×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Get Happy: The Life of Judy Garland
     

Get Happy: The Life of Judy Garland

4.3 21
by Gerald Clarke
 

See All Formats & Editions

She lived at full throttle on stage, screen, and in real life, with highs that made history and lows that finally brought down the curtain at age forty-seven. Judy Garland died over thirty years ago, but no biography has so completely captured her spirit — and demons — until now.

From her tumultuous early years as a child performer to her tragic last

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Get Happy 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 21 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Im a 15 year old boy, When I was reading this book, it felt like I was acctually there, Experiancing all of the pain and suffering she did. It was amazing, the way Gerald Clarke wrote this truly amazing story of a Music God was amazing! I want to read it again and again and again!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Hi, my name is Franklin Johnson and I am 13 years old. I thourouly enjoyed this book simply be the authors way to show Judys` real look to life. Though I found that the book at the end was extremely shocking I found that the biography was well researched and how the author started with her mother and father to prove later problems. I recommend this book to any true Garland fan and quarantee your satisfaction.
MovieKid90 More than 1 year ago
A MUST-read for any TRUE Judy Garland fan! You get a sense of Judy the legend, her talent, and the deeply hurt person she was inside.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Get Happy is an excellent account of the life of Judy Garland. Once begun, I found the book difficult to put down. I highly recommend it to readers who want to know more about the girl who played Dorthey in the Wizard of Oz. The pictures in the story are also great. After finishing the book I can not believe Judy Garland lived such a life.
vikingkim More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed the early life of Judy Garland, through Minnesota to rural California. I found the story of her parents to be intriguing as well, and much of their lives explained hers. The only disappointing part was the sparse coverage of the Wizard of Oz production. I expected more. Her later life? Whew! What an eye opener - definitely not the happy life we'd all have wanted for her, but a whirlwind of drugs, booze, work and men difficulties. Sad life, really, and one that could have been different in a different time. I wondered what happened to her sisters, as they were dropped from the story. Well written.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am a huge fan of Judy Garland but never really knew what she went through during her life. The book is beautifully written and it makes you LOVE JUDY so much more. I was able to relate to her so well. I couldn't put it down! Go and get it and READ, READ, READ!
Alaska-Young More than 1 year ago
Best biography on Judy Garland that I have read. So in depth with her life that you almost feel like you were there with her.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Mr. Clarke has gathered information from tabloid articles and from the memories of people who barely knew Judy Garland. At least 1/4 of his text is his own bizarre rhapsodies over his own methaphors and analogies. Furthermore, he doesn't support his facts at all and leaves the reader wondering where he got most of his information. What he does have that may be taken as truth has already been written about in far superior books on the subject - most notably by Gerald Frank's excellent 1975 book 'JUDY'. This book is a waste of time and money, and just serves the author as someone who, again, makes money off of the sorrows of this brilliantly talented woman.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the best book I have ever read.Buy it . It is worth the money.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is large and has wolves ocupying it. It costs $510,005,100.