×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Garden of Shadows (Dollanganger Series #5)
     

Garden of Shadows (Dollanganger Series #5)

4.3 92
by V. C. Andrews
 

See All Formats & Editions

Before terror flowered in the attic there was a young girl. An innocent, hopeful girl...

When young Olivia arrives at Foxworth Hall, she thinks her marriage to handsome Malcolm will bring the joy she has longed for. But in the gloomy mansion filled with festering desires and forbidden passions, a stain of jealous obsession begins to spread--an evil that will

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Garden of Shadows (Dollanganger Series #5) 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 92 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was in progress when VC Andrews died in '87. There are definite holes and inconsistencies in the book and the quality of the storytelling is truly downgraded from her the books she wrote.
Becky-Books More than 1 year ago
This is actually the prequel to Flowers in the Attic. It is from the point of view of the Grandmother, from before she was married. this book still did not change my feelings for the Grandmother - I still despise her! This book was written as the last of the series. I jumped ahead and read it 2nd - I suggest you do as the author wanted and read it last. You will enjoy the other books in the series better.
Guest More than 1 year ago
All through the Dollanganger series, you just hate Olivia (the Grandmother). This book flips the script and you begin to feel sorry for her. All she wanted was to be loved, but because of all the hurt and betrayl she can only turn to the 'religion' for guidence which misleads her down a horrid trail. Maybe we (as readers) would have had more sympathy for Oliva and less for Corrine (Momma) if this book had come out first, but I'm glad it didn't, because it was a great conclusion to all the hateful things they did. You end up crying for Olivia and then reading the whole series again from her vantage point! DOUBLE ENJOYMENT!
SleepDreamWrite More than 1 year ago
Crazy is how I described this book. There are moments where you like, wow just wow. This is more of a prequel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really exlains everything about the Grnadmotherm Olivia. We see why shes so cruel, what made her evil, and we see the real problem- both her sons died, and she only loved her sons. Then her husbands cheats on her, producing Cornnie Foxworth- and I actually felt bad for Olivia, and now Cathy from ther series is one of the characters I dont like!! Who wouldve thought. This books an eye opener, but read the series first. Only problem is the author doesnt go into detail about the kids- you dont cant really say if you like Mal, Joel, Corrine or Christopher because the Author barely speaks of them.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book pretty much pulls it all together. It brings you back to the beginning and actually has you feeling bad for Olivia because her husband was such a creep. Alittle twist in there you don't expect. If you read the series you should Complete it with this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is such a page turner! I loved it! Highly recomend it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Helped to understand how the grandmother became so cruel.
KellyFL More than 1 year ago
I read the first books of the Dollanganger series when I was a teen. I am now in my 40's,but never forgot about these books. The night I got the gift set of Flowers in the Attic, Petals on the Wind and If there Be Thorns, it was Christmas Eve and I sat in a chair at a large family function and could not move. I never knew about Garden of Shadows and came across it recently. I could not put it down! I have twin 3 year olds so it was not easy to read, but this book was fascinating! It was really cool to read about the early lives of Olivia, Malcolm, Alicia and Garland. In the other books, they are merely ghosts (except Olivia, who is a villain). Now I feel like I understand so much more of this compelling story. It's a must-read for anyone who loved the first books of the Dollanganger series! I took off one star because I felt the author didn't go into enough detail about Corinne, Mal, Christopher and Joel. They could get a whole book out of that.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read Flowers in the Attic prior to Garden of Shadows. I am only 100 pages into Garden of Shadows and I am liking it better then Flowers in the Attic. I like the story line better. Much is happening in the life Olivia that takes place in more than one spot of the house. I like the interactions between Olivia and Malcolm as compared to just the kids trying to entertain themselves in Flowers in the Attic. I just think the plot is more interesting. Plus I have already seen the movie to Flowers in the attic, so I had a general idea what was happening. Garden of Shadows is excellent so far. You really feel bad for Olivia (aka grandmother).
Guest More than 1 year ago
Now we know what happened to Olivia to make her the way she was. I still do not feel sorry enough for ther to understand what she did to Corrine and her children. Bad things happened to her, but it doesn't excuse her actions with Alicia.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book I thought would be something different but it's just the same except for the narration which is done by Olivia the creepy Grandmother who shows her nice side. We get to know how Malcolm was before the whole thing with Flowers in the Attic including some stuff about their daughter Corrine. Could of done better on the prequel.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am glad that Virginia decided to let us in on the secrets behind Olivia Winnfield Foxworth's steel gray eyes. I felt hatred toward her character all throughout this series until I read this novel. It left me feeling heartbroken that Olivia found herself in a loveless marriage with no real way to escape. And you also witness Corrine growing up, and it makes you wonder sometimes how such a caring young woman can grow up to be such a cruel uncaring viper. But I would not miss reading this novel for the world. I've owned the whole series since I was atleast 11 (I've always been a mature reader) and now almost 7 years later I still feel just as strongly about this series as I did back then. I would recommend this to anyone that enjoys reading.
Guest More than 1 year ago
As with all of V C Andrews work this story holds true to her typical, unique writing style, wonderfully engaging, heartbreaking and she again easily introduces the disturbing storyline that would be difficult for some other writers to pull off.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
its a really good book, but a bit on the expensive side.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really loved Olivia's backstory. I now can empathize with her character more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
glad I finally joined the millions of readers
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jai0411 More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. It was far more interesting than the 2 surrounding Cathy & Chris and their children.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read vc andrews books when I was a teenager . Always enjoyed them .
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I recommend you read the whole series...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ouf of all the books in the series this was my favorite. Loved reading about the transition of Olivia from a loving mother and person to such a mean one, and reading that she was not always like that only the tribulations in her life made her that way. Sad to say goodbye to all this characters after being a part of their lives for 5 books.