×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Gateway (Heechee Saga Series #1)
     

Gateway (Heechee Saga Series #1)

4.6 19
by Frederik Pohl
 

See All Formats & Editions

Gateway opened on all the wealth of the Universe...and on reaches of unimaginable horror. When prospector Bob Broadhead went out to Gateway on the Heechee spacecraft, he decided he would know which was the right mission to make him his fortune. Three missions later, now famous and permanently rich, Robinette Broadhead has to face what happened to him and what he is

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Gateway 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 19 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Quite an interesting look into the human condition and how people react to unknown technology and try to understand and assimilate it if at all possible, once the fear of the unknown has past. Robin Broadhead is stuck in a rut with his lousy job and desperately wants to overcome his financial troubles before he settles down and has a family. His luck turns to the better(?) after winning a decent sum in a lottery, so he buys a round of drinks for his colleagues and spends the rest on a trip to the Gateway Asteroid in hopes of striking it rich on one of the 'prospecting' trips aboard the mysterious alien ships. The adventure that follows is one of the most unique I have ever read. Pohl knows how to draw a reader's attention and retain it. I especially enjoyed the way he wrote it with dual view points, bouncing back and forth between Robin's adventures and his sessions with his robotic shrink.
ommie More than 1 year ago
So hard to beleive this was written in the 70's. The visuals still hold up today! Great science fiction. It was given to my son as a gift and I picked it up between reads...glad got to it first - because it is a but adult for anyone under High School.
SFistheBest More than 1 year ago
Great book, but it was written in 1979. Why is it so expensive?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I can't believe that I'm writing the first customer review for a book that won the Hugo award, the Nebula award, and almost every other science fiction accolade when it was first published in 1977. The story centers around an asteroid which houses tiny spaceships once operated by the enigmatic Heechee race. Humans have discovered the base and, not surprisingly, are capitalizing on it, sending out many volunteers in the pods with the hopes of recovering other Heechee artifacts. The success rate for these ventures, however, is very small; the humans don't exactly understand how the ships work, and many volunteers have thus been transported to extremely hostile environments. The main character, Bob Broadhead, has spent a long time on the Gateway asteroid, trying to ease his own fears and insecurities while watching his eager colleagues ship out to either death or fortune. Soon, he knows, it will be his turn. Without a doubt, this is Pohl's finest novel, a suprisingly interesting character study as well as an indictment of the corporate mindset.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the story a lot, but was disappointed with the ending.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Sci-fi is all I read. Gateway is the best yet. It has a slow start but a 'two thumbs up' ending.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A group of my sci-fi pals and I read this series about 15 years ago early on in Highschool. It was great. I'm suprised it's not a bigger seller. Considering how Ender's Game and other sci-fi classics still sell well, this series should too.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Easily one of the best SciFi books. The writing style is unique in the scifi world, but brilliant. A very rewarding and entertaining read.