×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Game
     

The Game

4.7 19
by Ken Dryden
 

See All Formats & Editions

"The sports book of the year, or maybe the decade, or maybe the century." —The Globe and Mail

"A work of art that defines and represents our game." —The Hockey News

"[Dryden] has written a very special book, possibly the best [hockey book] I have ever read. His affectionate yet realistic portrait of the players is unrivalled in hockey

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Game 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 20 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a great book, one of the best that I have read so far. I read this book the first time over a year ago, during the lockout. If you like hockey, this is for you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is all about hockey and life
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the great ones, a player who brought not only hockey stats and information to the game, Ken made the position of Goalie to near perfection. His style of playing has been copied by so many Goalies, Ken has been studied and defined by so many players since he left the game. I am a hockey nut, during the hockey season I live eat and breath hockey, during the off season I read hockey books. While reading "The Game" I felt as if I was on the ice and in goal, I was in the locket room and on the bench with the coaches, which is exactly how a book should read. Buy the book, sit down and become a hockey player, for just a little while, or hone your skills if you are one lucky enough to play the greatest game ever played.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Gave this book as a gift to my husband and he really enjoyed it. Great read for any sports fan!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Memorable account of "team" life with interesting sidebars woven throughout.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Ken Dryden not only describes what happens on the ice within a team with dynasty caliber such as the seventies Montreal Canadiens, but he also reports the political climate of the times in the hotbed that is English versus French speaking Canada residents and it's effect on their hockey treasure. If that wasn't enough, he also reveals the insecurities of an aging hockey powerhouse, including the superstitions and locker room antics. An incredible read, two or three times over!
Guest More than 1 year ago
It is an exciting book to read. A definite read for anyone that knows anything about hockey
Guest More than 1 year ago
Just as stated above, this is the best book on hockey to date. You don't even have to be a big fan to appreciate this. It's well written and insightful. A definite must for old and new hockey fans alike.