×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Gettysburg
     

Gettysburg

4.0 50
by Newt Gingrich, William R. Forstchen
 

See All Formats & Editions

The Battle of Gettysburg has become the great "what if" of American history. Gettysburg unfolds an alternate path and creates for General Robert E. Lee the victory he might have won. Full of dramatic battle scenes, military strategy, and captivating period details, Gettysburg stands as a remarkable entry in the pantheon of Civil War literature and as

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Gettysburg 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 50 reviews.
mleesdad More than 1 year ago
This series (there are 3 books) tells of how history may of turned if Lee had acted on Longstreet's suggestions of going around the Union army during the Gettysburg campaign. This books starts with the actual history and then statrs the turn down the other possible track. If you are interested in a good story that could have shown a different road to the civil war then this is the series for you
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read all three books. Very interesting analysis of the politics and decisions that happened during the Civil War.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The authors do an excellent job changing one decision made by Lee and seeing the battle through to a very probably conclusion. The charactors are brought to life, and even if your loyalties lie with one sie or the other, you find yourself identifying with individuals on both sides of the battle. Very realisitic and well done. A must read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I found a very plausible alternative to Gettysburg. I loved the characters, the fundamental possibilities, and the detail the authors went into. They put me in the trenches along side the likes of Longstreet, Lee, Meade, and especially Henry Hunt, who, In my opinion, plays an important, colorful character. Having studied Gettysburg myself several times, I found myself immersed in the 'did or did not' really happen syndrome, blurring history in my mind. I found the character development superb. I highly recommend.
solo More than 1 year ago
In this novel Lee listens to Longstreet and decides against sending Pickett against the Federal lines- from that point on history takes a new turn and the tide of the war changes. A must read for Civil War buffs. The fairness and evenhandedness to both sides is striking.Really enjoyable!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I Could not put this book down. Most Civl War book have some dry chapters but, not this book I enjoyed the whole thing
Guest More than 1 year ago
When Newt Gingrich and Bill Forstchen created Gettysburg: A Novel of the Civil War, they created a spectacular illustration of alternative history.Gettysburg: A Novel of the Civil War is a great eye-opener for understanding how one change in the sequence of events could could alter the entire outcome of the Civil War. Whether you are a Civil War buff or not, I highly recommend reading Gettysburg: A Novel of the Civil War, by Newt Gingrich and Bill Forstchen.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
this is the only book I read so far in this series. Very good book .Really interesting on how many people died in the battles up to Gettysburg.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago