×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Gay and Lesbian Weddings: Planning the Perfect Same-Sex Ceremony
     

Gay and Lesbian Weddings: Planning the Perfect Same-Sex Ceremony

4.7 18
by David Toussaint
 

See All Formats & Editions

Comprehensive, fresh, and funny, Gay and Lesbian Weddings covers everything you need to know to plan the wedding of your dreams. Unlike other wedding planners, this one tackles the issues your heterosexual friends never had to consider. For instance, do you come out to Aunt Gloria before she receives the invitation and the shock of her life?

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Gay and Lesbian Weddings: Planning the Perfect Same-Sex Ceremony 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Loved the book, loved the photographs, and loved planning the wedding. David Toussaint was at an even I went to in New York City, and afterwards, I decided to purchase the book. He and Heather Leo helped us with everything--especially the budget. I didn't know that guests wouldn't freak out if we just had cake and skipped the dessert course. That saved us a bundle. We also decided, on their suggestions, to have our wedding on a weeknight--which cut our catering expenses in half! The only thing we didn't want to budget was the bar--I insisted on high shelf liquor for the whole affair. That worked because we had saved so much money elsewhere. I hope Toussaint writes a bigger book next time, with more about honeymoons. We loved the chapter, but we can't yet afford a real big vacation. Hopefully, when that book arrives, we'll be able to go to a fabulous place on our very modest budget. A great buy, and so much fun.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Joe and I feel so much like a true married couple now, that I'm half-inclined to post our honeymoon pictures in Palm Springs. This is a great book, especially in that it seems to be geared toward everyone planning a wedding. In other words, the point doesn't seem to be whether or not you're gay or straight, but rather, but that you're in love, and you want to create an affair to remember. I had no idea about, well, anything, so it was especially great to have a Planner that counts down each section of your wedding, starting with the food, and ending with how to handle grooming problems on the day of. I didn't know about this book--and you can't find it in Alabama--until a friend loaned it to me. I had to go to the author's web site to get find out more. I'm just thrilled that you guys carry it and I hope other 'discount stores that shall remain nameless' will too. The stuff about what men toss and which woman pays is really just the icing in this delicous wedding cake book. Go inside, and you get filled up with all you need. Thanks.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Wow. I thought planning a gay wedding mean calling up some drag queen and taking our clothes off on the beach (don't worry, we did the latter on our honeymoon). No, Eric and I wanted a traditional affair. As he's Jewish, it was great to find out from this book that we could still get a rabbi to officiate (turns out she's done several gay weddings). This book also helped us decide where to register--he wanted Tiffany, I wanted something more downscale, and we ended up with Macy's. But I never thought those people would have even thought of us until I read Toussaint and Leo's chapter on registry. There's so much to think about when you're planning any wedding--especially dealing with my homophobic relatives--and it was all dealt with here. I hope all those wonderful people in San Francisco use this book to defy the courts and plan the most beautiful weddings in the world in the city by the bay--this book will show you how. I recommend it to everyone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I agree w/ u.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Thanks, David Toussaint, for this first-rate planner. My girlfriend and I got it as a present last August and it's been a lifesafer. Neither one of us know the first thing about weddings; Toussaint does! At first we thought it would be terrifying, but it turned out to be fun. For us, the best part was the 12-Step wedding planner. The whole chapter is broken down into all the major aspects of planning, from the reception to the transportation to flowers (uggh), and it tells you at what time you should worry about what. Loved it. We're having a wedding in February in Colorado, and Mr. Toussaint, if you're free, we'd love to have you come! Your presence will be our present. Thanks!!!!!!! It was better than 'Cats'!
Guest More than 1 year ago
