×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Get Ready
     

Get Ready

4.8 11
by New Order
 

See All Formats & Editions

You gotta hand it to New Order -- having led the post-punk masses to the dance floor at the dawn of the '80s, they've since watched rockers cede to DJs and DJs cede to rockers once again, before emerging just on time for an '80s revival with an album that no critic could accuse of trading on nostalgia. The exhilarating, absorbing Get Ready, the band's first

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Get Ready 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am a big New Order fan and to tell ya the truth when New Order came out w/ their newest CD (this one) I was thinking ''dude, this album is gonna suck''.. cuz it's been so long ya know? But this CD rocks dude! I love playing it loud in my car and others just looing in ahhh to my lovely sounds. This is a MUST HAVE! They haven't changed their style/sound at all.. so if ya like the Best of New Order, ur gonna really like this one!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love this CD. It's good to know some bands aren't changing their ways to fit in with what's hot at the time. New Order is still the same on this CD. Great music and lyrics, as always. A Great buy for a New Order fan.
Guest More than 1 year ago
What can I say.....New Order still have it!! This album is definately some of their greatest work to date. (I for one thought New Order would never again record another album of new material) Their sound has a new edge with some fragments of vintage New Order mixed in. This is one of those CD's that you can enjoy from start to finish. If you are a New Order fan, this album is a must have!!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Real clean, block rocking beats!
Guest More than 1 year ago
New Order Rocks, Grooves, Smoothes at their best since ''Substance''. A very complete CD, at least every song is listenable, although ''Technique'' was good, this is far superior' (Just my opinion, I may be wrong) best songs 1) 60 miles an hour 2)Primitive Notion 3) Someone like you....but all the songs are better than 99.9% of the dreckish music that is force-fed on American radio today.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This album is the triumphant return of New Order! Much better than 1993's Republic and is more in line with the originality of 1989's Technique. The songs are catchy but are not pop--they make me want to listen over and over again. It's clear that the differing talents of all 4 band members create a unique, enjoyable listening experience.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The last time New Order put out an album, the effort felt like they put half their minds and hearts into it. Sure, they had a great single with 'Regret' but you couldn't listen to the entire album without wishing for more. Now, an incredible eight years later, they are back and they are not holding anything back. 'Get Ready' is what New Order fans have been waiting for, a fresh batch of new tunes by one of the most influential bands of the '80s. 'Get Ready' is not an album that challenges the listener. It's meant to be accessible after being out of the mainstream for almost a decade. It's a rockier album, not as much dance-oriented this time. It's a bold statement of 'we're back, and we're not going away'. It is an reinvigorating album that is pure enjoyment to listen to from start to finish.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Get Ready is New Order at it's best. Gone are the days where the song titles don't meet the material names. Best songs are Crystal and 60 miles an hour. Billy Corgan guests on Turn my Way. This CD is not an 80's band trying to relive the past. This is an 80' band that is putting out its best work. All the same signatures are here musically and lyrically but there is some great sonic guitar filled in. Go buy this CD you won't be disappointed
Guest More than 1 year ago
WOW!ive been waiting 8 years and its worth it different than republic which i loved but more rocking which i love too these guys are just amazing
Guest More than 1 year ago
Every track on this cd is good. Waited a long time for something new from them, but well worth the wait. Hope they keep it coming!
Guest More than 1 year ago
For a group that does not promote itself, New Order continues to influence the music scene. As with most of their releases,the names of the band members are not on the album. As with Joy Division they continue to break new ground. Get Ready is much more guitar driven than previous albums. Billy Corgan is terrific on Turn My Way. Once again the lyrics are ''cryptic'' and focus on love lost, and relationships in pain. Only New Order can speak about such pain and encompass that pain in an upbeat dance beat that initially makes the listener think ''maybe things will be OK this time.'' But the pain and insecurity is there as only New Order can deliver it. Beg, borrow or steal this album and play it loud.