×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Garner Files
     

The Garner Files

3.8 50
by James Garner, Jon Winokur, Julie Andrews (Introduction)
 

See All Formats & Editions

Told in the charming and self-deprecating style that has made him one of America’s most beloved celebrities—the real story behind Hollywood legend James Garner, from his Depression-era childhood to his colorful career.

His incredible story, in his own words.

One of Hollywood’s all-time great leading men, James Garner enjoyed a remarkable

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Garner Files 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 50 reviews.
Rhowe360 More than 1 year ago
Reading "The Garner Files" is exactly like sitting down with the subject and spending a wonderful day with him. Jim's voice comes through loud and clear, (On the golf course, sometimes louder) Having spent two years on the set of "The Rockford Files" I came to know Jim Garner. There is not an OUNCE of "Mr. Movie Star" in the man. "Family" is a word closely associated with Jim and that also comes through in this easy reading memoir penned with Jon Winokur (The Portable Curmudgeon) From his tough upbringing in Oklahoma, to his stint in the Korean War (where he won two purple hearts) to Broadway and onto to Hollywood, Jim is a "working actor" with a great respect for writers, his fellow actors (albeit one or two) and his crew. I can attest first hand, what you see is what you get in "The Garner Files." When you see Jim on the screen be it movies or television, you're seeing "Maverick" or "Charlie Madison" or "Rockford" you're really not seeing James Garner. Jim works extremely hard at making it LOOK like you THINK you're seeing James Garner. You can call me biased and that's fine...but I will tell you to your face that you will not meet a more decent person than Jim Garner. He hasn't changed in all the years I've known him and that is the beauty of the man. As I said before, "What you see is what you get." Robert Howe
SuzanneM More than 1 year ago
I admit to being a Garner fan since Maverick, but I think I would have enjoyed this book anyway. It really is like sitting down and having a nice conversation with a person who is friendly and down to earth. Some have objected to his mentioning his political views. Huh? This IS an autobiography after all! I don't think he belabored the issue, but it certainly is a legitimate subject in an account of one's life. Strangely, the only ones I've seen complaining are those who disagree with him. Come on, people. Everyone isn't going to agree with you on anything. Everyone has a right to their opinion. It's interesting to note that Garner's life-long best friend, Bill Saxon, who is mentioned a lot in this book, is a Republican. On the issue of smoking pot because it helps his arthritis pain, it is LEGAL in California please remember. If it would help my own arthritis, I'd try it too. Probably safer than the prescription pain pills I take now. ;) Seriously, read the book. It's funny, poignant and paints a real picture of a man I've admired for 55 years. I admire him even more now.
TheAnonymousDude More than 1 year ago
You know the acid test on autobiographies. If you like the subject, you will probably like the book. I¿m a James Garner fan. That one gets the sense of Garner¿s voice in this well written, well organized book is a big plus. He just tells it like it is without apology or sugar coating, which is exactly the way I picture him being in his personal life. I¿m an even bigger James Garner fan now. It¿s a good read. If you like Garner, you¿ll learn a lot about him and love this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My husband and I have enjoyed this book. We thought we would never see Mr. Garner's biography. Both of us enjoyed watching Maverick and Rockford files -- originally and in reruns. We loved Mr. Garner's movies also. Note to the Poor Louisiana girl: when you read a biography you learn about another person. You are free to write your own biography and express your own view of the world.
BJ_Shawd More than 1 year ago
James Garner has been my favorite actor for as long as I can remember. My favorite TV series was The Rockford Files and my personal favorites among his movies are Murphy's Romance, (I could watch that one 50 times - smile). The Notebook and The Ultimate Gift. For those who made comments about leaving out the section about Politics, etc. - when you write your autobiography - you should be able to say whatever you want to in it and personally - I happen to "agree" with him so I enjoyed that chapter. I enjoyed "every" chapter! I can so relate to his stage fright and not wanting to speak in front of a live audience. I was a singer for many years and started out performing live and had some record releases, but I was such a nervous wreck before each live performance, it just wasn't worth it to me. I ended up having my own little recording studio in Florida where I did songwriter demos for songwriters around the country on a mail order basis. Like Jim being comfortable with the camera in a movie studio, I was also comfortable with a microphone in a recording studio - but just "hated" being out in front of a live audience, so I can really relate to the way he feels about a lot of things. I'm SO happy he did this book. I enjoyed every page of it!!! Thank you, Jim, for sharing a part of your life with us and if you write any other books, I'll be first in line to buy one! ......also, Happy birthday a few days late...my granddaughter was also born on April 7th and on April 7th of every year, I think of "both" of you. I've just never known where to mail your birthday card! (smile)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have only read the sample. Will buy complete book this week. It is a great read can't wait to read the whole book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As a child growing up watching The Rockford Files...I really enjoyed this book. His deep,sexy voice and mannerisms came through the words of the book just right. Thank you
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book was published before James Garner died on July 19, 2014. It is a nice book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lion
TheBobNotes More than 1 year ago
If you liked James Garner on the screen I think you'll enjoy this book. it's to the point and well written. If you're interested in Acting, Golf, Movie Production, Grand Prix, Even A little Politics, Hollywood, Actors or the extraordinary story of the great mans career courage and truth. This is the book to read. Im an admirer so I'll be slightly biased but I think the book has great value as inspiration to anyone on their journey through life. Jim wished to be remembered with a smile. I'm smiling.
waterchildCS More than 1 year ago
He was a much more private man than I would have imagined. I would have enjoyed his exploits on the sets of his movies more and the people he can into contact but that was somewhat covered at the end of the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I began reading Mr. Garner's memoir a week before he died and I could not have been happier to learn of his politics. He held nothing back. An inspiration for those willing to accept the challenge of working together to solve problems and a Rockford punch-in-the-mouth to the Republicans who, no doubt began reading the book to confirm that James Garner was the good-guy they thought he was, only to learn that he is THE ENEMY!  Scroll through the comments here and you'll quickly see what I mean. Thank you, James Garner, for a life well lived. You put your money where your mouth is for hating and standing up to bullies and for  acting to help create a more equal USA. "With liberty and justice for ALL!"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Tjfguwesmfffhglbjeme
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awsome.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Reading this book is like sitting down with the author. The same sardonic clear and sincere voice. He tells his story, giving insights about the time and inside workings of the entertainment industry in a beatifully honest style. I even heard his well known voice tell the story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Life and interests. One's views are part of the persona and if your favorite sport was golf that is his life not yours. He provided a lot of entertainment for us over the years. "We are the stuff that dreams are made of and our time is rounded by a sleep."
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Who is that tall dark stranger there? Maverick is his name. Ridin the rails to who knows where? Luck is his companion,gamblin is his game. Gonna miss you Mr Garner. You brought many happy hourswith your wonderful TV series. later
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago