×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Ghost Country
     

Ghost Country

4.1 136
by Patrick Lee
 

See All Formats & Editions

“In a word: Brilliant….It left me breathless and awed….Pure exhilaration from the first page to the last.”
—James Rollins, New York Times bestselling author of Altar of Eden

“WOW! Double Wow!...Ghost Country by Patrick Lee will make Asimov and Heinlein cheer with the angels. The techno-thriller

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Ghost Country 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 134 reviews.
Doc_Redbat More than 1 year ago
It has been a while since I read the first book so it took me a bit to get up to speed. This is a nice thriller, but you can pretty much see all the twists coming. Need to kill time on the beach or at the airport, this is your book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read The Breach first for continuity,,,,,then strap yourself in for an exciting ride! I heard birds this morning before realizing I was up all night reading!
Kataman1 More than 1 year ago
With all the accolades given to this book I was expecting a lot more. It took more than 75 pages to get into the story but then it got good up to the end. Adam Chase is again asked to attempt an impossible rescue of Page. This time by Bethany, an employee of Tangent, a secret government agency whose main function is to guard and study The Breach. The Breach is a gate to another dimension, from which mysterious devices keep passing through. Page is captured by gunmen and held by government agents working for the President. Page had shown the President a device from The Breach that show a future Earth that was devastated by some calamity that is supposed to happen in a few months. Page tells the President, if he knows about something that can cause this, he should think about stopping the action. Apparently, this bothered the President and Page is taken soon after. Page had sent a message to Bethany and she understood enough of the message to use a twin device to the one Page had to also look into the future to see what Page saw. She then goes looking for Chase, who is now living a quiet life under an assumed name. Chase has to go back and save Page one more time and then, along with Bethany, need to go against a vast government network and try to avert the disaster that is impending. From there the book moves rather quickly, with the trio constantly having to escape "sure death" situations. Most of the book kept my attention but I am very hesitant to give it better than three stars for several reason. The slow beginning is one reason. Secondly, some of the rescues are similar to the first book. Thirdly, when all is finally revealed, there are a lot of similarities to a recent book I read called The Ark. Lastly, having read The Breach about a year ago and it was difficult to follow some of the plot without going back to read the first book again. Therefore, I suggest you read The Breach first.
garneke More than 1 year ago
Great series - read all three in this series. Imaginative, inventive, creative, non-stop action. Could not get enough.
D-V More than 1 year ago
In+my+opinion+this+one+was+better+than+the+first.+This+definitely+a+page+turner+and+all+the+suprises+and+tension+kept+me+on+the+edge+of+my+seat.+Very+well+written.+The+author+gets+better+with+each+book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
areadergh More than 1 year ago
This book is a continuation of The Breachso I would recommend that you read that first. While it is not necessary it help wioth the understanding.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Exciting and fun to read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
rmd270 More than 1 year ago
A great second chapter of this 3 book series. Really kicked up the action and provide a great blend of scifi. This time our hero Travis is brought back from a life of remote destitution to help save Paige. The subject of this book which is about 2 years after the previous book is a device that allows you to step through an iris into the future 74 years. The problem is all the people are gone and Travis, Paige and newcomer Bethany, a real techno wizard, must find out what happened and try and stop it from happening. It is discovered the event happens 3 months from the present day. A lot of action and cat and mouse as the trio moves back and forth in time to evade their pursuers and find out what happened. Highly recommend and am starting the final book in this series right away
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent, very intense, story
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
bobshow66 More than 1 year ago
I've heard many people use the expression, "I couldn't put this book down." I can honestly say that holds true for this book. I found myself grabbing it every time I had a few spare minutes. You can't help wanting to get to the bottom of this mystery and Lee gives you just enough crumbs of information to keep you turning pages. I liked it better than The Breach, and I liked that one a lot. Kudos to Patrick Lee for writing a great sci-fi-ish page turning thriller. Can't wait to read the next book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LaScrabbler More than 1 year ago
Definitely read the 3 part Breach series. Fast paced and very entertaining.
Forrest0 More than 1 year ago
Kind of a silly story in some ways, but Lee does an excellent job nonetheless of keeping the tension high so you are forced to keep reading.