybear More than 1 year ago
This is one of six book in Rufus Butler Seder's scanimation series. It contains 10 scanimation pictures which have basic text next to them such as "Can you spring like a cat?" next to a picture of a cat leaping into the air. These books are well made and "move" when you open and close the book carefully. They are absolutely brilliant for children from age 6 months upwards. My daughter who is nearly three still loves these books as does her cousin who is nearly 8. My friends' teenage daughter and son love them too in particular the Wizard of Oz and Stars Wars which contain actual quotes from the films. Definitely worth owning at least one of these books. You can also get the greetings cards which the moving horse on them which really wow the recipient. I would definitely recommend. Gallop, Kick and Swing are in black and white and Waddle, Wizard of Oz and Stars Wars are in colour. My favourites are Waddle and Wizard of Oz. Wizard of Oz has a beautiful red glitter cover just like Dorothy's shoes.
cjbushpalmer More than 1 year ago
my grandson saw this at school and really liked it so I bought it for him
obeau1510 More than 1 year ago
When I found this the first thing that came to mind was how unique it was and the enjoyment it would give to the young reader. They are able to move the pages and watch the animals gallop, run, fly, etc. As they move the page back and forth they can make the animals go as fast as they want. I think that anyone who has a little one who enjoys books that this is a good purchase. It is also a very durable book and should wear well. Definitely would recommend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I gave this as Christmas gifts to the little ones last year and it was a big hit and still is a favorite of the whole family. It's really such a neat book and I recommend buying it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BBard More than 1 year ago
I have given this book to close to 20 children by now and they are all amazed at how the animals move. This is so much better than a pop up book,whihc most kids destroy quickly.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I bought this for my two-year-old nephew's birthday and he got such a kick watching the pictures ,move. His older brother was better at making them move. I was tempted to take one page apart to see how it worked, but they didn't seem interested in the mechanics behind hte magic. I got swing for my one-year-old daughter, but she wasn't as impressed. We'll bring it out again when she's older. The hardest part about htis book is waiting for your turn.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
sue_nyc More than 1 year ago
I bought both of his books, mainly for myself, but my 7 year old nephew likes to flip through them as well. Well done. I'm a big fan of holograms and other such things.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Gallop!, by Rufus Butler Seder, is a fun little piece that will have young children moving around as they show off their agility and physically respond to questions like ¿Can you gallop like a horse?¿ or ¿Can you flutter like a butterfly?¿ There¿s not much of a plot here, but that¿s not the point. It¿s the lyrical rhyming of the text, the colorful lettering of the print, and most of all, the patented Scanimation® pictures that will have children (and their parents) wanting to read this book again and again. Yes, Scanimation® it¿s a technique that optically animates artwork. Thus, as the reader turns a page, the displayed animal moves. I admit it it had me mesmerized. Quill says: Out with the old, in with the new. Move over pop-up books. You now have some stiff competition.
Guest More than 1 year ago
My 3 year old daughter picked this up at the book store and the first thing she said was 'mom this book is alive'. I was thinking, what? Harry Pottery alive?! Then I saw the book moving. Very cool book. Had to buy it after my daughter's comment. For my 5 year old, it's a nice easy beginning reading book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Really, Really cool book! Even the adults were entertained by this. Nothing like you have ever seen.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've not seen this type of animation before, but it's very cool -- and the variety of animals is amusing. I think small kids will really enjoy it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is so clever. My two year old was sooooo excited by the animation. I bought all of them at our Barnes and Noble for kids gifts.
Guest More than 1 year ago
There is movement without tearing out the pages. Very clever, I can see this becoming an exciting trend in board books.