×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Ghosts and Echoes (Shadows Inquiries Series #2)
     

Ghosts and Echoes (Shadows Inquiries Series #2)

3.7 20
by Lyn Benedict
 

See All Formats & Editions

The new urban fantasy series that has readers jumping at shadows.

Chicago cop Adam Wright has picked up a spiritual hitchhiker, the ghost of a dead man who desperately wants to live again. So he turns to supernatural P.I. Sylvie Lightner to rid him of the spirit-a spirit she finds strangely familiar.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Ghosts and Echoes 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 19 reviews.
DeniceNYC More than 1 year ago
I read the first book in the series and it was marginally ok. I decided to give the second book a shot thinking perhaps the story, the characters and the plot would improve. It did not. I've only made it (painfully) halfway through the second book. Lyn Benedict is an author to stay away from if you're looking for a great interesting read. Not even recommended for a rainy day. Just not engaging enough.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Miami based private investigator Sylvie Lightner continues to grieve deaths she caused like that of Michael even if she simply saved the world (see Sins and Shadows). She knows she needs to get back to work handling paranormal cases, but that is easier said than done when you are responsible for the death of others. Still she goes to her South Beach store Shadows Inquiries to see what havoc her partner Alexandra Figueroa-Smith caused even as her backbrain snipes at her. Sylvie rejects as clients witches, werewolves, demons and others as she has pissed off enough of them for several lifetimes. However, she reluctantly agrees to handle the case of Chicago police officer Adam Wright who shows up while she is doing surveillance. A husband and father of a six years old son, he says he is either possessed or crazy as he died but came back with an otherworld hitchhiker. She explains not her thing as she is good at breaking and destroying not surgically removing parasites from a host as her approach is kill the host and the parasite is gone. Still she agrees to help him after he mentions Anna D the succubus who hates her referred him. The key to this terrific urban fantasy is the world of Benedict seems genuine as the heroine works the Magicus Mundi cases. Fast-paced, fans will relish Sylvie's efforts to send that other soul back to the beyond. Readers will enjoy this fine paranormal private investigate thriller with a great late twist as the tough detective works the abnormal beat. Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Openbooksociety_dot_com More than 1 year ago
Unexpected Ending Review brought to you by OBS staff member Heidi Ghosts & Echoes is the second installment in the Shadows Inquiries series by Lyn Benedict. In this installment we find Sylvie reluctantly back to work after taking an extended vacation trying to recover from all that happened in Chicago back in book #1, Sins & Shadows. Sylvie is looking for an easy case and none of the cases that Alex tells her about seems to fit the bill. Sylvie grudgingly takes a case from their neighboring businesses to help find out who is burglarizing stores in the area. While staking out the next probable burglary hit one of her cases she was planning to refuse comes and talks to her. The case is Adam Wright a Chicago Police officer who claims to be possessed by a ghost. She eventually agrees to take his case and later discovers that the ghost he’s possessed by is none other than her kind of lover, Demailion, that got killed helping her. Demalion expects her to find a way to get his life back for him. Sylvie learns that the burglaries are being performed by rich teenagers using black magic talismans, the hands of glory, which are hands of murderers with the ghosts trapped inside. And more disturbing than that she discovers that her little sister, Zoe, could be involved. She must find out who is making these hands and selling them to teenagers and how to help get Demalion’s ghost out of Wright’s body when all she wants to do is keep Demalion close to her. When I started reading this book I wasn’t sure if I’d like it or not as I didn’t really care for the first installment of the series, Sins & Shadows. But I’m happy to report that I found this story much more entertaining than the first. I thought Sylvie’s sister, Zoe, brought a lot to the story and even made Sylvie seem more real and believable. I didn’t think Sylvie was nearly as hard-headed and unreasonable as she was at times in the last novel. I liked Adam Wright and thought him and Demailion sharing his body was interesting. Especially as they learned to get along and even work together sometimes tag-teaming poor Sylvie! You could really feel Sylvie’s struggle as she got to know Wright and even liked him, but still longed to have Demalion back in her life full-time. I did not expect the book to end the way it did especially not where Wright was concerned. But loved how it kept things open for what is to come with Zoe. I give this book 3 out of 5 stars, which is a vast improvement from it predecessor and hope that the series continues to improve. This review and more at openbooksociety dot com
bluedog More than 1 year ago
"Sylvie" seems to not really appreciate anything around her. She doesn't like most people and doesn't really like magic. Sorry, too much of a downer for me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago