×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Get Positively Beautiful: The Ultimate Guide to Looking and Feeling Gorgeous
     

Get Positively Beautiful: The Ultimate Guide to Looking and Feeling Gorgeous

4.2 16
by Carmindy
 

See All Formats & Editions

According to a recent study, only 2% of women describe themselves as 'beautiful.' (Dove Global Study 'The Real Truth About Beauty: A Global Report', 2004) The media instructs women how to 'look ten years younger,' 'cover up wrinkles,' or 'get fuller, plumper lips.' And even makeup products play off womens' insecurities, promising to conceal perceived flaws,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Get Positively Beautiful: The Ultimate Guide to Looking and Feeling Gorgeous 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
Machazait More than 1 year ago
As with her first book, Carmindy celebrates the faces of all women, but the tips she offers are universal. In this book, I particularly loved the makeover section, where I saw real women who are gorgeous but don't fit society's warped standards of beauty, and I love the way Carmindy made them look their best without changing their look. I also learned a few tips that I can use on my own face. Thank you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read Carmindy's first book "The Five Minute Face" and whilst it focused on wearing the proper makeup for your age, this one is even more informative and gives you the tips and techniques for working with our individual features! I think Carmindy DID take our suggestions after her first book came out and really delivered some useful advice. This book is stellar and compliments the first one well!
Smilingsally More than 1 year ago
This comprehensive book is every woman's dream for how to properly use make-up. Chapters include tips for each separate area (eyes, skin, lips,) along with separate chapters for tools and travel. I especially like the before/after full size color photos and tips chapter called, "Everyone Loves a Makeover." A shopping guide is located at the end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely enjoyed reading this book! It made me feel good about myself! The eye chapter was my favorite. Probably because it was so well illustrated. I wish the others (cheeks, lips, etc.) were like this chapter. Otherwise, it is easily understood. I am 44 years old and have been putting on eye shadow the same way since I was in high school. Needless to say I was bored! So, I made myself try the different techniques and WOW!, they work. Today I am a new person. Thank you Carmindy, for putting all your secrets into a book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book made me happy just looking at. The colors, photos and text throughout are amazing. It just uplifts you to keep reading through. I loved that the message was about being beautiful as you are. The only thing I would love to see improved is how the makeup steps are explained. In one spot of the book, they show a diagram of an eye to show where each product should go. I would have loved to seen that done in other areas for the book, such as lips, cheeks, blemishes, etc. Altogether though, this book is great. I liked it much better then Bobbi Brown's Living Beauty.
martakay1962 More than 1 year ago
First let me say that this book is simply gorgeous! The photography and layout of the book is superb and very eyecatching. The thick, glossy pages make it almost sinful to browse and read through this book. I was expecting the usual makeup/beauty book, but that's not what I got. This book is as much, if not more, about becoming a beautiful you from the inside out. Carmindy wants every women to realize that she is unique and is beautiful and to use those attributes to present your best you to the world. Definitely a great book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
CatCrazy More than 1 year ago
I have always wanted to learn how to apply make-up so that it accentuates my positive features, plays down my negative features, and does not look unnatural or overdone. I have also wanted to be able to purchase a staple of cosmetic and skin care products that does the job well but without costing a fortune. In addition, I have wanted to develop an effective daily skin care and make-up regimen that doesn't take a long time to perform. I believe that Carmindy's book has helped me to achieve all of these goals! It has become THE source of make-up ideas, techniques & products for me, and I find myself reading sections of it over and over again while taking notes. Thanks to Carmindy's extensive list of specific product recommendations, I am now able to go shopping for beauty and skin care products with knowledge and confidence and without wasting time and money. The photography in this book is breath-taking and inspiring for women of all ages and beauty types. Carmindy's message throughout the book about all women being beautiful in their own unique way has finally hit home for me, as I am no longer as self-critical when I look in the mirror. I would highly recommend this book to any woman who currently feels overwhelmed when trying to develop or improve upon a quick & easy make-up and skin care routine that works beautifully!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book was ok. I think that it could have had more how-to and a bigger selection of people to choose yourself from.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago