×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Ghostopolis
  • Alternative view 1 of Ghostopolis
  • Alternative view 2 of Ghostopolis
     

Ghostopolis

4.2 16
by Doug TenNapel
 

See All Formats & Editions


Imagine Garth Hale's surprise when he's accidentally zapped to the spirit world by Frank Gallows, a washed-out ghost wrangler. Suddenly Garth finds he has powers the ghosts don't have, and he's stuck in a world run by the evil ruler of Ghostopolis, who would use Garth's newfound abilities to rule the ghostly kingdom. When Garth meets Cecil, his grandfather's ghost

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Ghostopolis 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
Ghosts roam among the living on Earth, and it's up to Frank Gallows to go and catch them. However, Frank isn't exactly the best guy for the task - he's lazy and messy and usually eats food in people's fridges after a successful catch. Nevertheless, he still gets the job done. That is, until he accidentally transports his ghost horse AND a human boy named Garth to Ghostopolis. Now, it's up to Frank and his mysterious ex-fiance, Claire, to go back and return Garth to Earth. There's one small problem: Master Vaugner controls Ghostopolis and won't let Garth - a boy who seems to have as much power as himself - go. So, not only does Garth have to get through mummies, zombies, and skeletons alongside his loyal bone-horse, Skinny, but he also has to fight a powerful dark master in order to return to his mother. Doug TenNapel writes an intriguing story about the afterlife and where ghosts come from. His graphic novel is full of eye-catching illustrations and witty jokes that pull the reader in from the first line. GHOSTOPOLIS is recommended for anyone who's up for a quick and fun read; this book won't disappoint.
bigman21 More than 1 year ago
This novel was very very good. I was hooked on the book after only two pages. It seemed like the more I read the better it got.The artwork is nice and the plot was great.also the book was very entertaining. Someof my favorite parts was when Garth was able to ride the unrideable horse who he called Skinny. I liked it because out of all the people in ghostopolis who lived there for years could never ride the horse.Then Garth,some newbie comes and is able to ride it the first day he comes.Another part I liked was the end when Garth faught vaugner.I like it because a little boy like Garth faught a man twice as old as him and he still won.I was disapointed that Garth had to go throgh all that and be scared just because of some lazy gost hunter.Other than that I would definitely recomend this book to outhers. Also im looking forward to reading more books by Doug TenNael such as Bad Island, and Power Up.
Mateo_ortiz More than 1 year ago
I liked this book, its a really interesting reading book i would recommend this book to a friend because of the mystery and its great plot. Also the book looked a bit freaky because of its cover and its Title "Ghostoplis" i thought it was going to be a book about freaking (like i said) but it turns out it had a twist to it its sad also because the boy Garth went to the spirit world and met his Grandfather, a man his mom never wanted to talk about. that was a really good twist to the book in after all i loved the book and i would recommend it to a friend
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I fell in love wit this book, I read it at the Library, and now i want to buy it so i can read it over and over and over and over again OMG I LOVE IT SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO MUCH
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In this book by Doug TenNapel, A boy called Garth Hale has been zapped to the underworld by a washed old ghost wrangler called Frank gallows.He finds out that he has a special ability.Soon the leader of ghostopolis wants to take his power so that he could have more power over ghostopolis.but now, he finds his grandfather ghost cecil and both try to try and find a way to get garth back to earth. then gallows gets to ghostopolis with his ex fiancee Claire to rescue garth and fix his mistake. If I had to recommend this book to a friend,I would because it is a long comic book. Also their is little reading.what I like about this book is that you could look at the book and create your own dialogue.Also if you like this book, you could also read tommysaurus rex, monster zoo and creature tech.
raydc More than 1 year ago
I think ghostopolis is an awesome book. I recommend my friends to read this book because it is like some type of story where a kid gets send to another world that's among the dead. What I liked about the book is that it has action and its among the dead and its kind of funny and kind of like a rescuing thing in the book. I think the characters in the book made me fill like I was in the book. I liked the ending because at the end the kid comes back home with his mom and seems like they lived happily ever after. My favorite part is when the bad guy dies because know they don't have to worry about any troubles or battles any more.
BY-EDWIN More than 1 year ago
I would recommend this book to my friends because this book is very interesting. This book is about Frank Gallows capturing all the ghost that did not want to go to the afterlife and decided to stay on earth. Garth has an incuralble disease and he thinks he is going to die. Garth was sent to Ghostoplis by mistake so he is trying to find a way back to earth. Frank Gallows sent him so he made a promise to Garth's mother to bring him back to earth. Frank Gallows and his ex-girlfriend went to bring him back they had a difficult time doing it there were many people after Garth especially Vaugner. Garth meets his grandfather in Ghostopolis that he never meet and told him why and Garth's mother never again talked. Garth destroyed Vaugner and Franks ex was crowned queen of Ghostopolis. Garth got back to earth and he brought back the earrings that his grandfather did not let Garth's mother use. Garth's mother said that she forgave his father. I am glad that Garth was able to come back to earth.
EGHunter01 More than 1 year ago
*Engaging. *Fascinating. *Energetic. *You could probably read this graphic novel in one sitting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read this book soooooooooooo amazing i would rate more so on a scale frome 1 to 100 its a 100
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a good story for young teens, with a spooky theme.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the best comic book ive read so far.Skeleton horses,a young boy,and its up to Frank to save the day.Its just AMAZING.You have to read it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LiL_John123 More than 1 year ago
The reason I would recommend this book to my friends, because this book is very interesting. This book is about Frank Gallows capturing the entire ghost that did not want to go to the afterlife and decided to stay on earth. Garth has an incurable disease and he thinks he is going to die. Garth was sent to Ghostoplis by mistake so he is trying to find a way back to earth. Frank Gallows sent him so he made a promise to Garth's mother to bring him back to earth. Frank Gallows and he ex girlfriend went to bring him back they had a difficult time doing it there were many people after Garth especially Vaugner. Garth meets his grandfather in Ghostopolis that he never meets and told him why and Garth's mother never again talked. Garth destroyed Vaugner and Franks ex was crowned queen of Ghostopolis. Garth got back to earth and he brought back the earrings that his grandfather did not let Garth's mother use. Garth's mother said that she forgave his father. I am glad that Garth was able to come back to earth