×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Gears of War: Aspho Fields
     

Gears of War: Aspho Fields

4.5 160
by Karen Traviss
 

See All Formats & Editions

For the first time, fans of the blockbuster Gears of War video games get an in-depth look at Delta Squad’s toughest fighters–soldier’s soldier Marcus Fenix and rock-solid Dominic Santiago–as well as a detailed account of the pivotal battle of the Pendulum Wars.

As kids, the three of them were inseparable; as soldiers, they were torn apart.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Gears of War: Coalition's End: Coalition's End 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 159 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
After reading this book I had to have the other three! To good to put down!
Daniel Sutherland More than 1 year ago
This book is great if your a gears fan this is a must read
NOSKERTECK1 More than 1 year ago
Lets start with the bad, I know war is Hell. I know harden men use hard language. But even the game gives the player the choise to censor the foul talking out. this would be a great read for kids if it wernt for that. But for adults, this book gives Great background on all the characters that i've come to enjoy a great deal. AND has introdused new ones that I hope to see in the third installment next April, 5.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is a great addition to the Gears universe. In 1 word .... frigging awesome!!!!! Ok, 2 words.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read the book in less than two days. I could not put it down, the story line keeps you going. Karen has done such a great job filling in the gaps of the game. I felt like i knew the characters so much better after reading this. I purchased the following books because i know they are going to be great. Any fan of Gears needs to own this book, it makes you fall even more in love with the characters from Sera. I hope they make the movie some day.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have bought number 2 and can' t wait to read it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very well written, fills many gaps. A great choice for all the fans of Gears of War.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
All gears fans deserve to no more about the gears universe with such a great world with so much reallism
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have to admit I'm not a gamer by any means but my husband is obsessed with the Gears of War Universe so I decided to read! I will say the chapters are a little longer than I'm use to but it definitely gives great detail into the Gears Universe and provides alot of the backstories that the video game doesn't offer.
Media_Matters More than 1 year ago
When I first heard that Gears of War would be adapted through novelization, I was skeptical about the whole idea. Gears of War is all about blood, hulked up dudes beating the tar out of anything that moves, big guns, and more blood. How it would be incorporated in book format was beyond me, as I found it wouldn't be as climatic as it would be in the game. But I was left mildly impressed with the end result. The novel in itself is a great effort for the series debut into novelization, but the flaws surrounding it are obvious to a big fan of the series like me. I found the current plotline of the book a redundant rehash of events told between the first two games, offering hardly nothing refreshing besides buff men bantering back and forth in one-dimensional conversations. I also noticed the lack of heavy action; I realize it's a novel about characterization, but when someone takes the Gears of War name and turns it into a primary drama, that could turn alot of fans away. Casual readers won't notice the difference, but to fans it's not the type of book Karen Traviss aimed for. But on the plus side, the backstory pertaining to the war before Emergence Day is rather interesting to read about, and discovering the fates of Marcus Fenix, Dom Santiago, and his brother Carlos. The only redeeming factors to be found here is the backstory and the final couple of chapters. The climax for both stories are great, it's just the build-up wasn't up to snuff with what the games already accomplished.
Icelung More than 1 year ago
Very good book. Very well written and very few even semi boring parts! A must read along with the rest of the series.
hardyal singh More than 1 year ago
I have the same statment as media matters because ive been playing the game for a while and became hooked instantly but after this book i began ti think othetwise because evyone who ha played the game knows that gears of war is all violent action. If people didnt know who r reading the book and havent played the game yet, the vgame is muchbetter but the book was only PART of the action you get from the game (game not recommended for people under 16-17 years of age)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good read for fans and nonfans alike
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love the way karen writes and adds to the gears universe. You can really see each character grow into the character that they are now. I give this book a five star easily for all gear heads!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago