×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Garlic and Sapphires: The Secret Life of a Critic in Disguise
     

Garlic and Sapphires: The Secret Life of a Critic in Disguise

4.1 62
by Ruth Reichl
 

See All Formats & Editions

Ruth Reichl’s bestselling memoir of her time as an undercover restaurant critic for The New York Times

Ruth Reichl, world-renowned food critic and former editor in chief of Gourmet magazine, knows a thing or two about food. She also knows that as the most important food critic in the country, you need to be anonymous when reviewing some of the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Garlic and Sapphires 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 62 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is less autobiographical than Reichl's other two books, 'Tender at the Bone' and 'Comfort me with apples.' Nonetheless, this book is a great read and hilarious. Reichl talks about moving from being the restaraunt critic for the LA Times to the NY Times. It is great to read about how she dresses up and goes undercover t o see how regular, non-rich people get treated at restaraunts. Great stories and pleasant to read beacuse Reichl has the gift of sounding like your friend and that she is right there telling you what happened to her today.
Atthebeach More than 1 year ago
This is a delightful read---funny and enlightening and mouthwatering. Reichl's tenure at the NYT as restaurant critic certainly gave her plenty of fodder for this book. I could have read on and on. Lots of good stuff on how restaurants treat their customers, how they cater to certain customers and especially critics, how the food and service varies by types of customers, etc. And just lots of great writing about food and flavors, some great recipes. Lots of humor and great fun about her disguises and the personalities she took on to be someone else. It's a fast, fun read.
LotteDeno More than 1 year ago
Ruth Reichl takes us through her days as a New York Times Food Critic and the huge task before her -- reviewing restaurants fairly and for the masses, not just the uber rich. Through her reviews she gives everyone a unique and highly descriptive view of the restaurant as a whole from ambiance down to each morsel of food. She makes you feel as if you are right there with her experiencing everything. I especially loved how she created all of her aliases to be able to slip into each restaurant covertly. It was also very enlightening and touching to read how each alias brought out hidden depths of her personality. It allowed her to dig deeper than ever, and understand herself better and realize that really wanted to be. It's an experience that I think so may people wish they could have.
Z9 More than 1 year ago
I've thoroughly enjoyed all the Ruth Reichl books I've read. She is honest and forthcoming about her experiences, sometimes not at all pleasant, as a restaurant critic. She's also refreshingly honest about herself, and the things she sometimes sees about herself that she is not so proud of, or happy about. As a mom, I can appreciate the balance between her job as a critic and her job as a mother. As a wannabe foodie, I especially enjoyed her detailed descriptions of the meals she ate and the experiences she had at the different restaurants. I think her writing is very engaging and it just draws you into her life. She seems like she would be a delightful friend to have, and I was sad to reach the end. As a matter of fact, it's been hard to start another book since then.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This brought a little gourmet into my not so gourmet existence with some added insight into human character. Fun and fast read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Every one of Ruth ' s books is engaging and so well.written. I loved Gourmet Magazine and was devastated at it's demise. My subscription, started as an annual Christmas gift from my mother until she died, was devoured. When Gourmet abruptly ended, the publisher finished the subscription with Bon Appetit, good but not the same . ..not even close. We miss you Ruth Reichl!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well written, wonderful descriptions of restaurants, dishes, people and work politics. Devoured it quickly and was sad when I finished reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
AerynKelly13 More than 1 year ago
I LOVE this book. I think I've read it four or five times now and I just *love* it. It's marvellous food porn and the fun of experiencing the dinners with her, along with trying to create her characters to remain anonymous, it's all fun.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago