×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Ghana Must Go
     

Ghana Must Go

4.0 12
by Taiye Selasi
 

See All Formats & Editions

A “buoyant” and “rapturous” debut novel (The Wall Street Journal) about the transformative power of unconditional love

Electric, exhilarating, and beautifully crafted, Ghana Must Go introduces the world to Taiye Selasi, a novelist of extraordinary talent. In a sweeping narrative that takes readers from Accra to Lagos to

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Ghana Must Go 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
bonkey More than 1 year ago
A Master piece! Very well done Ms. Selasi. I'm a fan!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was beautifully written. As the book progresses, you become engulfed in the drama and trials of the family and see their growth over time. It is definitely a must read.
BlkGrlwithLibrary More than 1 year ago
I haven't read any other books by this writer but now I am a fan. The one she builds the story kept me turning pages. As well as the accurate descriptions of people and places. It's truly a unique voice and eccentric way to weave a story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ultimately we are all searching for the place we call home. Wanting so much to buy into what others define for us. Depending on your generation and culture it can be harder than it appears. Taiye Selasi deals with race as Americans view it, West African culture, loss as only Africans know it and a desire to move past our past. Amazingly touching and relatable to a person of any race but particularly to those of us who are made of more than one race. It touched me in so many way.
NSALegal More than 1 year ago
Rich, complex, distinct character development of a family in the wake of Kweku Sai's death. The characters are sympathetic through their flaws, and their reactions are plausible given how family history has affected them differently. Different, worthwhile.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"Ghana Must Go" is the poignant, indelible tale of an immigrant family, brought together by the promise of the American dream, torn apart by the nightmare of racism and betrayal by family, but ultimately reunited by the power of love and African tradition.  A stylistic tour-de-force, this novel enthralls and enchants.  Selasi's supple lyricism is informed by a fierce, unblinking intelligence that analyzes the fatal legacies of colonialism as deftly as it plumbs the recesses of the individual human heart.  In "Ghana Must Go" the political is personal, and the personal is political.  When you reach the final pages of this glorious celebration of the power of language, you pray the story will never end.  This is a book of substance to be savored by seaside vacationers and scholars alike.  In her underground classic essay "Bye Bye Babbar," the brainy and unearthly beautiful Ms. Selasi has already added a new term--"Afropolitan"--to contemporary discourse about the African Diaspora.  If this is the Age of Afropolitanism, "Ghana Must Go" is its founding testament.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sorry darlin",I tapped into MORE BY THIS AUTHOR and it looks like GHANA MUST GO is TAIYE SELASI'onlly book as of yet.It's been a little over a year since you posted your review so who knows,SELASI may have a work in progress as we're"SPEAKING"Good luck Doll. Be kind to one another. Granny B.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very confusing to get into this story. I'm having a struggle to keep going...maybe it will get better by page 150? YIKES...!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
one star