David Toussaint managed to pull together what I thought was impossible. Namely, a wedding planning book that's as helpful as it is fun to read. I showed this book to my straight girlfriend, S., and she loved it! She's reading the whole thing now, and she was married over 10 years ago. She said she wished they'd written books like that when she got married. I loved the 12-step planner the best because it went through each crucial step of planning, and told you how to do it cheaply and effectively, and how much time you needed to spend on it before the big day. The top ten lists and quizzes were a hoot.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I recommend this book completely. It is funny, but it takes the subject matter seriously, giving practical advice much of which is useful for any couple, straight or gay. The quizzes and style guides are fun, and the step-by-step wedding planning check list is enormously practical. Just reading the stories of other weddings is useful in itself.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Whatever you do, before you get married, buy a book like this one! It sure beats the heck out of having to sift through those 3,000-page straight bridal publications. I was really happy to know that people wouldn't leave my wedding if I didn't put floral centerpieces on the table--I don't really like flowers, and they're really expensive. Also, we registered at Home Depot! I almost wanted to go with Crate & Barrel after reading about the real couple in this book who went there. The only reason why I don't want to read this book again? Because I've found the love of my life and never intend to marry another woman! Too bad, because it's a great read. Thanks to David and Heather. Keep it up. When's the next one?
Guest More than 1 year ago
A completely engaging and funny guide full of tips and well-needed guidance to pull of the perfect wedding. Smart, intuitive, and comprehensive, it's the only guide a gay (or straight!) couple needs.
Guest More than 1 year ago
As a mother of a gay man, I found Gay and Lesbian Weddings to be extremely helpful, and fun! I've planned many weddings in my lifetime (including my own), and, in a way, helping out with my son's was much more fun than the others--much of that has to do with the fact that the book was so easy to read, smart, and practical. I told someone recently that if I were to wed again, THIS would be the book I'd use. Toussaint is charming in his writing; and believe me, that's important, as wedding planning, when not done well, can be not only one of the most stressful times in your life, but one of the most uninteresting.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read Mr. Toussaint's original article on gay and lesbian weddings last fall in Brides, found it enlightening but wished there were more. I was delighted to learn that he'd put together an entire book! Love the real-life stories of couples at the start of each chapter -- found that they apply to anybody, gay or straight, who are getting married. That's why I've given copies to friends and family, gay and straight, whether they're planning on getting married to their mates or not. And I'd love to see if Mr. Toussaint can follow up with another edition -- I'm sure this is a book that can be updated regularly with new info and new real-life stories. I'll be looking forward to new editions, and I'll keep giving copies to couples as gifts.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love this book. I was actually pursuaded to get 'married' by my partner, but when I started planning and found out about this planner, it was lots of fun--still stressful, but fun. There's some really funny stuff in between the serious text (I was laughing out loud over the Straight Answers to Gay Questions), and it made it all so much easier. Since we only had about four months to plan our wedding, we took the calender in the back and basically doubled up on the time limit. It worked! We pretty much got the space, type of service, and music we wanted. Keep it up, guys. You were a great help.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love it I love it I love it SMAK dab in the middle
Guest More than 1 year ago
My girlfriend and I actually looked at straightr magazines to help us with our wedding. It was so nice to find out that there was actually a book for US. Gay and Lesbian Weddings told us where to go for dresses, how to find flowers and caterers, and everything else we needed to know. It also told us ways to save! I'm thrilled to know that we can go to Niagara Falls for our honeymoon. They don't tell you that back in 'straight world.' We need more planners. How about one about buying our first home? Thanks, guys.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Let's face it: getting ready for a wedding isn't exactly a laugh a minute. The sheer stress of the endeavor is enough to make anyone slightly loopy. Gay and Lesbian Weddings to the rescue. Not only does this book answer the questions that everyone wants to know, it'll make you grin in the process. Every chapter of the book begins with the experiences of a real couple and then proceeds to give helpful advice on just about every topic you can think of. The beginning chapters even address political and social issues, making valuable insights that will aid anyone in defending gay marriage. The authors are experienced weddingistas (I think I just made that word up) who definitely know what they're talking about.