×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Gift
     

The Gift

4.4 107
by Danielle Steel
 

See All Formats & Editions

On a June day, a young woman in a summer dress steps off a Chicago-bound bus into a small midwestern town. She doesn't intend to stay. She is just passing through. Yet her stopping here has a reason and it is part of a story that you will never forget.

The time is the 1950s, when life was simpler, people still believed in dreams, and family was, very

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Gift 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 107 reviews.
hawaiianlei22 More than 1 year ago
I'm a Danielle Steel fan and this year I made a goal to read all of her books. I'm 70% of the way through and this was one that I needed to read. I couldn't stop reading it once I started. It took all I had to put the book down to do things around the house. It was one of my favorite Danielle Steel books. I loved the innocence of the characters and how they all came to love again after awful things happened to them. I also loved how Annie character was a fixture throughout the book!
donnapbookworm More than 1 year ago
Wow, did I love this book! After taking months to read a 700+ page book, I read this book in 3 days, probably could have finished it even quicker! This was a beautiful story of terrible things bringing together people and just making you feel good about how the two teenagers in this book, helped each other through a very difficult time in each others' lives! It had me crying several times, but I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It has been some time since I read a Danielle Steel novel, and I am definitely going to be looking to pick up another one of her books. This is a must read for Danielle Steel fans!
lexhockey14 More than 1 year ago
Although somewhat repetitive and predictable, this book is still impossible to put down. Steel is a great writer with realistic ideas. This book could not reflect real life any better. I do wish that the book would've been longer (162 pages), but I enjoyed all of it with pleasure!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was very moving. It gives hope that there is still good people in this world..
pinky850 More than 1 year ago
this is one of me favorites i have read this over and over
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Gift
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
desitheblonde More than 1 year ago
THE book starts off with a family that a family was going to have a baby and lose it they have a son that they are very proud of but the anguish of losing a baby dad not coming home and mom is depressed and she not cooking no more.Now a young women show up in town she only 16 and lie about her age and then she is pregnant .,her family kicked her out and now she like the area and ask the restaurant to work. She find a room to rent and then she keep working and now showing and then she worried about the baby and she meet and find out his mom lost there little angle last year but she did not tell him what happen but she showing and he take to her to the doctor and then he the town one two and then now she going to have the baby soon very soon so she does not know what going t o do but she found who going to give the baby to.. The holiday is here and she help them decorate the house and then misses her mom and dad but dad said get rid of the kid so she make her mind up and find the right family
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The lost of their daughter caused a big turmoil in the Whittaker family, but an unexpected gift was presented to them when Maribeth Robertson came into town. Annie was born to Elizabeth (Liz) Whittaker when she was forty-one, as an unexpected surprise. Annie brought the family a lot of happiness, joy and love to her mother (Liz), father (John) and brother Tommy. Liz loved her family, and enjoyed doing everything for her family, especially for Annie. Liz spent as much time with Annie as she could. Annie especially loved Christmas, and the family made a big deal of the holiday for her. The day after Christmas, when Annie was only five years old she got sick, and her parents at the time thought she was coming down with a cold or the flu. Liz called the doctor, and he advised Liz to take Annie the hospital the next morning because he thought Annie might have come down with meningitis. At the hospital, Annie was diagnosed with meningitis and she just kept getting worst and worst, and eventually died later that day. After Annie’s funeral, the family was very devastated and started to fall apart as a family, because they could not get over Annie’s lost. Each of the family members blamed themselves for Annie’s death, in one way or another even though they never really opened up about it to each other. In the town of Onawa, Iowa, Maribeth Robertson lived in a very controlled and strict family, with her father (Bert), mother (Margaret), brother Ryan and sister Noelle. Sixteen year old Maribeth Robertson was having a hard time convincing her father in letting her wear a flimsy dress to her high school prom. Marybeth’s father was very strict, old fashion and a tyrant. Maribeth did go to the prom in a very homely and old fashion dress. At the prom Maribeth ended up with a senior named Paul Browne after her date David O’Connor got drunk. Maribeth was very naive and Paul Browne was very handsome, charming and made her feel special. They ended up having sex in the front seat of Paul’s car, and Maribeth got pregnant. Once her father found out she was pregnant, he felt disgraced and sent Maribeth away to Sister of Charity a convent to have the baby and give it up for adoption, which was normal in the 1950’s. Maribeth was not allowed to talk to her mother or sister and not come home until she had given the baby up for adoption, late in December. Maribeth got very depress and lonely at the convent and left by boarding bus to Chicago, with the money her father had given her to use for the convent. The bus made a stop for dinner in the town, where Maribeth got off and decided to stay. She took a waitress job at Jimmy D’s restaurant, and told her co-workers that her husband died in the Korea war. Maribeth met Tommy Whittaker there and they eventually fell in love. Tommy’s family warmed up to her after she explained to them the real story and they felt sorry for her and took her in. Maribeth explained to the Whittaker’s that education was very important to her and that she wanted to finish school and go to college. Marybeth’s father would not hear of it, and thought women should stay home and only take of the children which they did not need an education for. Liz Whittaker had gone back to teaching after Annie’s death, and eventually helped Maribeth with her studies and complete needed credits to become a senior when she would return home. Maribeth still had to find adoptive parents for her unborn baby. As time went by, Maribeth grew to love all the Whittaker family and decided that they would be the great parents for her baby. They were very loving, and could provide everything the baby would need. Maribeth begged Liz to adopt her baby, which Liz eventually agreed since Liz could no longer have anymore children. Maribeth gave birth to a baby girl on Christmas Day, and Liz named her Kate. Once all the adoptive paper where complete, Maribeth called her parents to come pick her up. “I’m leaving you now,” she whispered to the sleeping angel. (p 206) Don’t ever forget how much I love you,” Maribeth told her baby before she left. (p 206) Maribeth had left the Whittaker family the best gift they could ask for.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Will make you touch your heart
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Seemed a diferant style of writing for D.S. but i enjoyed the story. Made me cry ;)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book starts off very sad, but is worth hanging in there for the payoff, which is marvelous.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago