×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Genghis: Bones of the Hills (Khan Dynasty Series #3)
     

Genghis: Bones of the Hills (Khan Dynasty Series #3)

4.4 110
by Conn Iggulden
 

See All Formats & Editions

From the author of the bestselling The Dangerous Book for Boys
 
From Conn Iggulden, #1 bestselling author of six historical epics and coauthor of the international sensation The Dangerous Book for Boys, comes a magnificent new work of fiction. Here, the Mongol conqueror Genghis Khan, stalked by enemies seen and unseen and

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Genghis: Bones of the Hills (Ghenghs Khan: Conqueror Series #3) 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 109 reviews.
Vkal More than 1 year ago
Before anyone get inflamed about me rating a book on pricing, hear me out. The way e-books are being priced is absolutely disgusting. I can understand it when a hardcover is initially released if they want to keep the prices high. Pricing it higher than a paperback - that is insulting to the customer. 1. You pay money to buy an ebook reader 2. There is no resale value for the ebook 3. There are no printing costs and minimal distribution costs for ebooks. What the heck are the publishers thinking? This is going to be my last eBook from B&N. My Nook is going to be purely used to rent books from the library till they fix the pricing model.
arniereadsfiction More than 1 year ago
Historical fiction at its best. Genghis really comes alive in these pages, along with many of his contemporaries. A tour de force.
ladylawyer8650 More than 1 year ago
not only a good read, but a mind teaser as well. after reading this book i immediately had to read the next in the series, then the next.
bkelly More than 1 year ago
This third in a series, should not have been the last ; but was well written. It made you want to see the future Khan's in writing, and how they made a impact on the future of thier times.
The_Masked_Hand More than 1 year ago
As with the precedent novels of this series, Conn Iggulden brings an age long gone by back to life in all its terrifying splendor and does an incredible job of it. From the very beginning to the end, he gives his audience an unsurpassable realistic plunge back into the past, to how the world worked at that time and how those who lived at that time saw it. Even those characters who stay in the novel only for a breadth of time are concretely imagined and solidly rooted in Iggulden's realistic setting, only giving the book more life. Yet perhaps the most distinguishing trait that stands out is the fact that Conn Iggulden gives one of the greatest conquerors in history every human characteristics a man could possibly posses, making him seem much more than the cruel khan who ordered the deaths of millions and bathed in destruction and blood eveyrwhere he went. For indeed, while Genghis is revealed as an extroardinary man who did the unprecedent, Conn Iggulden also reveals him as a man with his own pains and troubles and how he deals and surmounts them--that which made him legendary. The author interweaves these two characteristics together so well that the reader actually finds himself rooting for the mongol khan and his fellow kin along the book, asking for more destruction and bloodshed. Demanding more destruction and bloodshed. Combined with the author's suspense and thrilling pace, this is one book the reader will enjoy wholly to the last page and devour eagerly.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MamaMouse More than 1 year ago
I listened to the story as an audiobook, narrated by Richard Ferrone, so my review is based on that version. I first read this book several years ago and liked it so much that I got the audiobook version for my husband to listen to during his commute. Now I discovered that there are two more in the series out, Khan: Empire of Silver and Conqueror, so I decided to go back and listen to this third in the series to help remind me of everyone’s names and the places Genghis was conquering. This book starts out with Genghis’ army, his brothers, and his sons fighting against the Arab warriors. These Arab warriors were some of the toughest the Khan had ever faced and their numbers were overwhelming. The Arab warriors were not easily defeated and it would take all of the Khan’s armies to defeat him. This story is also the story of how Genghis’ sons have grown into generals and are still working to impress their father. The oldest son, Jochi, is not accepted as a true son because his mother was captured and raped around the time he was conceived. Although Genghis doesn’t openly say he doesn’t believe Jochi is his son, it is clear by his attitude and actions toward Jochi that he isn’t wholly accepted. Genghis’ second oldest son, Chagatai, believes that he will be chosen as heir over Jochi and goes out of his way to make Jochi’s life miserable. Although some of the things in this book are works of fiction, Conn Iggledun sticks mostly to the Historical Fact to create this book. Most of what we know about Genghis is based on second and third hand accounts anyway because there was no written record of the rise of Genghis. If you enjoy historical fiction and want to learn more about Genghis Khan, this is the series for you! The Narration Review This audiobook was narrated by Richard Ferrone and he does a great job narrating this story. I think his voice is perfect for the whole historical fiction genre, but especially for these stories of Genghis.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This incredible and barbaric man evokes emotions of admiration and hate, simultaneously. I could not put this book down and can't wait to get to the next in the series KHAN, Empire of Silver.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago