×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Gargantua and Pantagruel
     

Gargantua and Pantagruel

2.8 15
by Francois Rabelais
 

See All Formats & Editions

Rabelais' bawdy 16th-century masterpiece, ostensibly the adventures of a giant and his son, satirizes Medieval and Renaissance ideology. Using his ribald humor, Rabelais addresses timeless issues of education, politics, and philosophy.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Gargantua and Pantagruel (Barnes & Noble Library of Essential Reading) 2.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 15 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
absolutly grosse, vile, and lewd, i can't believe that someone has written such a perfect novel. anyone who claims that classic litterature can't be fun, has not read this novel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bawdy and funny! A great read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Recommended for fans of The Satyricon.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was pretty amusing for an old book. I would read it again.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Rabelais does not need my help, and his place in the Literature of the West is secure. The encyclopediac comic mind of the first order exploring the human being with obsessive attention to physical and spiritual function and disfunction has amused generations of readers. Why I do not personally go for it so much I think relates to the reservations of my own character. I do not particularly love scatology .I am not impressed by reading accounts of how we relieve ourselves. More importantly I think the whole irreverent, satirical spirit that makes Rabelais so loved and laughed with by so many readers just does not bring me any joy. It seems to me too easy and cheap. There is also of course the longeurs in listing of the whole thing. And this without at all mentioning the particular place of the scholar's revolt in the world of his time. This is thought by many to be the funniest book of all time but I do not laugh at it this way. Who would however know the history of Western literature must know this work.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Yeah, he was believe it or not and he was kinda looped. He writes about all teh sinful things he couldn't partake in. This set of stores about the giants is absolutely appalling and funny as all get out at the same time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought it was okay. I mean, if you like reading 16th century porn then go ahead. I had to read this book for an ethics class. First few chapter are okay but then they start talking about inappropriate things x.x. I reccomend this book to be read by an older audience (as if a teenager would understand old English anyways). Overall, I thought it was an easy read dispite its size and large amount of pages.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Honestly folks, I like scatalogical humor and irreverence as Much as the last fool , but this is not that funny . WHAT REALLY TURNED ME OFF WAS THE ANIMAL CRUELTY THAT PASSED FOR LAUGHS IN THOSE DAYS !